We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Consistently Excellent Year on Year”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Roseleigh

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Buxton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Roseleigh
Ranked #2 of 40 Buxton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Abingdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“Consistently Excellent Year on Year”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2012

A week this month (July) at the Roseleigh was excellent in every respect. We can recommend it without reservation, and this has been our experience year on year. If one thing were to be highlighted above all others, it would be the quality of the personal attention all the guests receive from Gerard and Maggi, which is never intrusive but always tactfully and helpfully in place, whether you've been going for years, or this is your first stay.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank em_newton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    334
    48
    9
    1
    1
See reviews for
38
233
24
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

During the Festival in Buxton it is not easy to find accommodation and we considered ourselves fortunate to find a B & B that would be prepared to accomodate us for a single night. Sadly, it was only for one night since, contrary to the experience of some of the foregoing reviews, we had a room which was very quiet and very comfortable. The good armchairs with which the room was furnished are preferable to upright chairs so often found in similar establishments. We were able to sit comfortably to enjoy our night time drink.
The breakfast was excellent, the price modest and we will certainly return.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2012 via mobile

I have to agree entirely with the previous review. The guest house is in a lovely position, with great views over the lake. However the rooms were noisy - from people, taps, toilet. The beds were very comfortable, but the mattress toppers made them hot for us - not a problem if the room is cool so we opened the window. The youth of Buxton were in the park, right outside, until 3am on one night, and weren't quiet. Not the hotels fault, but unfortunate for us. After our 3-nights away we were exhausted!
So overall, a good place to stay if you can sleep through unfamiliar noise. The service and breakfasts are good and the staff friendly.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Outoffive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Roseleigh, responded to this review, July 8, 2012
Thank you for your positive comments on comfortable beds, service, breakfast, and staff

We have been established for 14 years owning and operating the Roseleigh, and we feel that the comment upon “noise” is out of context with our experience, and the majority of our clients. We have a very high repeat rate of clients staying with us, which hopefully goes someway to providing us with customer feedback.

With regards the building , it was constructed in 1871 , and yes it is true – we do not hide the fact - that it is possible that sometimes you will hear something , however that is integral to any property such as this. Given that the majority of buildings within Buxton are of a historic nature and also Chatsworth House nearby, it is something likely to be experienced in general when visiting properties such as these.

The main consensus of feedback is that our clients fully appreciate and understand the nature of such a historic building and all that goes with it.

With regards the one night where there happened to be some people in the park – why did you not contact us – and I would personally have addressed the situation immediately, all we ask is that ( as with any accommodation provider) you communicate with us personally and provide us with the opportunity to resolve the situation.

Gerard (& Maggi)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2012

This was a great hotel/guest house, with an excellent room, breakfast, service and location. The building was lovely, and situated right on the promenade within easy walking distance of everything in Buxton. The owner was really welcoming and helpful, and gave us a brilliant introduction to Buxton's history. The service and food at breakfast was brilliant and the room was lovely, comfortable yet grand, with a retro twist.
The only negative thing with the hotel is that I had one of the worst nights sleep of my life because of the noise from other guests. It can't be avoided as the building is quite old and we stayed on a weekend - so people are bound to be coming or going all night. It was really unfortunate as everything else was perfect, but virtually every step from other guests was audible, as were doors, floorboards, toilets, taps, pipes, sneezes, etc, etc.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SCLDN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Roseleigh, responded to this review, June 28, 2012
Firstly many thanks for all your positive comments with regards the Roseleigh Guest House and “an excellent room, breakfast, service, location and brilliant introduction to Buxton’s history” – it is very much appreciated.

Maggi and I are both sorry to hear that your sleep pattern was not as you would have wanted, due to the historic nature of the building which was built in 1871 and is a Grade 2 listed status heritage building within Buxton.

Buildings of this history by their very nature will have certain aspects such as floorboards which may creak (but not continuously). With regards doors opening and closing - this is integral to any building/accommodation provider – however the duration of a door opening or closing is a couple of seconds if that. We do not have people “coming and going throughout” the night. The majority of our clients tend to be in their rooms from 2200-2300 or earlier, whilst there may be a couple of people who come back a little bit later – but very rare that they disturb other guests, we also live at the Roseleigh – we are always around and can vouch for this.

The majority of our clients are either repeat (which is wonderful to see so many friends and characters returning to stay with us) - or referrals – hopefully this conveys that most clients have a very positive experience at the Roseleigh.

It is more often the case that we have clients say it is the best night’s sleep they have ever had (enhanced by the introduction of a complete renewal of all mattresses throughout the Roseleigh Guest House, and this has also been commented in various reviews and also personal feedback).

We frequently have comments to the effect that we are in such a peaceful location – overlooking the Pavilion Gardens and the lake – that clients have experienced, calm and positivity during their stay. Also the reviews on Trip Advisor in themselves generally reflect an overall very high satisfaction ratio.

However we also fully appreciate and respect that every individual has their own perspective and experience to which they have a right to express their opinion.

With best regards Gerard & Maggi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, IN
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2012

I chose Buxton and Roseleigh for its central Peak District location and was rewarded with a great stay in a lovely town. My wife and I had a room on the first floor (2nd floor for Americans) facing the pedestrian-only Broad Walk and park. Even though we had just come in on the overnight trans-Atlantic flight our room was ready for us. Maggie, the owner, was very knowledgeable about the attractions of the Peak District and there is also a wealth of material in the guest lounge if you need more. Very comfortable and large room with wing-back chairs facing the bay window to watch people passing by as it is a very popular way to go. Very short walk to the town centre. Comfortable bed which is not an easy thing for me to find. Excellent breakfast with flexibility of choices. Would definitely stay here again. When I had booked the room, there was some difficulty with our email exchange, but I actually had Maggie call me up (in the US) and confirm the reservation. Above and beyond the call.

Room Tip: Rooms are explained on their website as to number of people allowed per.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carbknapp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2012

Only stayed one night with my family but was reluctant to leave the next day! The guest house is in a lovely setting adjacent to the lake and park area, it is beautifully presented and very clean. It was an ideal locartion for attending a concert at the opera house, being less than 5 minutes walk away. The house is nicely furnished and has an excellent library/sitting room with a computer and internet access. The breakfast was excellent, plentiful and cooked to perfection and with plenty of choice. The best bit though was the amazingly comfortable bed!! It is the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in. Well can't say more really- apart from the warm welcome from the hosts! Would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lindamon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wokingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
260 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2012

the location is great we had a room with a view over the lake which was superb

the hosts and staff were very polite and offered great service - I looked forward to the breakfast each day - it was awesome

location is brilliant with short walk through the gardens to central buxton

Room Tip: front facing rooms offer great view of the lake with large bay windows :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martinfjlewis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buxton hotels
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Buxton Hotel
0.3 mi away
Old Hall
Old Hall
#3 of 9 in Buxton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,001 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#6 of 9 in Buxton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,504 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Westminster Hotel
0.2 mi away
Griff House Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roseleigh? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roseleigh

Property: Roseleigh
Address: 19 Broad Walk, Buxton SK17 6JR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Buxton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Buxton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Roseleigh 4*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Roseleigh is a comfortable and elegant Victorian Town House, centrally located in Buxton overlooking the Pavilion Gardens. Built in 1871 it is situated on Broad Walk a peaceful pedestrianised Victorian promenade. Installed in February 2015 - Ruckus Wireless System - complete coverage in all bedrooms and public areas - provided free of charge. A short walk will take you to the centre of Buxton. Quality furnishings and period decor enhance the many original features in the house. The Roseleigh is completely non-smoking, provides a private car park for up to ten cars and caters for different dietary requirements. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Roseleigh Hotel Buxton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing