We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice functional hotel with good service..”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Basildon
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Basildon
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Nice functional hotel with good service..”
Reviewed May 24, 2013

We only stayed one night and really as a base to attend a local event. However for the little time spent there, we experienced good customer service. The hotel and room were smart, clean and tidy and had all the facilities we needed.

On arrival we were dealt with quickly and some goodies given out to the children (nice gesture). Staff were helpful and attentive with all questions and queries.

The morning breakfast was the usual fare, but met our expectations and there's a nice balcony to sit outside if the weather is good. Checkout was again painless.

On the whole a good hotel which meets all of the criteria required in this segment of the market.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teewas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KevinCoombes, General Manager at Holiday Inn Basildon, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear Teewas

It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and that your children were well looked after too. I hope that the next time you are in the area, you choose to stay with us again and perhaps have more time to enjoy the services of the hotel than you did previously.

Thank you agaiin

Kind regards
Kevin Coombes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    199
    130
    54
    27
See reviews for
70
113
23
222
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge
Level Contributor
58 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2013

The check in was swift. Went to the room to drop our bags before heading out. Wife went to the toilet and behold, the floor was covered in pubic hair. We complained to staff before we left the hotel. When we got back to the room a very quick clean had been done but there were still a lot left on the floor. Other points to note, the carpets were thread bear and the grout on the floor tiles was filthy...which didn't add to the overall affect of the floor. The whole place is run down and lacking in staff. I think the bouncer on the door on our return to the hotel was the icing on the cake. Never stayed in a hotel that needed a bouncer before!

Room Tip: Dump. Stay at the travel lodge. Or in the bins around the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melandjules
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KevinCoombes, General Manager at Holiday Inn Basildon, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear melandjules

Thank you for your recent comments regarding your stay with us at the Holiday Inn Basildon. I am very sorry that your stay was not to our usual standard and that we failled to rectify the problem having been informed of it by yourself.

I will contact you seperatley to discuss the issues you had in more detail and to see if there is anything we can do to help change the poor impression you have of us here at Basildon.

In the meantime - thank you for your comments

Kind regards

Kevin Coombes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Level Contributor
183 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Having not stayed at the hotel I feel I cannot comment of the rooms... However, I have had breakfast at the hotel on several occasions and feel it alone is very worthy of comment.

The breakfast consists of a full English with a choice of sausages, and eggs. The bacon is cooked very well as is all the other items from beans, mushrooms and tomatoes. The kitchen staff constantly inspect the food shelves for spillages and burning of food stuffs, and the serving staff are polite and courteous.

There are a variety of juices and cereals also available.

My only one complaint is price, which I found steep compared to other establishments on Festival Leisure Park, but have said that there isn't a place within 30 miles of them that can compare to their standards for breakfast.

Room Tip: The window view seats are perfect in the summer months. but views are gloomy in the winter...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Usuzumiishi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KevinCoombes, General Manager at Holiday Inn Basildon, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear Usuzumiishi

Thank you for your great comments with regards to our breakfast. As you know, we have recently upgraded our breakfast offering and now include fresh pancakes, daily specials and speciality coffee's in the price.

I look forward to seeing you back for breakfast soon

Regards

Kevin Coombes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Booked the hotel as was attending a party in the area, so only stayed the one night. The room was large and clean The bed large and comfortable, and had the sofa as booked, despite this the room was not cramped. Room facilities include having both trouser press and an iron and ironing board, inroom tea and coffee and a small empty mini bar. There is also free tea and coffee in reception. The hotel is busy at times hosting many weddings, and the bar a bit busy as a result.The staff we met were all present and polite. I would stay again in the hotel.

Room Tip: if you like a large room opt for one with a sofa
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sc358
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KevinCoombes, General Manager at Holiday Inn Basildon, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear sc358

Thanks you for your recent comments.

I am pleased that you had a good stay with us and that our facilities met your expectations. I do hope that we will see you back at the hotel soon.

Kind regards

Kevin Coombes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton in Kendal, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013

This hotel is unfortunately in Basildon. However the staff attitude and the management of this hotel is second to none, about 10 times better than any London Holiday Inn, and many other hotels.
Key good points
The hotel recognises the value of priority club members
The hotel is clean the beds are comfy and the rooms are well equipped
There is free access to the gym (400 metres away)
The food is generally pretty good and reasonably priced and the breakfast is superb
The locality is OK as the hotel is on Festival park which has all the usual chain restaurants and a cinema
In summary it's a very well run, very friendly, exceptionally clean and comfortable hotel

Room Tip: Higher floors are quieter, and not overlooking the front door as you get the smokers congregating
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IanEB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KevinCoombes, General Manager at Holiday Inn Basildon, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear IanEB

Thank you for your great comments with regards to The Holiday Inn Basildon. It is always nice to receive such great feedback and I will ensure it is passed on to the team.

Thank you again for your great feedback

Kind regards

Kevin Coombes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Tilbury, Essex
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We stayed here for 1 night on 27 April, as we were attending our friends Kelly & Kyle's wedding. The reception team were excellent, and dealt with our booking really well. The room (311) was what you would expect from the Holiday Inn. Breakfast was very good. No complaints about the noise, maybe because our room wasn't facing the retail park and the night clubs adjacent to the hotel.

Would recommend this hotel to friends.

Room Tip: Rooms facing away from retail park onto the gardens, may be less noisey.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank t26morley_home
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KevinCoombes, General Manager at Holiday Inn Basildon, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear t26morley_home

Thank you for your comments regarding your recent stay at the Holiday Inn Basildon. I do hope you will choose to stay with us again the next time you are in the area.

Once again, thank you for your feedback

Kind regards

Kevin Coombes
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wales
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Well located hotel within a retail park so plenty of choice for food/drink. The room was a good size and clean, the staff were helpfull. The breakfast was ok.

Stayed one night for business but would use again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J9CPR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KevinCoombes, General Manager at Holiday Inn Basildon, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Dear Chris R

I am delighted to learn that you enjoyed your recent stay with us at the Holiday Inn Basildon.

Perhaps when you next visit you will see that our breakfast standards have been even more enhanced and now include daily specials and pancakes from our Chef and his team.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon

Kind regards

Kevin Coombes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Basildon
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Basildon
Travelodge Basildon
#6 of 7 in Basildon
193 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Chichester Hotel
The Chichester Hotel
#2 of 2 in Wickford
269 reviews
5.7 mi away
Greenwoods Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Best Western Ivy Hill Hotel
Best Western Ivy Hill Hotel
#3 of 12 in Chelmsford
363 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Bell Inn Hotel
The Bell Inn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Horndon-on-the-Hill
294 reviews
7.0 mi away
The Oysterfleet Hotel
The Oysterfleet Hotel
#1 of 2 in Canvey Island
180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Basildon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Basildon

Property: Holiday Inn Basildon
Address: Waterfront Walk, Festival Leisure Park Cranes Farm Road, Basildon SS14 3TJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Basildon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Basildon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Basildon 3*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Basildon is located on the Festival Leisure Park set in its own grounds overlooking a picturesque garden and fishing lake. The Holiday Inn Basildon is 0.5 miles from CNH tractor plant and 3 miles from Ford Motor Company research centre. We are only 40 minutes from Stansted Airport and 8 miles from the M25 Jct.29 with easy access to Lakeside and Bluewater shopping centres. The Holiday Inn Basildon bedrooms have high speed internet access and are air-conditioned. Family and accessible rooms are available. Meeting rooms and public areas have WIFI. We offer an extensive menu served daily in our lounge and 24 hour room service. The Holiday Inn Basildon is a popular venue for meetings in the Academy Conference centre. The Holiday Inn Basildon also caters for banqueting events including dinner dances and weddings in our suites which can cater for up to 220 guests and has ample free parking, including accessible parking. The Festival Leisure Park adjacent to the hotel boasts a wide choice of restaurants, nightclubs and leisure activities, including a 10 screen cinema and bowling alley. As one of our guests at the hotel you can take advantage of complimentary one day passes to the Fitness First gym that is a two minute walk from the hotel. The hotel offers leisure packages:- shopping, family and honeymoon. Kids Stay and Eat Free* making Holiday Inn Basildon an ideal location for a family short break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Holiday Inn Basildon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Basildon Hotel Basildon
Basildon Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Basildon Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing