We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Perfect B&B”
Review of 9 Green Lane

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
9 Green Lane
Ranked #10 of 39 Buxton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Perfect B&B”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We spent 6 nights in this elegant and spacious house in a very convenient location near to everything wonderful Buxton has to offer. We were warmly greeted and superbly cared for by our hosts, husband and wife team Caroline and Rupert, who think of all the little extras that make a difference. Their breakfasts are simply scrumptious, with locally sourced ingredients, including home-made bread, jams and marmalades. We were in Buxton for an annual convention and are trying to persuade the organisers to return here in future years! Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Room 8 is a good size double with walk-in shower and separate toilet
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harold S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    148
    25
    1
    5
    0
See reviews for
9
92
23
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Groton, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Deciding between Caroline's homemade dark orange marmalade or her ginger rubarb jam was the greatest challenge to our 2 night stay at 9 Green Lane. It is kept in impeccable condition by Rupert and Caroline and cheerfully so. While in town for the G&S festival which moves to Harrogate next year, I cannot imagine a trip to England without a stop in this Spa town. The golden stone architecture and pavillion at the Opera house overlooking the gardens that would remind Bostonians of the Public Gardens, complete with ducklings is lovely and all walkable from the B&B. Just wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver,WA
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2013

I stayed for 5 nights in Room 5 at the end of June 2013. This room was a (typically) very small single room, so not for the claustrophobic. However, the room was clean and comfortable, the single bed was very comfortable, and the bath and shower were nearly brand-new. This B&B is on a very quiet side street, only a short walk from Market Place, where there are numerous buses to various points of interest in Derbyshire. (You can walk to this B&B with luggage from Market Place, but it is much more challenging to walk to the B&B with luggage from the rail station, especially since the first half of your walk is uphill.) The hosts are friendly and helpful, and the breakfast was excellent. There is excellent WIFI coverage in the rooms. For Americans, this B&B readily accepted VISA (a rarity in UK B&Bs, in my experience). As with most B&Bs, I would recommend rooms on the top level (for noise mitigation). No downsides for me; I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gswVancouver_WA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 15, 2013

I stay here whenever I go to Buxton. It is ideally situated in a very quiet, leafy road 10 minutes walk from the town centre. It is spotless and beautifully furnished and the rooms well equipped. The breakfasts are excellent and I particularly recommend the varied selection of home cooked preserves. I cannot recommend 9 Green Lane highly enough.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BlueWammer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

I had booked a single but was upgraded to a double at no extra cost which was great. Lovely house in an ideal location, near centre but quiet. The hosts where very friendly and helpful and the breakfast, including home-made jams and bread was very good.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Geordiewoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
merseyside
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Just returned home from a stay at 9 Green Lane.
I can't fault this place at all. Lovely hosts, friendly and informative. Very comfy beds and spacious rooms. Bathrooms so clean they sparkled! Very tasty breakfast with lots of choice.They even have a lovely friendly cat!
If I am going to stay in Buxton again I will definitely stay here.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lozzer100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2013

We stayed here on a weekend break and after a thoroughly enjoyable stay we'd recommend this place highly.

Friendly, welcoming hosts, superior rooms and one of the finest breakfasts we've ever had (home made bread, a selection of jams and a fantastic range of veggie options) all make 9 Green Lane one of the finest B&Bs we've ever stayed in!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gdylan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buxton hotels
0.7 mi away
Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Old Hall Hotel
The Old Hall Hotel
#3 of 9 in Buxton
1,055 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#6 of 9 in Buxton
2,666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Westminster Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Queen's Head Hotel
The Queen's Head Hotel
#8 of 39 in Buxton
169 reviews
0.0 mi away
Griff House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 9 Green Lane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 9 Green Lane

Property: 9 Green Lane
Address: 9 Green Lane, Buxton SK17 9DP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Buxton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Buxton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — 9 Green Lane 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Victorian house is a Four Star Silver award winning Bed and Breakfast in Buxton. All rooms are fully en-suite and some rooms are on the ground floor. We are a short walk from Buxton town centre and local restaurants. We have ample free parking for guests in our own private car park, a real bonus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your 9 Green Lane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing