We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ok meal, nice atmosphere and friendly staff”

Simply Thai Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 110 Restaurants in Buxton
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $53 - $53
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Kids, Special occasions, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Simply Thai Restaurant, Buxton, opened in 2004 and our main aim was to bring you an authentic taste of Thailand in a Thai-inspired surrounding, along with the famous Thai hospitality by our attentive and charming Thai staff.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Ok meal, nice atmosphere and friendly staff”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2013

Maybe spoilt, coming from Birmingham but this place was recommended to us by a local as undoubtedly the place to go out for dinner. Average prices, great staff but there was oil sat on top of my dish. It tasted fine but although I believe this to be a good sign of an Indian curry, no Thai curry I have had in Thailand looked this oily - more milky. Apart from the oil, no complaints......

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank joannex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

957 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    545
    273
    83
    38
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Buxton, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“As good as ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013 via mobile

Can't fault the food and the surroundings - great restaurant. Service can be a bit hit and miss but tonight it was great. Everything cooked to perfection - a great meal.

Helpful?
Thank Terry H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stanford-Le-Hope, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Nice meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

Not the best Thai we have eaten but still really nice. Reasonably priced. The green curry was lovely and saty chicken was very good.
Staff friendly

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Emcraig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Too much focus on nice decor and not enough on good quality food”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

Food not fresh,chicken hard and dry,had to return the meal for a properly cooked one,dishes too oily and average taste,overpriced

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Foodfanatic135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Fantastic Meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

Ate at Simply Thai last night for the first time. The food was amazing. We had the mixed started followed by Red curry, yellow curry and pad Thai. All of which were full of flavour. Will definitely eat there again when we are in the area. The service was second to none. Well done!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Yvonne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Simply Thai Restaurant also viewed

 
Buxton, Derbyshire
 

Been to Simply Thai Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing