We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK stay.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Basildon (East Mayne) Hotel
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Basildon
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 29, 2013

Booked for 2 nights last weekend of October. Reception staff polite and helpful. Room a little smaller than other Premier Inns we have stayed in and the lighting was not the best. Bed very comfortable, linen and towels the usual good standard. Room was clean although we did find a pair of socks on the floor. No issue with noise either from the attached Beefeater or the road even with the window open. No noise from the corridor. Had breakfast one morning, had better in all honesty - sausages pale, hash browns very thin and the whole cooked breakfast was a bit greasy but the serve yourself part was very good. Had a meal on the Sunday night which was well presented tasted good. The Wychwood Hobgoblin was well kept.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MarkinAlicante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (375)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

282 - 288 of 375 reviews

Reviewed October 28, 2013

The room was ok apart from the lighting was very poor - no centre ceiling light just side lights, not the best at this time of year.
Reception staff did not pass on our dinner reservation to the Beefeater attached. Luckily the restaurant found us a table even though they were very busy as it was a Saturday night. All in all not the best premier inn I have ever stayed in.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here on 19th October as we were visiting our daughter again. Staff on reception great - very friendly, room spotless as usual and does what is says on the tin. Bed comfy and linen and towels great. The only thing that lets this premier inn down is the pub next door. We went for a drink and I must say it was very grubby in there, dirty tables and bar and the clientele was something else - as mentioned in another review it is very rough !!! We had breakfast last time we stayed and again found it all very grubby - I definitely would not eat in there again. Other than that, we will come back to the hotel.

Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Susanpamela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We stayed at this Inn for three evenings whilst visiting relatives. The reception staff were excellent and extremely helpful. Rooms as always were clean and comfortable.
Downside was the ambience caused by the adjoining pub. Rough would be a compliment. You had the feeling that you were in East London during the Jack the Ripper days. I was born and grew up in East London so have a good idea of what to expect. We had one drink and called it a day.

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from the patio area of the pub. The language overheard was dreadful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greeno-martin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

Polite and efficient staff. Very clean room with basic tea making facilities. External noise at a minimum. There are many internal doors throughout the hotel without soft close mechanisms so expect slamming doors in the early hours. Hotel is frequented by many contractors wearing dirty boots throughout the hotel. Encountered a few cussing and swearing - not a very pleasant atmosphere for sole female guests. Didn't feel inclined to walk across to the pub next door for breakfast or evening meal so can't comment on food. Double room very small. Wish Premier Inn would rebrand away from the 1970s purple!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EnFamile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

I've stayed in many Premier Inns, and they can be a bit hit and miss. This one was definitely the best I've been to. The staff are really good, especially the receptionist who greeted us with smiles, and was very obliging. The family room was spacious, spotlessly clean and there was no issue with noise at all, on the night we stayed (which was a Saturday). We had plenty of towels and extra pillows if we needed them. Breakfast the next day was also very good. Lots of choice, and good service in an attractive and clean restaurant. I have to give it an "Excellent" rating as it ticked all our boxes for a comfortable night's stay, and I had no complaints at all.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Annoyed381
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katrina A, Manager at Premier Inn Basildon (East Mayne) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2013

Thank you for your kind reply. We are very pleased that you chose to stay at our hotel and you have experienced a great stay with us. We constantly strive to go the extra mile for our guests at all times and I am pleased that the staff made this possible during your stay. We hope to see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

Clean, comfy bed, tea/coffee making facilities, choice of pillows.

Reception very friendly and efficient.

Stayed Mon/tues. No issues with noise.

Hotel/Pub are next to a brook so it is not possible to park outside hotel entrance to unload bags. there is a short walk over a bridge. Minor issue, probably 200 metre walk.

Beefeater food was disappointing but premier inn hotel stay was as expected.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelBug47648
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frances D, Manager at Premier Inn Basildon (East Mayne) Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

Thank you for your 4 star review. It is always nice to hear our guests enjoy their stay with us. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed yours too and reception were efficient and the rooms clean and comfy.

When arriving in the future, please pop to reception and one the team members will be more than happy to help out with luggage.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Basildon
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Basildon
Holiday Inn Basildon
#5 of 7 in Basildon
530 reviews
1.5 mi away
Travelodge Basildon
Travelodge Basildon
#6 of 7 in Basildon
209 reviews
3.4 mi away
The Chichester Hotel
The Chichester Hotel
#2 of 2 in Wickford
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Best Western Ivy Hill Hotel
Best Western Ivy Hill Hotel
#1 of 1 in Margaretting
380 reviews
3.4 mi away
Travelodge Basildon Wickford Hotel
5.6 mi away
The Oysterfleet Hotel
The Oysterfleet Hotel
#1 of 2 in Canvey Island
199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Basildon (East Mayne) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Basildon (East Mayne) Hotel

Address: Felmores | East Mayne, Basildon SS13 1BW, England (Formerly Watermill Travel Inn)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Basildon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Basildon
Price Range: $60 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Basildon (East Mayne) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alongside a brook and just two minutes from the lake and woodland of Northlands Park, you'll find the Premier Inn Hotel Basildon (East Mayne) a peaceful oasis, whether you're here for work or a well-earned break. In just 20 minutes you could be sandcastle building at the great British seaside at Southend, or living it up at Basildon Sporting Village and Festival Leisure Park. And for links into London, the M25 and stations on the Fenchurch Street line are close by. Then when it's time to recharge the batteries, our tasty restaurant and big, comfy rooms will be ready and waiting. Directions: M25(J29) on to A127 to Southend. Then take A132 to Basildon, heading south to 3rd roundabout, the hotel is on left. Next to the Watermill Beefeater. Sat Nav Directions: When programming your Sat Nav device, use the following postcode: SS13 1BW Hotel Parking: Free on-site parking is available at this hotel. Transport and local information: Basildon Train Station 2 miles ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Premier Inn and TripOnline SA so you can book your Premier Inn Basildon (East Mayne) Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Basildon (East Mayne) Hotel Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing