We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Westminster Hotel
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Buxton
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

My wife and I spent two nights at the Westminster in October. Lovely location opposite the park. The rooms were clean and tidy. Breakfast was average and served starting at 8 AM, which is a little late if you want to get an early start.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkD1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    64
    102
    39
    10
    5
See reviews for
16
153
5
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We were staying at this Hotel for the first Time. We were very satisfied with all aspects. Our room was very Clean,Tidy and well appointed . Fresh Towels each day lots of Coffee & Tea making facilities. Down stairs there is a nice Lounge with pleasant views over the Big Park & Lake.. Breakfast was Great as much as we could eat . The Hotel is close to the Town and was able to leave our Car at the Hotel & Walk to the local attractions & main shopping area. The Hotel in comparrison to others we have stayed at is Very good Value for money and we intend to return here next spring.

Room Tip: Rooms at the Front of the Hotel overlook a Beautiful park but cost a little more
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2013

We had been treated by family to attend a concert at the Buxton opera house last weekend. We were fortunate enough to stay in a lake view room , which also overlooked the pavilion gardens. The room was spotless as was the rest of the hotel. Smallish ensuite bathroom but adequate . We were made very welcome on arrival and pointed in the right direction for the local attractions. The room was very nicely decorated and facilities of a good standard. Breakfast was a delightful experience as everybody dined together . Tables were for four or two people. We helped ourselves to juices , cereals , etc. but breakfast orders were waitress service, and what a wonderful breakfast it was. Eggs , bacon, sausage, mushrooms, beans, tomatoes, fried bread, toast , toast and more toast. Oh ! And my favourite , maybe not yours , Blackpudding. Brill. All in all , we had a great stay at this lovely friendly hotel. In easy walkin distance of all local amenities., and on the doorstep of the Opera house. I would not hesitate in recommending this hotel for your future visit and we will definitely return .

Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank happyl0t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
71 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2013

This hotel has a fantastic location overlooking a beautiful park and lake. But that is it's best attribute. It is just very average, and a bit run down. My husband said it lacked warmth. Compared to the other places we stayed on our 2 week trip it was disappointing.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mgnapoli1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quincy, Illinois
Level Contributor
162 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Stayed here one night in September very friendly lovely dog!!
The room was spacious and it came with a bath - excellent.
Breakfast was superb plenty to eat.
Easy to walk into the town.
Would recommend a stay here..

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 01Freckles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Stayed for three nights from the 23-8 13 to the 26-8 13.the good points are the hotel is in a great situation by the park. The rooms are very clean ,the beds are comfortable enough for a decent sleep.the breakfast is very good and can be varied.the bathrooms are small with a shower & toilet,though our shower door would not shut properly.the shower in our room was adequate,but our friends in the room across the hallway had very little shower pressure.we were on the top floor up three flights of stairs and there are no lifts so people need to be reasonably fit to stay on the top floor. A nice touch is an honesty bar in the lounge , you pour yourself a drink & write down what you've had. I would stay here again if the deal was right.the hotel owners we're away so we had stand in people looking after us and they were excellent, nothing was to much trouble for them

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eric h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 27, 2013

I stayed here on 17th to 19th August in room number 12 which was at the back. The hotel/B&B was fully booked and although we didn't have a front room with a view, we found the room to be clean and comfortable (tv was on the small side). I rated the sleep quality a little lower as the bed was not as soft as I would like (but thats probably just my preference)
The hotel has a nice friendly atmosphere and is well cared for. The dining room was lovely with nice table cloths and napkins. The breakfast was good and service was quick even though they were busy.
It is a short, pleasant waIk to the Pavilion gardens and opera house.
Good value and I would happily recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buxton
0.5 mi away
Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#6 of 9 in Buxton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,563 reviews
0.3 mi away
Old Hall
Old Hall
#3 of 9 in Buxton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,025 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Buxton Hotel
0.1 mi away
Alison Park Hotel
Alison Park Hotel
#4 of 9 in Buxton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 212 reviews
10.3 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westminster Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westminster Hotel

Property: The Westminster Hotel
Address: 21 Broad Walk, Buxton SK17 6JR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Buxton
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Buxton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westminster Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Westminster Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westminster Hotel Buxton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing