We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“slowish service and average food”
Review of Pizza Express

Pizza Express
Ranked #34 of 112 Restaurants in Buxton
Price range: $38 - $43
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Bright and modern, PizzaExpress Buxton offers an exciting reinvention of Italian classics. A vibrant menu includes wholesome Romana-style pizzas with adventurous topping combinations, as well as fresh salads, an impressive range behind the bar and aromatic coffee blends. Family-friendly Pizza Express gives kids the chance to design their own pizzas.
Matlock, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
148 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“slowish service and average food”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

4 adults and 3 children, Saturday evening. Haven eaten at an excellent pizza express in Birmingham 2 weeks earlier I guess expectations were high. Unfortunately this express did not live up to those ideals. The service was rather slow - the meal took over 2 hours. The atmosphere was good and the stag party that rolled in added to the entertainment value. The pizzas were over-cooked and therefore a little too crispy. The polenta chips were good and I was able to choose a different dipping sauce from that on the menu. Perhaps if I'd asked for my pizza "rare" it would have been cooked correctly.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jverdicchio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    104
    62
    44
    31
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Rugby, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“PIZZA & CAPPOCHINO”
Reviewed September 10, 2013

We dropped in for a meal here reciently. There was a large group of children (kids) and of course they were making a lot of noise. We were seated as far away from them as possible with aploogies for the noise from the staff. Our meal was great and served up with a "smile". We would have liked a pudding but we were to full.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JEFF W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Slow Service”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

My daughter and I went here for a treat, we waited for nearly an hour to be served just DRINKS then when we had finally ordered our food, other people who arrived after us with the same food order got their food 30 minutes before us. Food is very good but it's not worth the hours spent in there just for 2 main courses. Not going back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HJane123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dulverton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Service with a smile”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Lovely meal which delivered what it promised. Andy served us and was very attentive, pleasant and efficient. Go, it's great. Cheep and exceptional value. Have the polenta chips they are gorgeous.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LynS305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Peak
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Poor”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Myself and my daughter were having a day out in Buxton and we thought we'd give Pizza Express a go for lunch. We entered the premises and waited to be seated as the sign instructed. There were about 3 or 4 tables being used that's all and we could see members of staff around the bar area. We waited but we didn't even receive a "we'll be with you in a minute" acknowledgement. So we decided to take a table, sat down and looked at the menu. We waited and we waited....STILL no-one came, not even to take drinks order. So we gave up and left. POOR, POOR, POOR. Won't be going there again!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Beanz1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pizza Express also viewed

Glossop, Derbyshire
Macclesfield, Cheshire
 

Been to Pizza Express? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing