We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very, very average”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Westminster Hotel
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Buxton
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Very, very average”
Reviewed September 25, 2013

This hotel has a fantastic location overlooking a beautiful park and lake. But that is it's best attribute. It is just very average, and a bit run down. My husband said it lacked warmth. Compared to the other places we stayed on our 2 week trip it was disappointing.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mgnapoli1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    104
    42
    11
    5
See reviews for
17
160
5
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Quincy, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Stayed here one night in September very friendly lovely dog!!
The room was spacious and it came with a bath - excellent.
Breakfast was superb plenty to eat.
Easy to walk into the town.
Would recommend a stay here..

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 01Freckles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Stayed for three nights from the 23-8 13 to the 26-8 13.the good points are the hotel is in a great situation by the park. The rooms are very clean ,the beds are comfortable enough for a decent sleep.the breakfast is very good and can be varied.the bathrooms are small with a shower & toilet,though our shower door would not shut properly.the shower in our room was adequate,but our friends in the room across the hallway had very little shower pressure.we were on the top floor up three flights of stairs and there are no lifts so people need to be reasonably fit to stay on the top floor. A nice touch is an honesty bar in the lounge , you pour yourself a drink & write down what you've had. I would stay here again if the deal was right.the hotel owners we're away so we had stand in people looking after us and they were excellent, nothing was to much trouble for them

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eric h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 27, 2013

I stayed here on 17th to 19th August in room number 12 which was at the back. The hotel/B&B was fully booked and although we didn't have a front room with a view, we found the room to be clean and comfortable (tv was on the small side). I rated the sleep quality a little lower as the bed was not as soft as I would like (but thats probably just my preference)
The hotel has a nice friendly atmosphere and is well cared for. The dining room was lovely with nice table cloths and napkins. The breakfast was good and service was quick even though they were busy.
It is a short, pleasant waIk to the Pavilion gardens and opera house.
Good value and I would happily recommend.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochdale
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

If you want a simple bedroom with basic facilities and a good breakfast in homely surroundings then this hotel fits the bill.
Feels like you are staying in an elderly aunts house. Not a bad thing but not very professional
It was clean on the surface but bedroom and bathroom needed a proper good clean
I guess they know their market and cater to it and because Buxton was full due to the G&S festival then we had little choice..... but I would go back if all I wanted was a B&B or Guest House feel
There was no reception service and no bar or food facilities were offered ( apart from breakfast)

Room Tip: The park side has lovely views
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alison w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Belgium
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2013

This is a B&B with 12 rooms. Restricted time to have the breakfast so it is rather bizzy between 8 and 9.
The faboulus view is only when you have a room at the front. We did not...
The parking is small and be carefull : read the website very well to have the right address as you cannot drive to the hotel address.
This b@b is very well located and if the weather is fine, you can walk to the city centre for an evening meal.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marco B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Don't usually stay in independent hotels as they are an unknown quantity but really enjoyed my stay here. Absolutely spotless rooms, and I'm fussy! The location is perfect. Breakfast was great. Would recommend and stay again!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The_Touts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buxton hotels
0.5 mi away
Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#6 of 9 in Buxton
2,661 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Old Hall Hotel
The Old Hall Hotel
#3 of 9 in Buxton
1,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Buxton Hotel
0.1 mi away
Alison Park Hotel
Alison Park Hotel
#4 of 9 in Buxton
216 reviews
0.3 mi away
Buckingham Hotel
Buckingham Hotel
#7 of 9 in Buxton
555 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westminster Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westminster Hotel

Property: The Westminster Hotel
Address: 21 Broad Walk, Buxton SK17 6JR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Buxton
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Buxton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westminster Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Westminster Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westminster Hotel Buxton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing