We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If Carlsberg did B&B's.......”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Barms Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Buxton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Barms Farm
Ranked #9 of 40 Buxton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Warrington, Cheshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“If Carlsberg did B&B's.......”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

....... then they would resemble Barms Farm. Certainly the best of it's type I've ever stayed at. Attention to detail is outstanding. I would struggle to make a suggestion as to how it could be improved. Cleanliness and facilities are first class. Bed (in room 2) was wonderfully comfortable. View out the window of the Derbyshire Hills was lovely particularly when the sun shines. Breakfast was very tasty and filling and there's a wide variety to choose from. Lorraine is welcoming and friendly and makes every effort to make your stay enjoyable and relaxing. If you're thinking of visiting the Peak District (a wonderful part of the country) then this is THE place to stay. Just hope there's a room available next time we need some rural R&R!

Room Tip: Only ever stayed in Room 2. Hard to believe the others could be any better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tnh99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    212
    5
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
169
3
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

This has to be the best place to stay around Buxton, Modern comfortable room, floodlit parking, spotlessly clean and comfortable, and great tasting breakfast. The hostess most friendly but leaves you to your own devices, unintrusive. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
199 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012 via mobile

The first stop on a trip around the UK with our parents. Barms Farm was a perfect stay, lovely rooms, a warm welcome and excellent breakfast. Buxton is well located to access to the Peak District although the town isn't great. The rooms were warm and tastefully appointed, quiet and had everything we needed. Highly recommended.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Andrew_Kellie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

Just come back from spending 3 nights at Barms Farm. Wonderful homely atmosphere and Lorraine is very friendly, providing very clean and comfortable accommodation and nothing is too much trouble. Wonderful views over hills from Room 2 (ask for that room...) and huge breakfasts. Would definitely stay there again

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angela b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

Very welcoming, absolutely no complaints, would love to return here.

Delicious breakfasts, plenty of hot water, great local knowledge and recommendations.

Beautiful surroundings and countryside.

Lorraine is a superb host and deserves much success.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EllenMorris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Level Contributor
76 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2012

I stayed at Barms Farm this last weekend. Its the best accomodation in Buxton in my opinion.

Lorriane is an excellent host and the whole house is immaculate. The service Lorriane provides is outstanding, she is a discrete and helpful host. An excellent balance.

The room was lovely, the bed was superbly comfortable, lovely linen sheets and quality bedding. Full facilities in the room, nice big wardrobe, hairdryer, dressing table, flat screen tv, alarm clock. Lot of lovely hot water. And best of all absolutely no noise. Wonderful peaceful location. I slept like a log!

Each day Lorriane cooked up a lovely hot breakfast. You have a full menu to choose from and in addition there is lovely fresh orgnge juice, a big dish of fresh fruit and hot toast. She makes you a lovely big pot of tea or coffee. There are lovely fresh flowers in the dining room and the facilities in here are excellent.

In addition there is a lovely big lounge, with plenty of comfy seating and magazines. With a wood burning stove which I imagine would be perfect in winter. And outside table and seating area overlooking a lovely pond with water lilies.

For those keen on golf there is a driving range on the doorstep and a full 18 hole golf course.

I got a taxi into the centre of town which is only 5 minutes away. It cost me £5 each trip which was reasonable.

This B&B is not suitable for anyone with a physical disability because its a lovely quirky old farmhouse with the bedrooms upstairs.

I am definately coming back for a couples weekend in the winter to experience that lovely wood burning stove.

Room Tip: My room had a bath only, ask for a shower if you prefer that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank boleynbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2012

Booked Barms farm as a result of good trip advisor comments and we were not disappointed.
The warmth of welcome , immaculate rooms and delicious breakfasts made our short stay thoroughly enjoyable. We will definitely go back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buxton hotels
1.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
1.5 mi away
Premier Inn Buxton Hotel
1.1 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#6 of 9 in Buxton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,504 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Westminster Hotel
1.2 mi away
Old Hall
Old Hall
#3 of 9 in Buxton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,001 reviews
1.5 mi away
Griff House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Barms Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barms Farm

Property: Barms Farm
Address: Barms Farm 6 Off A North | Fairfield, Buxton SK17 7HW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Buxton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Buxton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury farmhouse b&b situated one mile north of Buxton. Two well equipped double rooms with five foot wide beds and pristine en-suite facilities both with double ended baths and corner shower cubicle, large guest lounge, dining room and separate guest entrance. Open views over surrounding farmland and golf course. Private illuminated car park within landscaped grounds with pergola and sitting area overlooking large fish pond and the Derbyshire hills. Free wi-fi available. Sorry no pets. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Barms Farm Hotel Buxton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing