We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A Golden Wedding Celebration”
other travelers have booked this property
Stunning House
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Stunning House
Double Bedroom Stunning Bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Average
57 reviews
Stunning House
Double Bedroom
Stunning Bedroom
Stunning Views
Kitchen Breakfast Room
Indoor Pool
Kitchen
Games Room
Hours Of Fun!
Roll Top Bath
Showeroom
Twin Bedroom
Bedroom
Bathroom
Triple Room
Triple Room
The House
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Manor House -
6 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 14
Buxton, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Average - based on 57 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
freters19...
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Do not waste your hard earned money here!”
Reviewed November 9, 2016 for a stay in September 2016
7
people found this review helpful

We as a family had previously stayed here for a family occasion several years ago, and had a great time, and so thought what better place to celebrate another family occasion.
We should have left the previous memories where they were, and not returned.
Where do I start. Probably with the mail, late the night before we were due to arrive, telling us the pool was broken, and that there was a helicopter event on the site on the Sunday of our stay.
This immediately disappointed all the grandchildren, and annoyed all the adults, as the pool was a massive incentive to book the accommodation, and to find out the night before we couldn't get to use it was very frustrating to say the least!
Anyway, on arriving at the property, we were met by a young girl who again let us know about the pool,and the helicopter event,(more on that later), and the poor girl, got the brunt of our frustration, so we weren't even greateed by the owners, they were on holiday, no doubt with a pool!
We booked the main house, and a smaller cottage due to the size of our party. The main house is far from luxurious, unless of course you consider the below luxurious: a well used kitchen, with unit doors, and drawer fronts hanging off, the smell of Aga paraffin throughout the house, so strong in one bedroom, we couldn't use, and had to keep door locked all weekend, cracked tiles in bathrooms and kitchen, mouldy, and flakey paint peeling off the walls, cobwebs in corners, unstable toilets, tired, and worn kitchen furniture, and sofas, and a water/toilet system that seems to rumble, and groan every time you flushed. The games room was very worn as well, so if you consider this luxury, book away!
So, the Sunday, the helicopters, ...........you know in the Vietnam movies, when you saw the helicopters, coming and going every few minutes in the back ground of every shot, well, this was very much like that, not to add random members of the public walking through the 'private property' with their dogs, and generally having a nose around.
As mentioned earlier, we booked the property for the location, pool, and the fun we had previously, yes it was a xpensive, but it had everything we wanted, after turning up, this property turned out to be a very expensive, rundown mistake.
We obviously raised our disappointment with the owners, the house keepers, anyone we could, on numerous occasions, and have heard nothing back from them, which is surprising, as they were all very vocal before we arrived, and before we had paid our money, we had no problem getting hold of someone then, and now silence, which feels like the last and final kick in the teeth. Not th customer service I would like sect from any rental.
We were all as a family looking forward to celebrating a weekend away for a special occasion, and it's such a a shame the property ruined that occasion.
I would not recommend this property to anyone, which is a shame.

Date of stay: September 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked least: Read above!
Traveling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colne, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 14, 2016 for a stay in September 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Date of stay: September 2016
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
414LucyBl
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent for large groups”
Reviewed June 28, 2016 for a stay in June 2016
3
people found this review helpful

Good value for money, with lots of good rooms for socialising - fab for large groups of friends or family. Really well equipped for self-catering purposes too. Would definitely return.

Date of stay: June 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patriciam...
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A siperb location for a large family gathering”
Reviewed June 7, 2016 for a stay in May 2016
3
people found this review helpful

We stayed in the farmhouse with three generations for half term week. The rooms were very comfortable with plenty of space for everyone (14). The children especially enjoyed the swimming pool. Only fault is the lack of a washing machine - more or less an essential with young children. Fortunately the weather was dry but had we had a lot of rain..........
I refused to pay extra for a travel cot and high chair so brought our own. Jon and Brenda were most welcoming and very helpful indeed. I would thoroughly recommend this for a family gathering. It is also well positioned for access to the many trails and other go-tos!

Date of stay: May 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Accomodation and swimming pool
Liked least: No washing machine and charges for cot and high chair
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joy M
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lovely location, very comfortable and has everything you need for a short or extended stay. Great!!!”
Reviewed April 23, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We went as a large family for a weekend and we were all thoroughly entertained. The kids loved the swimming pool and the adults had a night reliving our student days in the games room. The house was very comfortable and because the grounds had a helicopter weekend we got to go up for free which was a brilliant surprise!!! Would definitely recommend. Had everything we needed. Only thing I could say that could improve our experience would be to have two pillows to sleep but that is being picky. Loved it and great location.

Date of stay: April 2016
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
363sue
Redhill, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely, comfy, centrally located accommodation for a large family visit.”
Reviewed April 10, 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

To celebrate our Golden Wedding we stayed in The Manor House, Moor Grange Farm for a week with 12 members of the family coming from Scotland, the West Country and the South East. The accommodation was great, very comfy, house was lovely and warm which helped in the "all the seasons in one day"weather. The family loved the swimming pool for which you could book a two hour session each day, thus giving privacy to the family group. The games room was a great success. The location was great for walkers or visiting Buxton or Bakewell. To celebrate the occasion we ha booked an outdoor photo shoot in the lovely Pavillion Gardens in Buxton with Autumn Stone Photography who have produced a superb set of lovely, happy, fun, family photos, despite the overcast day. The layout of the house worked really well with the large family - with young cousins loving the opportunity to meet up again. Jon, the manager and Brenda, the housekeeper were very helpful and friendly and always available to help out or answer questions. We would certainly consider a return visit.

Date of stay: April 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Spaciousness and lovely views
Liked least: Lack of DVD player for films. We took our own.
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travelhea...
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic holiday”
Reviewed April 7, 2016 for a stay in March 2016
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed in Moor Grange Farm with a family group of 11 over Easter 2016 and had an extremely enjoyable time. Despite the freezing conditions outside the property was warm through out.

Although the best bar and restaurant locally was about a mile and a half away my 90 year old mother made the walk fairly comfortably in almost freezing temperatures.

This property is very well furnished and maintained and we were able quite easily to cater for ourselves most of the time. Many thanks go to the terrific staff there John and Brenda who made sure everything was perfect and could not do enough to make our time there very memorable. John even worked late into the night on our first night there to fix a problem with the swimming pool so that it was fully functional the next day.

Given the chance I would go back on a regular basis but living abroad makes that very difficult. Certainly well visit again, maybe in the summer next time

Date of stay: March 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Great place to relax
Liked least: The cold weather in March
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing