We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (47)
Filter reviews
47 results
Traveler rating
46
1
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
46
1
0
0
0
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 47 reviews
Reviewed May 3, 2016 via mobile

Warm welcome and great base for what we wanted to do - cycling, walking and tea shops and village pubs. Everything clean and tidy. Well cooked breakfast with nice touches of fresh fruit, cheeses, fruit bread, and marinated fruit too. Lots of information and little extras like books, guides, games, torch, dvds, and even spectacles. Bedrooms are very comfortable with quirkiness to match the history of the place - old blacksmiths shop, farm and inn. B&B is located within 400metres of two car free cycle routes. And several decent village pubs for evening meals within 3 or 4 miles. Lynn and Gary are good hosts offering friendly advice and even somewhere dry to store our push bikes.

Stayed: May 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank marksue2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2016

The owners of this establishment Lynn and Gary made us feel right at home. They were truly interested in where we had been so far on our trip and where we were heading to next. We stayed for two nights and loved every minute of our experience. The rooms are full of character, very clean and comfortable. They gave us information on where to go visit and where to eat dinner in the local area, which was a great little pub just a few minutes down the road from them. Breakfast was delicious and it is served in the Old Smithy. I highly recommend anyone to stay there.

  • Stayed: August 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sandra R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2015

We have stayed at the Smithy many times now and it never fails to be anything short of perfect. The rooms are spacious, full of character and beautifully furnished and the Smithy itself provides an interesting and atmospheric breakfast room where you are provided with an excellent tasty and really well presented breakfast. Gary and Lynn are the most lovely welcoming hosts who really work hard to ensure you enjoy your stay.

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent - some have baths some have showers so ask if you have a preference.
  • Stayed: October 2015, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Heather H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2015

This was our second stay at The Smithy and it remains as one of my favourite places to visit. The location is extremely peaceful and quiet, with beautiful views in every direction. The rooms are charming, comfy and always spotless as well as having little added touches making it all the more inviting and enjoyable. Breakfast is delicious and fresh with a lovely variety. The hosts Lynn and Gary are super friendly, warm and welcoming and make you feel right at home. They go the extra mile to help out and make your stay special. Would definitely recommend and will hopefully be back soon! Thank you for a lovely holiday.

  • Stayed: September 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jade D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2015

Ideal location for those looking to get away from it all. The accommodation is superb. Clean and well presented with those little extras that make all the difference.
The Smithy holds that rustic charm typical of the Derbyshire Peaks but Lynn & Gary just take it that bit further with their personal touch on it all.
The breakfast room IS the old Smithy complete with open furnace (now restored as a show piece) and the charm is not lost on you when you eat. The food is fresh, plentiful excellent and varied to give the guest a bit of everything to start the day.....
Having stayed in numerous B&Bs over the years we rate this as No. 1 (in our top 5)
We will definitely be going back.....

Room Tip: There are 4 x double bed rooms (all with en suite. Towels etc provided)
  • Stayed: September 2015, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteveRust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews