We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Impeccable” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of 9 Green Lane

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
9 Green Lane
Ranked #10 of 40 Buxton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Groton, Connecticut
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Impeccable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

Deciding between Caroline's homemade dark orange marmalade or her ginger rubarb jam was the greatest challenge to our 2 night stay at 9 Green Lane. It is kept in impeccable condition by Rupert and Caroline and cheerfully so. While in town for the G&S festival which moves to Harrogate next year, I cannot imagine a trip to England without a stop in this Spa town. The golden stone architecture and pavillion at the Opera house overlooking the gardens that would remind Bostonians of the Public Gardens, complete with ducklings is lovely and all walkable from the B&B. Just wish we could have stayed longer.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    24
    1
    4
    0
See reviews for
8
90
23
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver,WA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

I stayed for 5 nights in Room 5 at the end of June 2013. This room was a (typically) very small single room, so not for the claustrophobic. However, the room was clean and comfortable, the single bed was very comfortable, and the bath and shower were nearly brand-new. This B&B is on a very quiet side street, only a short walk from Market Place, where there are numerous buses to various points of interest in Derbyshire. (You can walk to this B&B with luggage from Market Place, but it is much more challenging to walk to the B&B with luggage from the rail station, especially since the first half of your walk is uphill.) The hosts are friendly and helpful, and the breakfast was excellent. There is excellent WIFI coverage in the rooms. For Americans, this B&B readily accepted VISA (a rarity in UK B&Bs, in my experience). As with most B&Bs, I would recommend rooms on the top level (for noise mitigation). No downsides for me; I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gswVancouver_WA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

I stay here whenever I go to Buxton. It is ideally situated in a very quiet, leafy road 10 minutes walk from the town centre. It is spotless and beautifully furnished and the rooms well equipped. The breakfasts are excellent and I particularly recommend the varied selection of home cooked preserves. I cannot recommend 9 Green Lane highly enough.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BlueWammer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

I had booked a single but was upgraded to a double at no extra cost which was great. Lovely house in an ideal location, near centre but quiet. The hosts where very friendly and helpful and the breakfast, including home-made jams and bread was very good.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Geordiewoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
merseyside
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

Just returned home from a stay at 9 Green Lane.
I can't fault this place at all. Lovely hosts, friendly and informative. Very comfy beds and spacious rooms. Bathrooms so clean they sparkled! Very tasty breakfast with lots of choice.They even have a lovely friendly cat!
If I am going to stay in Buxton again I will definitely stay here.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lozzer100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013

We stayed here on a weekend break and after a thoroughly enjoyable stay we'd recommend this place highly.

Friendly, welcoming hosts, superior rooms and one of the finest breakfasts we've ever had (home made bread, a selection of jams and a fantastic range of veggie options) all make 9 Green Lane one of the finest B&Bs we've ever stayed in!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gdylan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

Really excellent bed and breakfast, and I'm extremely fussy about these things. The hosts must be used to staying in good hotels as they have tried really hard to provide all the little extras you would find in a luxury hotel. They are very helpful, but not overly intrusive. The place is completely spotless (completely!). I have no idea how you can get a glass shower screen so clean, it's a mystery to me. The bedding and toiletries are very good quality. The cooked breakfast was delicious. Very grateful to get decent vegetarian sausages. All served quickly and efficiently. The single room is very small, but it doesn't really matter if you expect to be out most of the day. It is 'perfectly formed' and has everything you need so it is still very cosy and comfortable. The only remotely negative thing is that the toilet had a 'lazy' flush but it didn't really matter. Also one mile away from Poole Cavern and the start of a walking path up to Soloman's Temple. I unexpectedly found myself hiking up to an awesome viewpoint over buxton, when I thought I was only out for an evening stroll. Would recommend without reservation.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Reviewer1007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buxton hotels
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Buxton Hotel
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
0.4 mi away
Old Hall
Old Hall
#3 of 9 in Buxton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#6 of 9 in Buxton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,415 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Westminster Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Queen's Head Hotel
The Queen's Head Hotel
#5 of 40 in Buxton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 9 Green Lane? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 9 Green Lane

Property: 9 Green Lane
Address: 9 Green Lane, Buxton SK17 9DP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Buxton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Buxton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — 9 Green Lane 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Victorian house is a Four Star Silver award winning Bed and Breakfast in Buxton. All rooms are fully en-suite and some rooms are on the ground floor. We are a short walk from Buxton town centre and local restaurants. We have ample free parking for guests in our own private car park, a real bonus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your 9 Green Lane reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing