We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly and relaxed in great location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Westminster Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Westminster Hotel
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Buxton
Certificate of Excellence
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
257 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Friendly and relaxed in great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

This is overlooking the park in Buxton, making it a great place to stay if you are going to Buxton Opera House. There is free parking for guests. The rooms are comfortable, especially the beds and the views over the park are fab. Our room appeared to have been recently decorated, and the windows seemed new too. Bathroom fine - an electric shower so not wonderful, but it did the job. Breakfast nice, with good choice within traditional limits.
It is important too remember that this is essentially a family run B and B, not a luxury hotel (as the price reflects). So there are no fancy tolietries, smoked salmon for breakfast, boutique rooms, or a concierge. Instead you get a friendly welcome, a great night's sleep, a good breakfast, all for less than £80. Very good.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Historrygrrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    100
    35
    10
    5
See reviews for
14
149
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2012

We stayed here for one night prior to picking up our car after repairs. The situation is very nice, overlooking the lake in the park, and we had a spacious, airy room with a view, which was also quiet. The breakfast was fine, although nothing special. The owner definitely went several extra miles in the morning, driving us to the garage on the edge of town and saving us a long trudge and bus journey in the pouring rain. How many hotels would do that for you?

Room Tip: Front rooms are quiet, as you overlook a pediestrian walk and the park, no traffic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank general_ludd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for one night as a late booking, had no idea of the area but photos looked fantastic and me and my collegue were looking forward to a luxury hotel stay. The room we were given was old, pretty poorly decorated, uncomfortable bedsand bathroom was small, cheap toilet rolls, rubbish kettle etc.

That said the lady that served us was very friendly and if we'd of had a front room the view may have been nice. Breakfast was very nice.

Wouldn't choose the go back but it was cheap and served a purpose (although so would of the car seat and a layby)

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EssexDave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2012

Had a lovely two night stay with my boyfriend (we are a couple in our 20s) room was lovely with character :) good breakfast with plenty of food, lovely hosts who went that little bit extra, buxton was a lovely little get away peaceful with plenty to do, we went for a nice walk in buxton country park and grin low forest and go ape!

would reccomend!

Room Tip: we had a room facing the front of the hotel with a lovely view of the lake!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Zobot05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury
Level Contributor
105 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2012

Stayed here for 1 night on a 2 day visit to Buxton. Friendly owner/attentive staff. Clean spacious room and bathroom overlooking the lake. Excellent position. Very good breakfast with plenty to choose from. Good value for money.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AngieShropshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2012

I was taken here for my anniversary, we were given a front room with a view of the lake, the room was very spacious and very comfy beds! Was in a beautiful area and the staff are very nice. The breakfast was nice (full English), I wasn't keen on the sausage, but the rest of it was nice. While visiting this hotel, I would recommend visiting the Buxton water fountain and the market place. Very nice and relaxing and would stay again.

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the lake are very nice to wake up too
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sammi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2012

We have just returned from Buxton and stayed for 2 nights at The Westminster Hotel. We had a large room overlooking the lake and it was really nice, very clean and fresh. It was warm and cosy with all the facilities you would expect from a good hotel these days, the bathroom was a very good size as well. All the staff were very pleasant and helpful. The full English breakfast was to die for, freshly cooked and very good indeed!
There is ample parking at the rear of the hotel included in the price, and to walk to the Pavillion or Buxton Opera House is well under 10 minutes.
All in all a very good hotel and we would recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 4 at the front of the hotel overlooking the lake, lovely!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeLaRue121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buxton
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
0.5 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#6 of 9 in Buxton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,414 reviews
0.3 mi away
Old Hall
Old Hall
#3 of 9 in Buxton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Premier Inn Buxton Hotel
0.1 mi away
Alison Park Hotel
Alison Park Hotel
#4 of 9 in Buxton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
10.3 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 7 in Bakewell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westminster Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westminster Hotel

Property: The Westminster Hotel
Address: 21 Broad Walk, Buxton SK17 6JR, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Buxton
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Buxton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Westminster Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Westminster Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Westminster Hotel Buxton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing