We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A fantastic holiday that has created lasting...”
other travelers have booked this property
“This place is amazing – finished to such a high standard and so comfy.”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
“This place is amazing – finished to such a high standard and so comfy.”
'Your hospitality has been exceptional!” “The Cottage is beautiful; really well equipped and homely.”
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
43 reviews
“This place is amazing – finished to such a high standard and so comfy.”
'Your hospitality has been exceptional!”
“The Cottage is beautiful; really well equipped and homely.”
“What a great place! Wonderful renovation. Very high spec and very tastefully done...'
“The accommodation was very comfortable and it was very well thought out'
“The cottage is top class, very clean and cosy.”
“The Barn is very homely and very well furnished, equipped, maintained...'
“The hospitality is second-to-none and we have all been made really welcome.”
“Fantastic cottage and the best equipped kitchen I have come across to date.”
'Haven't enjoyed cooking on holiday this much ever!”
“I have never slept in a comfier bed!”
'Everything that was needed was here!”
'Bed is super comfy!'
“It was my best shower experience ever!”
“Everything is finished to perfection, the walking shower is great, ...'
“We had a great time, the children really enjoyed the farm...'
“My 2 year old has had the time of his life, feeding the animals and taking part in farm life.”
“Thank you for a real home from home experience on a real farm.”
“The location is perfect for exploring the Peak District.”
“We had a great time, the children really enjoyed the farm.'
“Location is fantastically close to all the local attractions and walks.”
The first VALAIS BLACKNOSE SHEEP in Middle England here at Fernyford Farm. The world's cutest sheep!
“We have had a brilliant stay in a wonderful place!”
'Our 3rd visit, such a hidden gem! Superb views and location. My son loves the animals,...'
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Buxton, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 43 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Debbie C
1 review
“A fantastic holiday that has created lasting childhood memories.”
Reviewed April 14, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

An excellent cottage on a working farm, the cottage was very well equipped, warm and very comfortable. (It was better than 5 star cottages we have stayed in.) The experience was exceptional, our daughter loved the farm and helping with the animals, she tells people it is the best holiday ever! Neil, Dorota and family were very welcoming and friendly, they were more than happy for us watch and help around the farm and with the animals.
A great area for exploring the Peak District, great walks and cycle rides very close by. We had a fantastic holiday and will return again soon.

Date of stay: April 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The whole holiday was great
Liked least: Nothing to dislike
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kimberley...
1 review
“AMAZING, perfect family holiday ❤”
Reviewed April 8, 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Where can I start... just perfect stay from start to finish the cottage was so clean and felt like home the whole experience was just amazing the walks we will never forget! The family run farm was so much fun and very interesting to learn about thank you Neil and barney for spending so much time with us and letting us see the lambs born. I will miss barney's adventures and stories little Ray mear's! Thank you Neil and dorota we shall be back !! Love kimberley & martin xx

Date of stay: April 2015
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bbr92
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Excellent accommodation and base for exploring”
Reviewed March 9, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

The barn has everything and more you could possibly need on a self catering holiday and is finished to a very high standard. A really well as a really well equipped kitchen, comfy beds and superb shower/bathroom. We couldn't have been made more welcome by Neil and Dorota, thanks very much for showing us the sheep and your wonderful farm! The location is perfect for exploring all that this beautiful part of the country has to offer.
If your think about booking I would highly recommend.

Date of stay: February 2015
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vacatione...
1 review
“The perfect family holiday”
Reviewed February 22, 2015 for a stay in February 2015

We all had a fantastic time. Neil and Dorota were brilliant hosts and the farm and location were perfect. I would definitely recommend this holiday to friends.

Date of stay: February 2015
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claire B
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Exceptionally well appointed accommodation with very friendly owners.”
Reviewed January 3, 2015 for a stay in December 2014

The barn is extremely warm and everything has been done to a very high standard. Neil and Dorota are very friendly and helpful and being able to see the workings of a well run hill farm added an extra interest. The snow slightly limited our options for walking but we had a great time. Highly recommended, especially as a centre for walking.

Date of stay: December 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dfcgilber...
1 review
“Superb Holiday”
Reviewed November 1, 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Where to start? We spent 8 days here during 1/2 term with our two young girls (5 &3). The cottage is so well equiped and beautifully decorated/furnished in a modern style.

The location is ideal to reach all that you would want to see and do in the peak district. We visited Dovedale, Bakewell, Chatsworth, the Derwent resevoir as well as Alton Towers during our week.

The farm experience has been the highlight of our week for the girls who have learnt so much about the animals. The hosts Neil and Dorota are so welcoming and very helpful during our stay and the meat from the farm is second to none.

When we return to the Peak District we will definately be returning to stay here.

Date of stay: October 2014
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sam E
Kettering
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
Reviewed October 8, 2014 for a stay in September 2014

This really was a hidden gem for my mum and I, such a relaxing place to spend a long weekend, walking and seeing Chatsworth House which was great. The little villages are lovely and the scenery is wonderful. A real getaway and great for couples, walkers and families, there is something for everyone.
The accommodation is perfect and beautifully done. They have thought of everything, little touches really make a difference, and the beds are comfy. You have everything you need in the kitchen and it is modern yet has that lovely cottage feel.
The owners are so friendly and nothing is too much trouble. Their meat is delicious and we had fresh eggs for breakfast from their chickens, plus scrummy honey too.
Staying on a working farm was great and they were all too happy to show us around and meet the animals which just adds to the wonderful experience of being out in the country.
I can't praise them enough and will definitely be returning. Worth a visit.

Date of stay: September 2014
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing