We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall good quality”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Basildon
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Basildon
Budapest, Hungary
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Overall good quality”
Reviewed February 12, 2013

Spend a couple of night there on a business trip. Had a good sleep, food was also good. Staff is friendly. Entertainment closby. Can only recommend if you are looking for a few nights to spend at a reasonable price on a buisness trip..

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zsessler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel S, Manager at Holiday Inn Basildon, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear Zsessler

Thank for the great review.

It is great to see you found our team so friendly and the hotel offered you great food and a great location.

I hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards

Daniel Sharpe
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

510 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    200
    131
    54
    30
See reviews for
71
115
23
224
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sevenoaks, Kent
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

Can't fault this hotel. We last stayed when our daughter had her wedding reception there four years ago, and were not disappointed on either occasion. Our room was on the second floor, close to the lifts, but was very quiet. It was well appointed, even had an iron and ironing board! The bed was clean and comfortable, bathroom was small but had everything we needed and the shower is the best we have come across in a hotel. Breakfast was very good - we came down quite early ( it was a Sunday morning) and everything was ready. There was a good choice of juices, cereals, pastries and a wonderful hot buffet. The staff were friendly and welcoming, and we will stay over again, I'm sure.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mw30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel S, Manager at Holiday Inn Basildon, responded to this review, February 12, 2013
Dear mw30

What fantastic comments.

Thank you so much for taking the time to post here on Trip Advisor, i will ensure that the team are well aware of your comments.

I hope we can welcome you back a third time.

Kind Regards

Daniel Sharpe
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Having stayed here twice, not a bad word can be said about this hotel.

The location is good from the respect that it is close to the motorway, and in the immediate vicinity there are several bars, restaurants, a gym and a cinema.

The staff are friendly, polite and helpful, and the rooms clean.

They seem to cater well for very large bookings also, to the extent that my company will definitely use this hotel for a multiple-room booking in the future.

Recommended.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HughJars85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel S, Manager at Holiday Inn Basildon, responded to this review, February 4, 2013
Dear HughJars85

Thank you so much for the great feedback.

It is great to see that the location of the hotel suited your needs and you found our team to be helpful and polite.

I look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel soon.

Regards

Daniel Sharpe
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013 via mobile

Stayed on business, rooms adequate though poor lighting. Bathroom small and grout needs refreshing. Now to the highlights, breakfast is good, and service is outstanding from reception staff to waiting staff in bar and breakfast room. Well done.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank latinmeadow25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel S, Manager at Holiday Inn Basildon, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear latinmeadow25

Thank you so much for the great feedback on your recent stay with us, I have passed the comments onto our team members.

Just to let you know we have a program in place to replace the grout and this a job that we work on, on a rolling basis. So i must apologise if the grout in your room was not up to the standard we would expect, i hope you will notice the difference on your next visit. we are also reviewing the lighting in the rooms.

Thanks again

Kind Regards

Daniel Sharpe
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
st albans
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

just got back from another quiet weekend break in Basildon. We were checked in quickly and efficiently by Chris and had room 301, only problem with the room was it was too hot and we had to have the window open at night.
Bit concerned by the lack of guests, thought breakfast might be disappointing but it was all hot and fresh, constantly being checked by the chef. Only comment i would make is that maybe when it is quiet, fried eggs could be cooked fresh to order, that was the only thing on the buffet to be lukewarm.
We visit this hotel 2 or 3 times a year mainly for its location, handy for Southend and plenty of restaurants to choose from for an evening meal.
4 night time security guards made us a bit apprehensive to go out at night, is there really that much trouble for them to have to cope with?
All in all we will be back in the summer!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sueburr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel S, Manager at Holiday Inn Basildon, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear sueburr

Thank you for taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us.

Being the start of January it does take a few days before business really kicks back in so we are always a little quite qround that time but it is great to see that this did not detract from what seems a good experience.

I have noted your comments regarding the eggs and asked the chef to keep this in mind going forward.

I look forward to seeing you in the summer.

Kind Regards

Daniel Sharpe
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed January 4, 2013

I stay at this hotel regularly and I find the staff delightful. They really cheer one up after a difficult day at work. Sometimes not everything goes right and there are minor niggles but when you point them out the staff really move heaven and earth to sort them out. The new idea of eating in the bar is OK but they do perhaps need to look at more tables for people to eat at.
I would thoroughly recommend staying here if you are in Basildon for some reason

Room Tip: Lake side are quieter but there are no executive rooms that side
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stadders1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel S, Manager at Holiday Inn Basildon, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear stadders1

Thank you so much for the great feedback. I have passed your comments onto the team.

Just to let you know we do have more tables and chairs coming for our eveving dining area.

I look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind Regards

Daniel Sharpe
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mid glam
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

We stayed one night befor a show,when we arrived our room was not ready,unwelcome staff
on reception,we waited for 45mins,having arrived at 3-pm they had plenty of time to clean it,we
were given an excecitive room eventualy,this was very nice,bar staff not friendly,the breakfast
was very poor so was the service.as this is the second time we have had to wait for our room
to be ready at a holiday inn I wold not use them again.

Room Tip: our room was on first floor at the end which is quiet executive room had two large doubles.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hairset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Daniel S, Manager at Holiday Inn Basildon, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear hairset

It seems we failed to meet any kind of service expectations during your stay with us. I must apologise for the short falls in service you experienced.

I would welcome the opportunity for you to call me directly so that we may discuss this further.

I hope to hear from you.

Kind Regards

Daniel Sharpe
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Basildon
0.1 mi away
Travelodge Basildon
Travelodge Basildon
#6 of 7 in Basildon
197 reviews
4.8 mi away
The Chichester Hotel
The Chichester Hotel
#2 of 2 in Wickford
276 reviews
10.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Southend
Holiday Inn Southend
#6 of 19 in Southend-on-Sea
762 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Brentwood
Holiday Inn Brentwood
#4 of 4 in Brentwood
634 reviews
4.3 mi away
Travelodge Basildon Wickford Hotel
4.8 mi away
The Bell Inn Hotel
The Bell Inn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Horndon-on-the-Hill
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Basildon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Basildon

Property: Holiday Inn Basildon
Address: Waterfront Walk, Festival Leisure Park Cranes Farm Road, Basildon SS14 3TJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Basildon
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Basildon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Basildon 3*
Number of rooms: 148
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Basildon is located on the Festival Leisure Park set in its own grounds overlooking a picturesque garden and fishing lake. The Holiday Inn Basildon is 0.5 miles from CNH tractor plant and 3 miles from Ford Motor Company research centre. We are only 40 minutes from Stansted Airport and 8 miles from the M25 Jct.29 with easy access to Lakeside and Bluewater shopping centres. The Holiday Inn Basildon bedrooms have high speed internet access and are air-conditioned. Family and accessible rooms are available. Meeting rooms and public areas have WIFI. We offer an extensive menu served daily in our lounge and 24 hour room service. The Holiday Inn Basildon is a popular venue for meetings in the Academy Conference centre. The Holiday Inn Basildon also caters for banqueting events including dinner dances and weddings in our suites which can cater for up to 220 guests and has ample free parking, including accessible parking. The Festival Leisure Park adjacent to the hotel boasts a wide choice of restaurants, nightclubs and leisure activities, including a 10 screen cinema and bowling alley. As one of our guests at the hotel you can take advantage of complimentary one day passes to the Fitness First gym that is a two minute walk from the hotel. The hotel offers leisure packages:- shopping, family and honeymoon. Kids Stay and Eat Free* making Holiday Inn Basildon an ideal location for a family short break. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Basildon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Basildon Hotel Basildon
Basildon Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Basildon Essex

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing