We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location, rooms a little tired”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Basildon
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Basildon
Reviewed September 22, 2013

Excellent conference facilities, hired for a business seminar recently, good access, nice size, helpful staff.

Lovely hotel location next door to festival park Basildon, good choise of food and entertainment on doorstep, plenty of onsite free parking at hotel.

Cosy bar area just inside main entrance with televisions dotted around, helpful staff on reception. Downside during our stay (only one of two lifts working) which meant long wait (not good).

Bedrooms decent size, bathroom tiny (like size on a ship) both clean but also in need of refurb (signs of use allround). Usuall coffee/ tea etc bathroom extras but no fridge in room.

Good choice at breakfast and helpful chef on hand to cook on request.

Would use again if in area on leisure or work.

Room Tip: Ask for room overlooking lake, nicer than other side overlooking complex behind
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank welshone03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KevinCoombes, General Manager at Holiday Inn Basildon, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Dear welshone03

Thank you for your recent review. I am pleased that you enjoyed you stay with us at the Holiday Inn Basildon. Although our bathrooms are smaller than others, I am pleased that you found them to be clean and fully operational.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon

Kind regards

Kevin Coombes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (537)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

341 - 347 of 537 reviews

Reviewed September 22, 2013

I have just stayed at this H.I for 5 nights on a business trip, all the staff I spoke to were polite and always willing to help. The breakfast can only be described as the best I have ever had in a hotel. The beds are really comfortable we had a flat screen tv in an average size room.
The bathrooms are dates and the frames on the doors were all chipped and needed and good paint, the restaurant they say they have is at the bar and you order from at the bar from a menu that is not that big at all. When I ordered one night I was made to wait 40 minutes for my food and when I asked where it was the bar staff replied it takes 40 minutes to marinade the chicken so I waited for another ten minutes and when the food finally arrived it was stone cold. So my advice is there is a Pizza Hut next door make your own mind up.

Room Tip: Standard double
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Basildon, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2013

Dear Dave C,

Thank you for your feedback. I am very pleased to hear that you appreciated how our breakfast was during your stay. We strive to exemplify comfortable and relaxing environments with all the services you need and more, and I am sorry this was not provided for you. I apologize for any inconvenience caused by the restaurant service and bathroom facility. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. We appreciate your review and look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

Stayed here 5 nights, very good place, if you need something in the area, well situated just of the A127, the mall, restaurants and park are right there, also easy to get to downtown shopping and station.
I booked on line and got a great rate, but i noticed that the established room rate listed was twice the price I paid. Maybe that was for walk in customers, not sure.
Room though small was adequate, bit tight for 2 people, bed not up to standard ,( by American Hotel standards). Breakfast at approx $17 , coffee at $5 not worth it, there are better places within walking distance. Friday night/ early morning, the locals were a bit rowdy in the adjoining car park.
The staff were very helpful, and professional. There was a leak in our bathroom so they changed our room and upgraded us.
I would hesitate to pay the listed room rate , 150 pounds sterling, if i had to return, would shop around as other hotels offer better rates.

Room Tip: check prices on line, ask for a room away from the car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jchd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KevinCoombes, General Manager at Holiday Inn Basildon, responded to this reviewResponded October 21, 2013

Dear jchd

Thank you for your recent review of our hotel, I am pleased to read that you found our hotel to be friendly and professional. Your feedback is vital to us to help us make improvements for the future and to ensure that our product and service delivery is true value for price paid.

I hope to see you back in the hotel soon

Kind regards

Kevin Coombes.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

1 night stay for a business trip, staff very friendly and helpful both at check and check out.

Hotel is ok, clean, rooms are ok, flat screen TV etc, however had a twin room and the single bed was very small and uncomfortable.

Breakfast was excellent though, one of the better ones I've had in a hotel, nice and fresh and cooked well.

Overall stayed as convenient for business trip and would stay again, on a leisure park with lots of places to eat (TGI Fridays, Harvester, Pizza express, Toby Carvery etc...)

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kevc30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Basildon, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2013

Dear kevc30,

We greatly value your comments and would like to thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am glad to read that our staff was able to assist you with your needs. I have noted that you experienced inconvenience and discomfort with the bed size during your stay and would like to extend my most sincere apologies for this. Your comments and your review will be used to reconsider improvements needed and I hope you can give us a chance to show what we have done.

Once again, thank you for your valuable comments and recommendation.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2013

I checked into this hotel and waited for some considerable time for two customers to check out. The reception staff were explaining that there was only one phone line and the card payment connection gets confused if you try to check out two customers at once? It apparently occurs regularly. If this is correct then this situation needs rectifying. Once checked in I was allocated room 7 on the ground floor. What a disappointment, it looked grubby, the paintwork was worn, the carpets were stained and the upholstery on the chair under the desk was stained and marked. The bathroom was clean. The bed was uncomfortable. I decided that I would ask to have my room reallocated but walking down the corridor looking around at the decor I decided that it was probably a waste of time as the corridor is dowdy. I went to the bar and the single staff member was serving a group of young men who were all appeared to be ordering milk shakes. After seeing how long it took to make just one shake I left and went for a walk. When I returned I ordered a drink and went outside to enjoy the evening sun. However I realised why there were not more people outside as I was quickly visited by several wasps. I went back inside and reported the potential for a nest to be on the hotel site to the barman. All I got was a shrug of the shoulders and a confirmation that other guests had mentioned the same thing.
We then tried to order food and after selecting a fish dish we were told that it wasn't available. One of our party then changed tack to order a steak with onion rings, only to be told that the hotel had run out of onion rings. The steak dish was ordered medium rare and it came well done.
The breakfast was very tasty and the range of food available was good. Checkout was fine and the staff were helpful.
Overall I was disappointed with this Holiday Inn. It was probably the poorest Holiday Inn that I have stayed in. It needs decorating and updating. I will not stay there again and I could not recommend it at the moment.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Treoesman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Basildon, responded to this reviewResponded September 26, 2013

Dear Treoesman,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the room conditions, and food selections prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We are confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we look forward to serving you in the future.

Sincerely,

Ben J
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

The H.I. at Basildon is an unstylish hotel that is probably more oriented to groups than individual travellers and so it proved to be for us.
Noisy disputes and activities that would be associated with an irresponsible serving of alcohol policy played themselves out in the hotel carpark which we overlooked.
In fairness to the hotel, there is a possibility that despite the closeness, not all the commotion emanated from hotel guests. The hotel is situated in a precinct of fast food outlets, forget any notions of a nice, quiet, waterside setting you may see alluded to in the description.
Breakfast was sensational, best we had on our tour with very obliging staff catering for any changes we requested.
Our room, apart from the nightly noise, was clean and comfortable as indeed it should be for the tariff. Would we stay again? No, definitely not, there are other hotels with higher ratings.

Room Tip: Avoid a room that overlooks the car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ElectrickBlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KevinCoombes, General Manager at Holiday Inn Basildon, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Dear ElectrickBlue

Thank you for your feedback from which I take that on the whole - you enjoyed your experience with us. I am sorry if you were disturbed by noise during the night - we work closely with our neighbours in order to minimise nose pollution at all times.
If you do choose to return to us in the future ask for one of our rooms facing the lake and I am sure you will change your opinion of some of the views we have to offer.
Once again - thank you for your review

Kind regards

Kevin Coombes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Just spent a short stay with my wife at the above.Excellent room very clean and comfortable, and staff very helpfull thank you well done..Our room overlooked the two lakes one with the wakeboarders on which was superb to watch.
The location is very good as its on the festival leisure park,lots to do ,plenty of places to eat and be entertained.
We had a wonderful short stay and will be back.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kjfletcher2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KevinCoombes, General Manager at Holiday Inn Basildon, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Dear kj50Wolverhampton

Thank you for your great feedback - I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay. Perhaps when you return you might have a spare hour or so to try the Wakeboarding for yourself - it is even better than it looks I can assure you.

Thank you again for your review - see you again soon

Kind regards
Kevin Coombes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Basildon
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn Basildon (East Mayne) Hotel
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Basildon
Travelodge Basildon
#6 of 7 in Basildon
219 reviews
2.3 mi away
Premier Inn Basildon South Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.4 mi away
De Rougemont Manor
De Rougemont Manor
#3 of 4 in Brentwood
778 reviews
7 mi away
The Oysterfleet Hotel
The Oysterfleet Hotel
#1 of 2 in Canvey Island
211 reviews
8.1 mi away
Marygreen Manor Hotel
Marygreen Manor Hotel
#1 of 4 in Brentwood
1,056 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Basildon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Basildon

Address: Waterfront Walk, Festival Leisure Park Cranes Farm Road, Basildon SS14 3TJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Basildon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Basildon
Price Range: $86 - $166 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Basildon 3*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Basildon is located on the Festival Leisure Park set in its own grounds overlooking a picturesque garden and fishing lake. The Holiday Inn Basildon is 0.5 miles from CNH tractor plant and 3 miles from Ford Motor Company research centre. We are only 40 minutes from Stansted Airport and 8 miles from the M25 Jct.29 with easy access to Lakeside and Bluewater shopping centres. The Holiday Inn Basildon bedrooms have high speed internet access and are air-conditioned. Family and accessible rooms are available. Meeting rooms and public areas have WIFI. We offer an extensive menu served daily in our lounge and 24 hour room service. The Holiday Inn Basildon is a popular venue for meetings in the Academy Conference centre. The Holiday Inn Basildon also caters for banqueting events including dinner dances and weddings in our suites which can cater for up to 220 guests and has ample free parking, including accessible parking. The Festival Leisure Park adjacent to the hotel boasts a wide choice of restaurants, nightclubs and leisure activities, including a 10 screen cinema and bowling alley. As one of our guests at the hotel you can take advantage of complimentary one day passes to the Fitness First gym that is a two minute walk from the hotel. The hotel offers leisure packages:- shopping, family and honeymoon. Kids Stay and Eat Free* making Holiday Inn Basildon an ideal location for a family short break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, IHG, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Basildon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Basildon Hotel Basildon
Basildon Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Basildon Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing