We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love pancakes for breakfast!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Basildon
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Basildon
Reviewed July 19, 2014

Visiting friends locally and stayed for only one night mid December with 6 yr old and partner. Room was adequate with sofa bed for the youngster. Room and bathroom clean, but the best part was the large room for breakfast. It was buzzing with families and the selection was outstanding, plenty of everything you could ever want for breakfast, hot and cold, best of all was the self service pancake making machine....both kids (6yr old & my partner) couldn't leave it alone! Perfect start to our day.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank CantabriaDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KevinCoombes, General Manager at Holiday Inn Basildon, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review.

It is great to know that you enjoy the pancakes as much as I do - they are certainly my favourite breakfast item to choose in the morning,.

Perhaps when you return - you might like to try one of the Chef's great Omelette's too.

Thank you again

Kevin Coombes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (524)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

276 - 282 of 524 reviews

Reviewed July 4, 2014

Beautifully clean and very well maintained to a high standard. The only downside was the price of the food at the hotel. Extortionate...£10 for a hot dog??? I don't think so! We stayed there for a few nights and one night being a Sunday. We'd had nothing to eat since lunch and at 10pm and absolutely refusing to pay £10 or £9.99 Alan my hubby decided to go for a carry out from one of the well known resaurants on the door-step, to find that other than McD's everywhere shuts early on a Sunday, (it was the one place I'd said don't be buying anything from McD's), well guess what he walked in with a McD's of which I couldn't eat and out of principle I would NOT pay £10 for a Hot dog, so ended up going to bed hungry...very dissapointing to say the least.

Room Tip: ask for a 'lake facing' room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SusanPerez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KevinCoombes, General Manager at Holiday Inn Basildon, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2014

Dear Guest

Having read your review - I am delighted that you found the hotel to be very clean and well maintained - I will certainly pass on your comments to the team.

In relation to the Food and Beverage prices that you have mentioned - we believe we are priced fairly compared to similar hotels and venues in the area. I am sorry to read however, that you went to bed without eating and apologise that we did not offer to assist or help you in any way during the difficult situation that you found yourself in.

Once again though - thank you for your feedback, it has been most helpful for us here at the hotel.

Kind regards

Kevin Coombes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2014

Check in very easy, and room requests from reservation taken into consideration.
Room basic but functional, a little tired.. no safe or mini bar, but kettle and iron.
The good news is IHG members now get free wifi, which worked well.
Bed comfortable with choice of pillows.
Plenty of power sockets and good lighting.
Ordered room service a couple of times, it was reasonably fast, and the food very good.
All the staff were nice, and very helpful, liked the free coffee in reception in the mornings.
No complaints, perfectly good hotel. Nothing memorable but if you need to be in Basildon it is a reasonable option

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zuribob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Basildon, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2014

Dear Zuribob,

Thank you for writing a review about our property. We strive to give great and impressive service to all of our guests, and it makes us happy to read that our location. We are very glad that the complimentary WiFi, guest services, and food selections made your stay satisfying. As a valued IHG Rewards Club member, we appreciate all the feedback we receive as this is our best resource for improvement.

Once again thank you for the wonderful comments and kind words of praise for our staff. We look forward to another opportunity to serve you when you return to Basildon.

Warm Regards,

Tracy V.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2014

lovely staff good food and cheap rinks what more can you want, beds are comfy too maybe a little overpriced for rooms though but not everywheres perfect. bar staff and receptionst are nice and a good atmophere on a friday night

Room Tip: 416 is a nice room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank hairybiker467
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KevinCoombes, General Manager at Holiday Inn Basildon, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2014

Dear Guest

What a great review. I am delighted to know that you enjoyed our hotel so much and hope to see you back very soon.

Thank you again

Kind regards

Kevin Coombes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2014

Stayed one night here for a funeral. The location is good and many rooms have a garden view, there is also a very large entertainment complex next door with a wide selection of restaurants and activities indoor and out. The lady on arrival was extremely helpful but thereafter I wasn't so impressed. The carpet in the room was stained and there were no instructions or info on the hotel in the room. Everything was on the TV but as my TV wasn't working properly I was at a total loss. I couldn't get through to anyone on the phone so had to go down to get help. A lad came up and fixed it quite quickly though. Very busy hotel, lots of conferences while I was there so didn't use the restaurant or breakfast.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katykang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Basildon, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2014

Dear Katykang,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the room conditions prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2014 via mobile

Good hotel. Good workers.
Very nice and various breakfast.
The bathroom, the last day of my holiday, was not cleaned.
Toothpaste missing.
Pay excessively 116£ per day for nothing special.
The real price, for the favilities offered, had to be 80£ per day.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
Thank FabioFiato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KevinCoombes, General Manager at Holiday Inn Basildon, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your recent review of the Holiday Inn Basildon. Please accept my apologies for the service you were delivered on your last day - I am pleased though to read that on the whole you enjoyed your stay.

Our team will be delighted to learn that you found them to be good and that you enjoyed your breakfast during your stay.

Thank you again

Kevin Coombes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2014

I stayed at the holiday inn Basildon in June on business.
The hotel was comfortable and functional. The staff at check in were not particularly welcoming but they were not unpleasant.

The room had everything you would expect and there were no surprises.

Breakfast could have been hotter but again just what you would expect. The ladies in the restaurant were certainly cheerier

This is perhaps the most boring review I have ever written. Not necessarily a bad thing I suppose

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paulpebbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KevinCoombes, General Manager at Holiday Inn Basildon, responded to this reviewResponded June 30, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your recent review - I can assure you that it was not at all boring. In fact all of our guest reviews are very important to us so that we can continue to make sustainable improvements for the future.

I do hope to see you back at the Holiday Inn Basildon soon.

Kind regards

Kevin Coombes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Basildon
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Basildon
Travelodge Basildon
#6 of 7 in Basildon
207 reviews
4.3 mi away
Travelodge Basildon Wickford Hotel
8.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Brentwood
Holiday Inn Brentwood
#4 of 4 in Brentwood
663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
De Rougemont Manor
De Rougemont Manor
#3 of 4 in Brentwood
741 reviews
4.7 mi away
The Bell Inn Hotel
The Bell Inn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Horndon-on-the-Hill
309 reviews
4.5 mi away
Travelodge Brentwood East Horndon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Basildon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Basildon

Address: Waterfront Walk, Festival Leisure Park Cranes Farm Road, Basildon SS14 3TJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Basildon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Basildon
Price Range: $82 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Basildon 3*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Basildon is located on the Festival Leisure Park set in its own grounds overlooking a picturesque garden and fishing lake. The Holiday Inn Basildon is 0.5 miles from CNH tractor plant and 3 miles from Ford Motor Company research centre. We are only 40 minutes from Stansted Airport and 8 miles from the M25 Jct.29 with easy access to Lakeside and Bluewater shopping centres. The Holiday Inn Basildon bedrooms have high speed internet access and are air-conditioned. Family and accessible rooms are available. Meeting rooms and public areas have WIFI. We offer an extensive menu served daily in our lounge and 24 hour room service. The Holiday Inn Basildon is a popular venue for meetings in the Academy Conference centre. The Holiday Inn Basildon also caters for banqueting events including dinner dances and weddings in our suites which can cater for up to 220 guests and has ample free parking, including accessible parking. The Festival Leisure Park adjacent to the hotel boasts a wide choice of restaurants, nightclubs and leisure activities, including a 10 screen cinema and bowling alley. As one of our guests at the hotel you can take advantage of complimentary one day passes to the Fitness First gym that is a two minute walk from the hotel. The hotel offers leisure packages:- shopping, family and honeymoon. Kids Stay and Eat Free* making Holiday Inn Basildon an ideal location for a family short break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Basildon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Basildon Hotel Basildon
Basildon Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Basildon Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing