We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic People”
other travelers have booked this property
Welcome to Clough Head, a traditional Peak District farmhouse
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to Clough Head, a traditional Peak District farmhouse
The cottage at Clough Head Relax in the comfortable sitting room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
19 reviews
Welcome to Clough Head, a traditional Peak District farmhouse
The cottage at Clough Head
Relax in the comfortable sitting room
Relax after a day in the Peak District and enjoy games, books, satellite TV, music...
Enjoy a good night's rest
Relax in comfort at Clough Head Cottage
Relax and make yourself at home for a week or a weekend in the Peak District
A room with a view of White Peak hills
Cottage style comfort at Clough Head
The fully equipped kitchen at Clough Head Cottage
Everything you need to create a delicious meal
Relax and enjoy
Relax in the bath after a day in the Peak District
Towels warming in the cosy bathroom at Clough Head Cottage
Clough Head - a tranquil retreat
Your own self-contained cottage
Soak up the sun in the cottage patio garden
The view from the cottage garden
Lovely local walks from the door
Wander in our wild-flower meadow
Half our meadow - given a harvest trim
Looking down over Hollinsclough early in the morning - Parkhouse Hill appears out of the mist
We have had amazing sunsets this summer
Nearby Bakewell, a fascinating town to explore - and sample the famous pudding!
Clough Head in January Snow
January Snow
Looking down from Hollinsclough Moor in January
Our neighbouring Portland sheep in January
Chrome Hill, seen from Clough Head in January
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Buxton, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
rsangha20...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic People”
Reviewed March 6, 2018 for a stay in February 2018

Amazing cozy little cottage, cleanest we have ever stayed in, very comfortable bed, had dvds, books, board games and toys for entertainment, great views and everything else you need.
The best thing by far has to be the host Mr Alick Brown, what an amazing person to have met. We had unfortunately chosen the week of “The beast from the east” to stay at the cottage and we got snowed in for the duration of our stay and didn’t get to explore the lovely area. Every morning Alick would clear away snow form the paths around to cottage to make it safe. with food supplies running low and no chance of driving in the bad snow Alick was so kind that he actually walked all the way to the shops to bring us food, this is a rural area we are talking about so they are at a distance. we also had to stay an extra night due to the bad weather and Alick only asked us to pay for energy usage. The next morning I was eager to get back home as there was a break in the snow and Alick cleard paths for the car all the way to the top of the road laying down grit for extra traction and even pushed the car at one point to help us on our way. Down the road we had become stuck and had to abandon the car we found a nearby cottage and a lovely couple Margret and laurence called around and got help from farmer David who happens to be a neighbor of Alick, He towed us through the snow and ice on to the A53. Absolutely amazing people we met in this part of the world.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2018 for a stay in December 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Yumei H
1 review
“Most tasteful and comfy cottage we've ever stayed home and abroad!”
Reviewed November 1, 2017 for a stay in October 2017

Alick's cottage has everything you need to relax and enjoy during holidays. We loved the open view of the hills, the chickens and the alpacas. And after visiting places at Peak District, we could relax in the cottage where there are comfortable beds, books, CDs, DVDs and games for adults and children! The cottage is very warm with the fire and I could cook decent food with the good quality cooking ingredients provided in the kitchen. We also loved the farm animals sets of plates, bowls and cups etc.! The beds are extremely comfortable, and I loved the bedding and curtains which are my favourite design of birds. Everything is so tasteful in the cottage that we felt so much at home!

Alick was very helpful and kind and we enjoyed the welcome cake made by Alick's wife. If we ever visit Peak District again, no doubt we'll come and stay with Alick again!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Catherine...
1 review
“A lovely cottage in a beautiful and peaceful location.”
Reviewed September 1, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

A lovely cottage in a beautiful and peaceful location. Alick was very welcoming and we all enjoyed the homemade chocolate cake on arrival! A perfect space for a family of four, with the extra bed being big enough for an adult to sleep in. Brilliant location with lovely walks from the door and a short drive to Buxton. Would definitely recommend.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Passenger...
County Durham, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Fantastic location, lovely accomodation, they think of everything.”
Reviewed August 30, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

Fantastic location, great walks from the house, lovely accomodation, cute alpacas - they think of everything!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tinaimp20...
Oakham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Brilliant stay in a lovely peaceful location”
Reviewed February 18, 2017 for a stay in August 2016

The wonderful hosts will greet and help you to enjoy your stay to the maximum. The location is fantastic and allows you to visit cultural landmarks nearby but also enjoy the beautiful scenery. The cottage is furnished to a high standard and is immaculately clean. We liked the beanbags and games. Very suitable for children.
Perfect for a busy or relaxing break. Would recommend it highly and we will definitely visit again!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SCocks18
Greater Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“English Country Cottage”
Reviewed June 20, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

My Daughter and I stayed her for 2 nights in early June. The cottage was off a country road but was easy to find. Quaint country cottage with everything you need for a pleasant stay. Beautifully furnished and very well equipped. The 2 bedrooms were very comfortable. The bathroom was downstairs, very clean and equipped to a high standard. The views were exceptional and in prime walking area. There was a plethora of books, maps and leaflets outlining what is on offer to do and see in the area. The hosts were very welcoming without being intrusive. A real escape to the country.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing