We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Winter break at the Roseleigh”
Review of Roseleigh

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Buxton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Roseleigh
Ranked #2 of 39 Buxton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 24, 2013

Because of the snow fall, some 10 inches on the hills we were pleased to have opted for somewhere in the town centre with main attractions just walking distance away. A variety of restaurants and pubs on the doorstep as well as the Opera House, pavillion and the dome. Our view overlooking the lake meant we didn't have to move from the bay window to enjoy the wonderful scenery although we were debating as to whether it was a lake or a pond - whichever way the gaggles of geese were entertaining and fun to feed with corn from the local pet shop. The hosts were accommodating and enthusiastic about the local area and sign posted us to some local walks which we enjoyed very much. The highlight for us was the music night on a Tues at the Sun Inn where local musicians met to strum together providing some powerful musical entertainment - The only thing we missed was a nice log fire!

Room Tip: Ask for Lake view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank huntSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (435)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

329 - 335 of 435 reviews

Reviewed February 21, 2013

I researched a lot of Buxton hotels and B&Bs before choosing this one. It's not a cheap town to stay in, so Roseleigh represents good value. Our room was spacious, warm and comfortable, as well as clean and nicely decorated. The breakfast was delicious, and full marks for providing a hot vegetarian breakfast option. The views from the B&B are fabulous, and there's free parking on the property too. The location is just a short walk from the centre of town. The owners and staff were all very pleasant and helpful - I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sometimesong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2013

Our aim was to find a good value B&B in a town. We wanted to easily get out to a pub for food in the evening, but hopefully also find a place to stay which felt like we were away from the business of an urban area. The Roseleigh certainly met all of our expectations! Buxton is a beautiful town, with plenty of places to eat and things to do. We were really glad that we paid the extra for the lake view room and although we only stayed one night the snowy scene over the lake in the morning was superb! Breakfast was lovely, the room really comfortable and the attention to detail in every respect was great. It was so nice to stay in a family run guesthouse and I will be reccomending the Roseleigh to anyone visiting the Peak District. Thank you!

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HuntyCheltenham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2013

I visit Buxton frequently, five or six times each year. I discovered Roseleigh early on and found perfection... The proprietors , Maggi and Gerard, are warm, gracious and informative and their well-chosen staff obviously enjoy working here (well who wouldn't ...). Roseleigh is immaculate, the bedrooms delightful, the breakfasts abundant and of great variety. and the location is wonderful, overlooking as it does the Pavilion Gardens lake and wildlife, and only a short walk away from the Opera House, the town itself, and accessibility to the most beautiful (subjectively speaking of course) county in England, namely Derbyshire.

It's always a wrench to leave, but I carry with me the comfort that It won't be long before I return.

Room Tip: All are greatly to be commended; the icing on the cake, for me, would be one overlooking the Pavilio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gillian r r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Couldnt have picked a nicer place to stay at Buxton. Gorgeous, spacious room, lovely bay window with lovely wingback chairs to enjoy the view. Antique furniture added to the charm. Breakfast was superb, Little bit of a problem with the toilet not flushing, we made do. We informed the owners on departure. Easy walk to the centre of town. Parking ok, a bit tight.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank baby-shmee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

I have been part of a group using this guesthouse for over 10 years. In short it is always excellent, charming character rooms, helpful proprietors, good breakfast, an all round quality experience.
Situated very close to town centre overlooking Pavilion Gardens.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank eddy_hh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RoseleighHotel, Owner at Roseleigh, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2013

Dear Eddy_HH and friends

Many thanks to you and all your friends who visit us every January to have your annual walking break.

We always look forward to your group arriving and it has been our pleasure to welcome all of you to Buxton over the past twelve years.

When you first arrived our children were aged 5 and 2. Now our son at 17 is helping us part time with serving in the dining room (whilst he completes his A Levels).

We look forward to seeing you all next year.

Gerard, Maggi, Teague and Sorcha.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2012

Genuinely the most comfortable beds ever! Peaceful atmosphere. Owners are conscientious and go out of their way to make your stay in this beautiful place as enjoyable as possible. Great views from the front rooms. Most definitely recommended.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buxton hotels
0.5 mi away
Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
0.3 mi away
The Old Hall Hotel
The Old Hall Hotel
#3 of 9 in Buxton
1,155 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#6 of 9 in Buxton
2,868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Westminster Hotel
0.2 mi away
Buckingham Hotel
Buckingham Hotel
#7 of 9 in Buxton
577 reviews
0.2 mi away
Griff House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roseleigh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roseleigh

Address: 19 Broad Walk, Buxton SK17 6JR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Buxton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Buxton
Price Range: $54 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Roseleigh 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Roseleigh is a comfortable and elegant Victorian Town House, centrally located in Buxton overlooking the Pavilion Gardens. Built in 1871 it is situated on Broad Walk a peaceful pedestrianised Victorian promenade. Installed in February 2015 - Ruckus Wireless System - complete coverage in all bedrooms and public areas - provided free of charge. A short walk will take you to the centre of Buxton. Quality furnishings and period decor enhance the many original features in the house. The Roseleigh is completely non-smoking, provides a private car park for up to ten cars and caters for different dietary requirements. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Roseleigh Hotel Buxton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing