We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent but rude staff.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Campanile Hotel Basildon East London
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Basildon
Reviewed October 16, 2012

This hotel was basic and clean, hot showers and was reasonable for the price.
We booked through booking.com and got the one night room for 51 pound for 2 people. We booked 2 rooms as there was 4 of us girls aged 20-24. If you are wanting a cheap room with reasonable distance to Festival park or the shopping center this is a brilliant place to stay as it is only 4minutes drive. However, on arrival the assistant manager was extremely rude. Travelling as a group of young girls she instantly stereotyped we were 'loud' although we entered the reception quietly and politely. Also there is only one plug socket per room, which is a nightmare when your all trying to get ready and charge phones all at once...so may want to take an extension lead if you stay here and there is more than one of you. They only gave you one hand towel and one full body towel which was what the room apparently came with even if you were booking for a room for 2 people. The cleaner was also very impatient, as checkout was 12o clock mid-day, she hothered round outside our rooms from 10am which wasn't the most comfortable feeling. In general, booking through booking.com, states there was no payment deducted from cards until arrival, on arrival the assistant manager was moaning that one of our rooms wasn't paid for and the money had already been taken for the other room. The lady instantly accused us of lying about what your website said in which we now have to send evidence for off. The money shouldn't have been taken off our cards until we arrived as this is not what was stated. The assistant manager also stated she was going to cancel our room because we hadn't pre-paid. There was no confirmation of her wanting to do this, so was very unprofessional and rude towards us.

Stay here if your looking for a cheap night close to nightlife but go prepared!

Room Tip: Take your own towels, and take an extension lead.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jess j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (319)
There are newer reviews for Campanile Hotel Basildon East London
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

233 - 239 of 319 reviews

Reviewed October 13, 2012

Had to house my family here overnight as there was no "room at the inn (my home!)" for a birthday weekend. Went with them to check in, and it looked a bit like a holiday camp. The receptionist was nice enough, so no complaints there! The rooms were quite small, and the bathroom was tiny. The coffee facilities were cramped next to the TV but at least they existed! The walls were thin so noise carried and there were quite a few hen parties (for the not so far leisure park nightclubs I imagine) but most of the family slept ok. (earplugs are needed I would say!) We had dinner in the restaurant, merely because everyone was tired out (and full up) from the day's festivities, so as it was easy, we decided to eat there. It was ok - soup was from a powder, pizza was definitely an iceland one - but the gammon & eggs was ok! Steak & kidney pudding didn't have much of a taste! Still - the waitress more than made up for it as she was so attentive and friendly (we were pretty much the only ones in though!) I was told breakfast was ok - something quick for the day ahead!
I would say that if you really needed to stay in this area, it's ok..........wouldn't recommend the restaurant again though! One night is enough, but i think you'd be better off at the premier Inn at Five Bells. (higher quality for the same price)
Thanks to the staff.

Room Tip: get an upstairs room so you can't hear peopel walking about!
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ally P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2012

I stayed here for two nights and was not at all impressed. It is very tired looking, although it was clean enough. The restaurant is simply awful and should be avoided at all costs. The breakfast was simply disgusting and I only ate half of it, not ideal when you then have to go and do a days work. I would stay here again if I could not find any other accommodation locally, I certainly wouldn't eat here again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 6man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

After reading some of the very negative reviews I was very anxious about our stay here especially as I had booked for other people as well. We stayed here for one night after a wedding and the room was fine. it was clean and the beds comfortable. yes it is a bit tired but I have no real cpomplaints.
The breakfast was basic and there was not orange juice to replace the empty machine. However there was plenty to eat and it was adequate.
I would saty here again for a night but not for longer.

Room Tip: All rooms looked the same so can't comment
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HornchurchPop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

The hotel is very conveniently located for access to the town centre, business park and sports village. It is next to the busy A127, which makes it easily accessible to London, Southend. The rooms are clean and have tele, tea, coffee etc. There is a hotel and bar on site, which makes it a good base for business where sometimes budget accommodation can be in the middle of nowhere with nothing close by for eating etc. There is an American Grill just opposite.

The reception is friendly and welcoming. Good value

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the main road as it is very busy
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank luvtogo6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We have used Campaniles frequently in France and always been satisfied. Paint was peeling off in several places outside; the bathroom floor was dirty - a dead moth which was there when we arrived was still there when we left 3 days later; a window latch was missing and not replaced. The restaurant staff were casual - we heard a man complain when his meal was brought that he had ordered a drink and was simply told 'I'll get it now' with no apology. The continental breakfast was OK, but not a patch on those we have enjoyed in France.The buffet hors d'oeuvre was good, but my wife's Vegetable Risotto, described as the Chef's Special was a milky rice pudding with a few beans and other veg floating in it. A French couple who couldn't understand that they were being asked to pay for the meal instead of it being added to their final bill, were shouted at until a friend with better English arrived and explained.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank therev41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2012

We got a very cheap deal here and for the price we paid we have no real complaints, even free wi-fi and a good quality connection. The english staff and the french lady chef who did breakfast were all wonderful. Nothing too much trouble. We did have a minor issue with one of the staff, a french receptionist who clearly did not know to diffuse a potential situation. I digress.
The actual hotel is in need of refurbishment. Our room had a window damaged, some minor furniture damage and the kettle holder was falling off (this was reported as we left). There's nothing seriously wrong it just needs some paint, some repairs and a bit of TLC.
We ate in the hotel one evening. The food was fine for the price paid, the service impeccable.
I've read some of the reviews and note that people are surprised when after an on-line payment they have a card swipe for a room tab, what do they expect. I don't know any hotels that don't do this. If you don't want it swiped do what we did, pay as we went along, no problem.
We would go there again if we got a good deal but refurbishment is needed, the longer it's left then the harder it will be.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the A127.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bodenseetoggenburg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Basildon
0.8 mi away
Holiday Inn Basildon
Holiday Inn Basildon
#5 of 7 in Basildon
518 reviews
0.8 mi away
Travelodge Basildon
Travelodge Basildon
#6 of 7 in Basildon
206 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Bell Inn Hotel
The Bell Inn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Horndon-on-the-Hill
307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
Travelodge Brentwood East Horndon
7.7 mi away
Best Western Ivy Hill Hotel
Best Western Ivy Hill Hotel
#3 of 11 in Chelmsford
375 reviews
4.9 mi away
Travelodge Basildon Wickford Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Campanile Hotel Basildon East London? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Campanile Hotel Basildon East London

Address: Burches | Pipps Hill, Basildon SS14 3AE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Basildon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 7 Hotels in Basildon
Price Range: $49 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Campanile Hotel Basildon East London 2.5*
Number of rooms: 97
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Campanile Hotel Basildon East London reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Campanile Hotel Basildon East London Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing