We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“WORST RESTAURANT EVER”

Chiquito - Basildon
Ranked #14 of 137 Restaurants in Basildon
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“WORST RESTAURANT EVER”
Reviewed June 18, 2012

HI, IM TELLING YOU DONT GO TO THIS RESTAURANT!!!!!

I got in at 12:00 for lunch with my dad for fathers day we got served at 12:20 and didnt get our food till 2:35

they only took off £5 from the bill they need to buck up their ideas if they want to get anymore customers


really NOT happy about this THANKS FOR RUING OUR DAY OUT FOR LUNCH :(

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Rysch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

333 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    92
    60
    40
    52
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
425 reviews
172 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
“Good Service...”
Reviewed June 8, 2012

A good place for basic Mexican food, good service and music and reasonably priced!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank Coconuts_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Hit & Miss”
Reviewed April 22, 2012

I have been to Chiquitos in Basildon on a number of occassions and everytime its been a different experience. Some good, some bad. Dont get me wrong its usally down to the service rather than the food. The food has always been tasty and of hight quality. However the service can be totally rubbish. The last occasion I visited it was a lunch service. The restaurant was very quiet, less than a quarter full. Im not kidding when I say we were in there 2 1/2 hours for a quick lunch. The food just took forever to arrive. By the end of our lunch the restaurant was totally empty and it took us 3 occassions and over 20 minutes to get our bill !! However I have been to the restaurant on other occassions and the service has been better, but dont expect a quick turn around if you have tickets for the local cinema. Food is nice but not sure its worth the wait !!

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Katie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Best of Mexican and gluten-free alternatives”
Reviewed April 16, 2012

I was pleasantly surprised that we could order wheat-free corn tortillas with unseasoned chicken as a fajita option. The food arrived quickly and the server was very attentive.

Overall, an enjoyable evening out for some great food!

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank travellingBill2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great Food”
Reviewed March 27, 2012

My wife and I went into this restaurant one Sunday afternoon, we were going to Aroma but as it was only 4:30 pm Aroma was closed until 630pm.
When we went in we were pleasantly suprised by at ambiance of the restaurant and the staff were very attentive without being intrusive.

We both had a drink and when the waiter arrived to take our food order he was a great help to make up our minds, my wife had the fajitas and I opted for the Cowboy burger which I must say was as tasty as any burger I have had in Florida, well cooked and juicy.

All in all we had a great lunch in very friendly surroundings, we shall be returning.

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank loyalistden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chiquito - Basildon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing