We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Old Manse Guesthouse
Nearby Hotels
$64
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$93
$88
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$139
$125
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$151
$147
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$85
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
No availability for your dates from our partners
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (177)
Filter reviews
177 results
Traveler rating
143
29
4
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
143
29
4
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsexcellent breakfastb bguest housereal milkquiet streetfull englishelectric carbuses stoppretty steep hillfriendly and helpful ownersmarket placeopera housefresh milkshort walksewing kittop floorvisiting buxton
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
143 - 148 of 177 reviews
Reviewed October 21, 2012

A perfectly nice guesthouse in easy walking distance of the centre of Buxton, and a stone's throw from the heart of the Peaks. Run by a lovely and endearing couple, who make every effort to serve you well. The breakfasts are hearty and healthy.
The booking process was smooth, check out seamless. Our room was more than large enough for us and a travel cot, well maintained, clean and comfortable.
My only caveat would be that not all (if any) of the rooms have a bathtub. This may not be an issue for everyone, but infants don't do so well in showers!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank randjrf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Buxton's glory has faded a little (especially while the criminally-neglected Crescent undergoes repair) and much of the character has been replaced by chain pubs, identikit high street shops and hideous concrete block street furniture (what were the council thinking?) But prices for food/drink and accommodation haven't fallen to match that. It is nigh-on impossible to get a room anywhere for a single night at the weekend, so we ended up staying two. That said, the Old Manse had everything we needed - a warm welcome, comfortable rooms and an excellent breakfast. It's based at the top of the hill, near the Market Place, a short (but steep) walk to and from the town centre where the Opera House is. I would perhaps argue that it's a little expensive for what's essentially a B&B, especially with the two-night minimum (we paid £70 a night) but then the same applies to many establishments in the area. If you're staying in Buxton, you could do a lot worse.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HonestJohnA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

From booking to checking out everything was handled in a friendly and efficient manner. The room was very cosy - enormous beds with cuddly duvets. The breakfast selections were varied and very tasty - the full English cooked breakfast sustained us until teatime. The guesthouse, a beautiful example of Victorian home and furnishings, is located within a short walking distance from the centre of Buxton with its shops, park and of course The Opera House, as well as the Market Square where you can find more shops and some quirky little eateries worth stopping in at.
All in all, our stay was extremely comfortable because it really did tick all the boxes.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jane_roesel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2012

Stayed for two nights while visiting Buxton. The owners were very welcoming and friendly, and the room was perfect. The house is in easy walking distance to the centre of the town. Comfortable bed, no traffic noise. Delicious breakfast.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Greg P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

The owners are kind and welcoming.
This guesthouse is absolutely immaculate, exceptionally clean and ones needs, as a guest, have been thoughtfully considered, the decor is, however, very 'dated'.
Breakfast was excellent with a fine choice of menu.
However my stay was spoilt by the extremely uncomfortable mattress on my bed, I found it difficult to sleep as it was like laying on a 'plank'!

Room Tip: Ask for a comfortable bed!
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicki N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews