We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent Holiday Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Holiday Inn Basildon
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Basildon
Reviewed August 20, 2013

2 nights on business and overall happy with the experience. The location in the leisure park gets some bad press for noise but I found the accessibility to different food options and amenities very handy as I get bored of eating standard hotel food on repetitive business trips.

The room had a/c and the laundry service was relatively painless.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul2496
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (536)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

349 - 355 of 536 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2013

this is the second time we have stayed at different holiday inns in two eeks and we wee not disappointed.The room was spacious and clean and the reception and bar area were very inviting.We would stay here again for sure.The only negative we had was the price of the buffet breakfast which at £15.95 was a little steep.However there are many resturants in walking distance so alternatives can be found.We were going to a family wedding and needed to get into our rooms early and a young lady receptionist called Chris was very helpful to us and made all the difference to our experience.

Room Tip: try surrounding eateries for breakfast
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stephen b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KevinCoombes, General Manager at Holiday Inn Basildon, responded to this reviewResponded September 5, 2013

Dear stephen b

Thank you for your great feedback. I am so pleased that you got to meet Chris, alongside the rest of the rest of the reception team, she is becoming very well known for the warm and friendly service that she provides.

Thank you for your feedback on our breakfast prices too, which as you know, covers the cost of our extensive breakfast buffet and specials menu including freshly made pancakes, omelettes and kippers with poached eggs and much much more.

The next time you stay with us - drop me a line and I will arrange breakfast for you..on me!!

Thank you again for your review

Kevin Coombes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Nice tidy hotel, rom comforatble
But How can they get away with the prices for food and Drink.
Bowl of Chilli and pint of Becks £17.33; Glass of Red Wine £7.36 !
No wonder not many people stay for food!

Could Do better.

Room Tip: Conveninet for Basildon Night Life
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KevinCoombes, General Manager at Holiday Inn Basildon, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Dear Tony M

Thank you for your recent review - I am pleased that you found the hotel to be convenient for your needs and the room to be neat, tidy and comfortable. We review our menu offering regularly and guest feedback is key in helping us make the right decisions for the future.

Kind regards

Kevin Coombes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

Tired hotel in need of housekeepers who actually clean. In need of fresh linens and pillows and actually, a total makeover. The first room I was given 007 was filthy and smelled bad. Got moved to 107 which was better and as a bonus the AC worked well, but it was still a bit of a pit. Won't be back.

Room Tip: Try another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank H2oVision
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Basildon, responded to this reviewResponded August 18, 2013

Dear H2oVision,

We appreciate your feedback regarding our property. We welcome feedback especially from our valued guests like you.

I humbly extend an apology for the dissatisfaction you had with our housekeeping services and for the shortcomings you have encountered in your room. Kindly be assured that we treat this matter seriously as we always strive to deliver world-class service to our guests.

I have taken note and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually. Rest assured that your comments will be reviewed by our team and take actions accordingly. We hope to get a chance of hosting you again and show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Dhan M
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

4 night stay July 2013.
Attended business training at our plant close by.
My room was OK, but positioned straight above the entrance, which where a bit noisy two of the nights.
Clean and nice every day.
Service OK, and a nice lobby bar,
Hotel close to lot of "off working hour activities" and very good breakfast!

Room Tip: Ask for room towards the little lake !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frodech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KevinCoombes, General Manager at Holiday Inn Basildon, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Dear Frodech

Thank you for your recent review. I am sorry to hear that you were disturbed by noise during your stay, we try to minimise external noise as much as we can. It is nice to read however that you found the rooms to be in good condition and clean and that overall, your stay with us was a good one.

We look forward to seeing you back at the hotel soon

Kind regards

Kevin Coombes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

Location is a bit out of the way, the hotel is nice though and what you would expect from a Holiday Inn. Staff were friendly and room was clean. We also ordered room service, which arrived quickly and was delicious. Paid £69 for a double room on a Saturday night.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SmallPong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KevinCoombes, General Manager at Holiday Inn Basildon, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2013

Dear Jesska92

Thank you for your great review - I am pleased that you found the team to friendly and responsive to your needs throughout. It is great to be recognised by our guests and your review will certainly be shared with all of the team here at the hotel. I do hope that any noise issues experienced by yourselves will not deter you from you using us again the future.

I am pleased too that you enjoyed our great cooked breakfast.

Kind regards

Kevin Coombes
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013 via mobile

This was the location for an organised weekend trip with a large group. The hotel is located on a large retail park just round the corner from several night club venues. The Friday night we would not have known this. On the Saturday night the car park was extremely noisy and our room looks over the car park. Ordinarily with windows closed it probably wouldn't be an issue but due to the heatwave we needed the windows open. The room was basic and clean however overdue an upgrade in decor. Bed was comfy and the breakfasts to a high standard with a great selection. The best thing about this hotel is undoubtedly the staff who were responsive to our every request and a credit to the holiday inn.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jesska92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Basildon, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2013

Dear Jesska92,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. We are happy you like our friendly staff. We greatly appreciate your feedback as this gives us the avenue to improve on our guest satisfaction. I apologize for the inconvenience you experienced with the noise challenges. We appreciate your feedback which will help us improve our service and accommodations for each guest. I hope you will consider staying with us again.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Basildon
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn Basildon (East Mayne) Hotel
2.3 mi away
Premier Inn Basildon South Hotel
0.2 mi away
Travelodge Basildon
Travelodge Basildon
#6 of 7 in Basildon
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6 mi away
Premier Inn Basildon (Rayleigh) Hotel
4.8 mi away
The Chichester Hotel
The Chichester Hotel
#2 of 2 in Wickford
310 reviews
7 mi away
The Oysterfleet Hotel
The Oysterfleet Hotel
#1 of 2 in Canvey Island
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Basildon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Basildon

Address: Waterfront Walk, Festival Leisure Park Cranes Farm Road, Basildon SS14 3TJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Basildon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Basildon
Price Range: $82 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Basildon 3*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Basildon is located on the Festival Leisure Park set in its own grounds overlooking a picturesque garden and fishing lake. The Holiday Inn Basildon is 0.5 miles from CNH tractor plant and 3 miles from Ford Motor Company research centre. We are only 40 minutes from Stansted Airport and 8 miles from the M25 Jct.29 with easy access to Lakeside and Bluewater shopping centres. The Holiday Inn Basildon bedrooms have high speed internet access and are air-conditioned. Family and accessible rooms are available. Meeting rooms and public areas have WIFI. We offer an extensive menu served daily in our lounge and 24 hour room service. The Holiday Inn Basildon is a popular venue for meetings in the Academy Conference centre. The Holiday Inn Basildon also caters for banqueting events including dinner dances and weddings in our suites which can cater for up to 220 guests and has ample free parking, including accessible parking. The Festival Leisure Park adjacent to the hotel boasts a wide choice of restaurants, nightclubs and leisure activities, including a 10 screen cinema and bowling alley. As one of our guests at the hotel you can take advantage of complimentary one day passes to the Fitness First gym that is a two minute walk from the hotel. The hotel offers leisure packages:- shopping, family and honeymoon. Kids Stay and Eat Free* making Holiday Inn Basildon an ideal location for a family short break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, IHG, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Basildon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Basildon Hotel Basildon
Basildon Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Basildon Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing