We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An excellent place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Roseleigh

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Buxton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Roseleigh
Ranked #2 of 40 Buxton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“An excellent place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with a group of friends for a weekend in Buxton. The hotel is very comfortable, clean and welcoming. The staff were friendly and attentive. The breakfast was very good. Overall, I thoroughly enjoyed the stay and would stay again if I visited Buxton again.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GFDI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    334
    48
    9
    1
    1
See reviews for
38
233
24
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sevenoaks
Level Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 28, 2013

We stayed at Roseleigh as part of a group for 3 nights in April.Our bedroom was excellent with a lovely view over the park and pond with a traffic free walk so that the nights were quiet.The breakfast was good with a 'Full English' on the menu along with porridge and cereals as an alternative or indeed with the cooked breakfast as well as the usual juices, toast and tea/coffee.
The hotel is a convenient walking distance to the town centre of Buxton with various restaurant options.Also the Buxton Opera House is in the town centre and puts on plays and musicals to a high standard.
It should be pointed out that Roseleigh is a B&B and has no bar or restaurant.
The owners are very helpful and are happy to book tables at the various eateries and give good advice on the local amenities.
My wife and I enjoyed our stay and would certainly stay again.
Well recommended.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a view of the park if possible.There are non en-suite rooms with shared bathrooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

Stayed a while back & have been meaning to write this review for ages!! Was having a couple of days away with friends & wish I was going back to the Roseleigh again tomorrow. Can't recommend it highly enough, the rooms were lovely (had a peek at several others of friends in the group), in fact I was so relaxed in the room that I wouldn't have minded if we weren't going out! Buxton lovely, hadn't visited before but now want to fulfil two dreams in one, going back & staying in one of the rooms with bay window at the front, overlooking the park, curling up in one of the armchairs with a good book & just being cosy plus being able to stay a little longer so that I have chance to explore more of Buxton. Can only agree with other reviews, soooo comfortable beds, everything spotlessly clean, great hosts, loved the signature breakfast cereal.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PONTEFRACT
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

3rd stay in Buxton, over the last couple of years and this is the best hotel we have stayed in by far. Perfect location, overlooking the Pavillion Gardens/Lake. The bed was amazing, most comfortable bed I've ever slept in and actually enquired about the mattress. I am now going to purchase one!!
The owners are very welcoming and well informed of the areas around and only too pleased to give you any help or advice.
Lovely breakfast and the place is spotless clean.
We will definitely be going back soon.

Julie and Dave from Yorkshire

Room Tip: A lakeside view would be a bonus, our room didn't have this view but was still lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DAVEPontefract
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Level Contributor
78 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

I stayed at the Roseleigh this weekend, as I was attending a wedding... what a lovely little find. My room, was a perfect little single room with a large bathroom a few steps away. The view over the duck pond was lovely and I was woken both mornings by the ducks :-) The breakfast was delicious and the service was impeccable... really friendly and welcoming. I'll definitely make a point of visiting again!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happylittleexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Creweunited Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

the wife and i stayed at the roseleigh for the chess weekend 15-17 march which i hasten to add i won the section i was in, so i was a happy bunny.
On arrival at this lovely hotel we had a really warm welcome from gerard, one of the owners. He was really helpful with getting me my bairings as to where we were and where i was playing.
The room we booked was overlooking the park, room number 4,It was a superb room really clean and spacious i could have sold our house and moved in we had everything we needed and the bed was soooooooooo comfy.
The breakfast was superb loads of choice not just your typical full english.
The staff were really friendly and nothing was too much trouble . a superb place a must for anyone visiting Buxton .
A big thankyou for making us feel at home and a massive thankyou to one of the staff who waved like mad at me as i walked past the hotel ,only i could do something like that ,once i am out of the door i need a sat nav !!
The wife and i highly recommend this hotel, we shall be back and not just for the chess congress

Room Tip: number 4 overlooking the park
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank beemermanCrewe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013

I stayed here on Saturday the 23rd and can truly say myself and my girlfriend loved the roseleigh very much! The lovely owners Gerard and Maggi and very welcoming and so helpful, especially with information on Buxton and very interesting history! Managed to take many nice photos, had a fantastic room (no. 6) very great price for everything we got in a fantastic and high standard of room! beats any hotel I have stayed in! breakfast was first class, staff extremely friendly and helpful. we will be returning soon and will make the roseleigh our place of choice to stay in Buxton.

Massive thank you to Gerard for his help on Saturday.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chris d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buxton hotels
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Buxton Hotel
0.3 mi away
Old Hall
Old Hall
#3 of 9 in Buxton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#6 of 9 in Buxton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,500 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Westminster Hotel
0.2 mi away
Griff House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roseleigh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roseleigh

Property: Roseleigh
Address: 19 Broad Walk, Buxton SK17 6JR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Buxton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Buxton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Roseleigh 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Roseleigh is a comfortable and elegant Victorian Town House, centrally located in Buxton overlooking the Pavilion Gardens. Built in 1871 it is situated on Broad Walk a peaceful pedestrianised Victorian promenade. Installed in February 2015 - Ruckus Wireless System - complete coverage in all bedrooms and public areas - provided free of charge. A short walk will take you to the centre of Buxton. Quality furnishings and period decor enhance the many original features in the house. The Roseleigh is completely non-smoking, provides a private car park for up to ten cars and caters for different dietary requirements. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Roseleigh Hotel Buxton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing