We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, friendly helpful staff, clean and tidy hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Basildon (Rayleigh) Hotel
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Basildon
Certificate of Excellence
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Great location, friendly helpful staff, clean and tidy hotel.”
Reviewed February 21, 2014

We chose the location as close to Leigh on sea and Southend on Sea. Easy access to both places, right opposite a huge Sainsburys (great for bed picnics) and next door to a Harvester.
This hotel was easy to find and we received a warm welcome by reception staff. Our room was on the ground floor overlooking the car park and was clean, well decorated and warm. We had enough towels for 2, the shower was excellent as amazing water pressure (the best hotel shower so far).No extractor fan in bathroom was the only downside, was like a steam room after showering! TV was a good size, tea and coffee in good supply and staff on reception very happy to give us more. The bed was a bit hard for us but beds are very individual things so difficult to cater for all.
I loved this hotel, Premier Inn are so much better than Travelodge in my opinion, well done x

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beebutler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

360 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    203
    113
    23
    12
    9
See reviews for
108
116
33
58
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Lyon, France
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2014

I often go to Basildon/Southend on sea business travel and i always go to this premier inn because the location is convenient (close to highway London <=> southend on sea).
The personal are friendly. The room are correct and confortable.
The restaurant "the harvester" has a good pub and the food is correct. When you order a main course you have access to a tasty unlimited salad bar.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gvincent26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weston super Mare, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

Stayed here as a good location if you don't drive as just around the corner from the bus stop and only a 10 minute bus journey to the local train station.

The hotel is good etc and only concern I had as I was 6 ft 6 the shower head needs to be higher as quite low in the room we had.

Stayed February 2014
Helpful?
Thank studmuffinstu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridgeshire
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2014

This was the first time that we have stayed at a Premier Inn, and if they are all like this one we will be using them more often. The staff were courteous and efficient. Our room was perfect for an overnight stay - everything was spotlessly clean. The bed was comfortable and it was good to have a choice of either firm or soft pillows - even expensive hotels don't do this!! We highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomas D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed February 2, 2014 via mobile

Arrived after a long drive, difficult to find a car parking space, but staff were very helpful. Easy check in, room on the road side, but good sound proofing, you could not hear the main road.
Went in the Harvester, food very average and salad cart resembled a compost heap!!
Room was good, but bed was not a king size or as luxurious as Lenny Henry thinks! Did not fill up the empty shower gel or replace tea and coffee during our stay.
The only saving grace at this hotel is it's reception staff. Did not have breakfast, walk up Rayleigh High Street and find a coffee shop.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Princess_Kate41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
221 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2014 via mobile

stayed one night a sunday checked in great room looked huge clean nice we tried to get food at the harvester next door but over an hour wait so went back to hotel the lovely receptionist offered us a selecrion of take away menus we opted for a chinese we ordered it and when it arrived the receptionist was ready qoth playes and cutlery she was very helpful I didnt get her name im disabled and sje asked if she could do anything toake my stay better I said no cause everything was great we had a room behind reception it was so noisey with everyone from the pub but that sropped abour 1 when they had all gone then the lovely bin men woke us up at 7 but not the hotels fault nights sleep was great pillows amd bed very comfortable breakfast the staff michael and chef were lovely and friendly all in all a great stay just shame about the noise

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank trotterbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Stayed Just one Night and as we have come to expect Premier Inns lived up to our expectations. The staff were efficient and friendly, the room was clean and well equipped. The bed large and comfortable and linen spotless. We left too early for breakfast but dined at the next door Harvester on arrival our meals were excellent and reasonably priced, Another good Premier Inn experience.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 126Carol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frances_Dunn, Operations Manager at Premier Inn Basildon (Rayleigh) Hotel, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Dear 126Carol
Thank you very much for taking the time to leave feedback on your recent stay. It was great to hear you found our rooms and beds clean, comfortable and well equipped. I have passed your kind comments to the team and they are very happy you enjoyed your time with us. We are looking forward to welcoming you back soon and hope this time you will join us for breakfast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Basildon
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Basildon
Holiday Inn Basildon
#5 of 7 in Basildon
514 reviews
0.7 mi away
Travelodge Basildon
Travelodge Basildon
#6 of 7 in Basildon
201 reviews
3.5 mi away
Travelodge Basildon Wickford Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
The Chichester Hotel
The Chichester Hotel
#2 of 2 in Wickford
280 reviews
7.5 mi away
Best Western Ivy Hill Hotel
Best Western Ivy Hill Hotel
#3 of 11 in Chelmsford
370 reviews
6.9 mi away
The Oysterfleet Hotel
The Oysterfleet Hotel
#1 of 2 in Canvey Island
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Basildon (Rayleigh) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Basildon (Rayleigh) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Basildon (Rayleigh) Hotel
Address: Arterial Road | Arterial Road, Basildon SS6 7SP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Basildon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Basildon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Basildon (Rayleigh) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
City sights or seaside charm? Get the best of both with Premier Inn Hotel Basildon Rayleigh, right between buzzing Basildon and Southend-on-Sea. And if you're here to work, we're close to key business destinations like the Lawn conference centre, too. Escape the office and stroll along Southend seafront. Get sporty - play a round at Hanover golf club or go for gold at Basildon Sporting Village. Catch a show, a film or a game of laser tag at Rayleigh Megazone. After a busy day, unwind in our tasty restaurant, spacious rooms and extra-comfy beds. Directions: From the M25 exit at Junction 29 onto the A127 towards Southend. After approximately 13 Miles exit at the Rayleigh Weir junction from the A129 to Rayleigh. Go straight over two sets of traffic lights and take the first left turn. For Tom-Tom Sat Nav appliances please enter post code SS6 7XJ. Sat Nav Directions: When programming your Sat Nav device, use the following postcode: SS6 7XJ Hotel Parking: Free on-site parking is available at this hotel. Transport and local information: Thamesway Bus Service 3 Miles Basildon Train Station 9.1 Miles, Pitsea Train Station 5.6 Miles, Wickford Train Station 5.6 Miles ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn and TripOnline SA so you can book your Premier Inn Basildon (Rayleigh) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Basildon (Rayleigh) Hotel Basildon
Holiday Inn Basildon
Premier Inn Basildon (Rayleigh) Hotel Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing