We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Alison Park Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$99
$97
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$99
$97
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$83
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
$83
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$71
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$111
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hollin Hall Hotel(Macclesfield)
$66
$64
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (254)
Filter reviews
254 results
Traveler rating
64
117
56
11
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
64
117
56
11
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgroupon dealevening mealtown centrepavilion gardenswet roomopera houselovely breaksmall hotelbackground musicpoole's caverndated decormeal timesrecommend this hotelvisiting buxtonminute walkroom was spaciousgo ape
Filter
Updating list...
205 - 210 of 254 reviews
Reviewed July 1, 2014

The location of the hotel is fantastic, very very quiet at night and great for having a sound sleep! Close enough to Buxton centre with a short walk through the beautiful Pavilion gardens.
The breakfast/dining room is very pleasant and the surrounding gardens are very well looked after however the accommodation is very very tired and felt a little bit dirty. The en suite in room 110 was in need of some loving care! The shower leaked out of the bottom of the sealed tray and therefore flooded the floor near the toilet. Fixtures and fittings were not on tight or straight (it only takes a little care and attention to put these simple things right).
The staff were lovely and I made a special request which they were very helpful with.
The breakfast was the nicest part of my stay...beautiful fresh produce and served in good time.
Overall I would stay here again if the rooms were updated and cleaned thoroughly.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sazzlebooth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sarawoj, Manager at Alison Park Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 8, 2014

Thank you for your kind comments. The shower in that room has undergone investigation and has been addressed.

We hope to welcome you to hotel again in the future

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2014

Just spent 4 nights, with a group of people, at the Alison Park Hotel in Buxton. It is a basic, but comfortable hotel, the room I shared with a friend was a twin with an en-suite with shower. Nothing fancy, but all that you needed. Tea and coffee making facilies provided and refreshed daily, small wall mounted tv.

The owners and staff are all very hard working and friendly too........the food, well all I can say is that it was really very good. We were offered a good dinner choice daily, several starters, mains and deserts; all presented beautifully.....delicious! Breakfast was equally as good, full English if you so wanted plus any combination of the usual cooked eggs etc. Plus cereals, fruit and plentiful coffee or tea.

It is very well situated for exploring, near to the beautiful Pavillion Gardens and a short walk to both parts of the town.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2014

Good location in quiet area just outside the park but convenient for the town. Room was large and comfortable but bathroom was fitted for disabled user and was a wet room and as such did not dry out. Wet feet every time bathroom was used! Staff and service was very good and would probably stay again

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PE07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2014

Hidden in the Peak District. Worth seeking out

We had a Large Family Gathering (37 no) over a weekend and decided on Alison Park Hotel because it had a car park, short walk through the excellent Palace Gardens/ Park (with miniature train and beautiful gardens) to the town centre (less than a mile) and the caves up the road with walks in the woods. The staff were very accommodating. It is lovely and quiet (birds singing). The food was good and catered for all tastes. Dogs are allowed.
Rooms have either baths or showers. I have decided to go on a BATH DIET as my bath was very narrow in the centre !! Constant hot water. Some said the showers were also a little on the small side but hey, a small price to pay. It was certainly clean. I had problems with my TV but the land lady is the technophobe and sorted it out. It may be a ploy to get you to spend more time in the woods and hills !! There is also a lift. Wifi in the room was brilliant and fast

Room Tip: I had a single room in the roof at the front - size was not compromised. It was just right
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mkljrc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2014

Stayed for 2 nights on a voucher meal that included breakfasts and dinner on the first night.
The hotel is in a perfect location for the park and the town.
We were made to feel very welcome throughout our stay by all the staff we saw and all the food was very well cooked and satisfying.
The room was freshly painted with a very new bathroom and all was perfectly clean.
The hotel has plenty of parking which is helpful and free wifi which we accessed easily.
This is an old hotel and some areas are a little old fashioned, but we felt this just added character and was far outweighed by the warmness of the welcome and the other positive factors.
We visited with friends and had a brilliant weekend using this hotel as our base. We would definitely use the hotel again when in the area, with or without the benefit of a voucher!!

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank sue_williams1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews