We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn Basildon
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
The Bell Inn Hotel(Horndon-on-the-Hill)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
Reviews (542)
Filter reviews
542 results
Traveler rating
100
206
139
56
41
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
100
206
139
56
41
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsexecutive roomtrouser pressretail parkbusiness tripa bit tiredfestival leisure parkpizza hutnice staystayed here for one nightclean hotelmember of staffexcellent breakfastgood nights sleepno frillscomfy bedihgcinema
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
317 - 322 of 542 reviews
Reviewed March 23, 2014

Stayed for 3 nights mid week on business. Nice touch to be offered a complimentary glass of wine on arrival at 9pm. Well signposted for drivers, plenty of parking and efficient check in. Room has no fridge and bathroom grouting and paintwork needs attention. Very annoying TV that required at least 8 button pushes on remote to navigate to plain BBC news every time you switched on. Ridiculous WIFI charges. Very poor soundproofing. On the plus side staff were knowledgeable, friendly and bar / food service was good.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Metafaculty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KevinCoombes, General Manager at Holiday Inn Basildon, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your feedback in relation to your stay at the Holiday Inn Basildon. Please accept my apologies for the faulty remote control in your room, I hope that it did not spoil your overall stay with us.

Our Standard internet is currently offered free to oue Elite IHG Reward Club members with plans to extend this to all memebrs in June of this year.

I am pleased to read that you found our team to be helpful and we all look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel very soon.

Kind regards

Kevin Coombes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2014

We decided to stay here overnight as we was attending a party and as we've stayed in Holiday Inn hotels all over the world we know the hotels have wonderful customer service and clean welcoming rooms.

I was wrong this is the worst, the cleanliness of the bathroom was poor to the point that we decided not to shower here and wait till we got home. The behing the tap there was mould and the tub had a patch of dirt. The room and bathroom had a smell of silicone it was as if they had just finished sealing the bathroom. I refused to walk on the floor without my shoes.

The male receptionist that checked us in failed to tell us what time breakfast was and where it would served. Is seemed he didn't want to be there.

  • Stayed: March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ma_ma_ma_co
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KevinCoombes, General Manager at Holiday Inn Basildon, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2014

Dear Guest

I am sorry to read that your stay with us was not a good one at all. Quite clearly, feedback such as your own is vital to us so that we can try our very best to get it right the first time for all of our guests. I have reviewed your comments with my Head Housekeeper who would like to be associated with my apologioes. Equally I would be happy to speak with you personally if you would like to discuss the issues you experienced with us any further.

Thank you again for your feedback

Kind regards

Kevin Coombes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

The hotel itself is average for a Holiday Inn - there is plenty of parking and its location on a leisure park, or Basvegas aa its known gives plenty of options for eating out.
The rooms are ok with the amenities you would expect. There is a lake next to the hotel that attracts geese which can make a fair bit of noise through the night - so try and get a room away from the lake or take ear plugs.
The girls on reception are good and efficient & other staff in the hotel seem friendly, however the two male members of staff on reception don't really want to be there - simply going through the motions and doing it slowly, there's barely a recognition of status for Priority Club members and when asking for a room away from the geese the member of staff went away to check if the location of the room was away from the noise. I was assured it was. It wasn't. No mention of the rate that had been booked - dinner? Breakfast? Each visit has resulted in me having to ask what is included.

Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
Thank supershearer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Basildon, responded to this reviewResponded April 1, 2014

Dear supershearer,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of our property. We strive to provide the best possible experience and it is great to read from our guests on how we are doing.. It is unfortunate your stay was negatively impacted by the noise challenges you experienced. I am sorry for your dissatisfaction on some of our staff and services. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate the candid feedback we receive and welcome any opportunity to improve.

Thank you for staying with us and we hope that we can better serve you next time.

Sincerely,

Connie D
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

I've been staying at the Holiday Inn Waterfront Walk for almost ten years. The rooms are small by American standards, but the hotel is always clean, the staff are always nice, and the rooms are relatively good prices when compared to the other area hotels. This is the best choice for Basildon by far.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rallyrabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KevinCoombes, General Manager at Holiday Inn Basildon, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for your review of the Holiday Inn Basildon. I am pleased that you had a good stay with us and enjoyed the facilities and service we offer. We do have some Executive rooms that are somewhat larger than our Standard rooms - which you may like to try should you return to the hotel - even more so now that they have recently been refurbished.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon

Kind regards

Kevin Coombes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 7, 2014

The hotel looks good, outside is nice and cute and the reception is good, but rooms and facilities are not up to the price you pay. For me it is absurd to even pay the WIFI connection, after paying and not a little the room.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank calgiuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Basildon, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2014

Dear calgiuse,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the value prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We take all of the reviews we receive very seriously as they allow us to identify areas that may benefit from additional attention. We have shared your comments with the staff and we’re confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we hope to have the pleasure of serving you again soon.

Sincerely,

Adrian D
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews