We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Campanile Hotel Basildon East London
Nearby Hotels
$93
$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$67
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$46
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Free Parking
$65
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$66
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Basildon South Hotel(Basildon)(Great Value!)
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Bell Inn Hotel(Horndon-on-the-Hill)
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Orsett Hall(Orsett)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$83
$80
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$50
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Reviews (364)
Filter reviews
365 results
Traveler rating
30
81
85
66
103
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
30
81
85
66
103
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooms are basiccomfy bedbudget hoteltea and coffeeroad noise
Filter
Updating list...
232 - 237 of 365 reviews
Reviewed October 4, 2013

My colleague and I had the misfortune to stay at this 'venue' I wouldn't call it a hotel. The reason why we stayed here was because it was booked on our behalf by our head office. The hotel was shabby dark and dank. Peeling paint and rotting wood work everywhere. It looked as if it was housing refugees or the homeless. We decided to stay but to eat off the site as the menu was not that appealing. My room was number 38 on the ground floor on the end. Holes in the bathroom door filled rather badly with polyfilla, a sign for a bottle opener on the wall with no bottle opener in situ. A single curtain for the front window that did not cover the window for privacy. An extension lead hanging from a plug at the top of the window just hanging there. No small hand towel. The overpowering smell of air freshener when you walked into the room was appalling it made me choke. You may think that was a nice touch but really it was to mask the smell of the room. Yes the bed was clean, the towels were spotless. But at 12.15 am to find that my bedroom floor was soaking wet from what must have been a constant leak from a long standing problem and to listen to a drip drip drip was not my idea of fun as I had a 6.00 am start. I called the reception and was moved to another room on the top floor by the night manager.

The only redeeming factor of this 'venue' was the staff who were courteous especially the lady who served breakfast in the morning. What a breath of fresh air she was a 'lovely lady'. The presentation of the breakfast was pretty good I have to say and beautifully cooked.

But I have to say 'Never ever again'!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anneish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Definately not what we expected, this is more like camp site chalets, (maybe the name speaks for itself) or, what has already been described, a motel. The rooms were clean enough but very basic. Beds were comfortable though. No frontage to the hanging space and no drawers for storage. Shower good but the whole place steamed up causing a very damp atmosphere.Not double glazed. Only one bath towel, no hand towel. Thought that breakfast was expensive, but had good choice. The whole place looked as if it could do with a major overhaul.

Room Tip: Choose an upstairs room to avoid noise from above
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NanaLin46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

For the price you pay this hotel is really a bargain ! The room was clean everyday,kettle,coffee,milk and sugar everyday and when i asked for an iron,i was provided with one for a whole week,with a small ironing board too ! We had breakfast everyday and it was really the best,my husband took english and me continental,the croissants were really delicious! If i go to UK again for sure i will go to Campanile!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rosetteabc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Not really a hotel more of a motel. The rooms were quite ok for a budget hotel but was let down on two points.
1. No hand towels, they do not provide them but expect you to use the same towel that you used for bath/shower even if they are wet.
2. They could not afford to provide a curtain that would cover both ends of the window so you have a gap for people to look in at night.
Feel that the owners need to look at what they are providing as the above does not encourage return visits.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sutton-o-S-DogWalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2013

Staff were all very friendly and helpful. But this is a budget hotel and it is easy to see why. In fact 'hotel' is a misnomer; it is more like a motel and you can park your car almost outside the door to your chalet. Everywhere was clean and the beds comfortable. Bit the whole campus looked dilapidated and in need of a complete makeover. The colour scheme throughout is dark brown and beige - yuk! Even the doors to the chalets are black - awful! For goodness sake put some colour into the place. Noise from the adjacent A127 was almost unbearable. It seemed to me that the excellent staff were working against all the odds and they deserve better. So do we customers.

Room Tip: Ask for a room as far away from the 127 as possible. And check that you can get a WiFi connection, because I couldn't.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews