We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A lovely place to stay”
other travelers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
26 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Barn -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Buxton, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

South Cerney, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A lovely place to stay”
Reviewed July 5, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Sue welcomed us with all the information we needed for our stay, and left us to enjoy the barn. It was clean, comfortable and nicely furnished with everything we could possibly want. It's surrounded by fields with just one close neighbour. We did a circular 10km walk from the front door which took in some lovely countryside; had we been there for longer we could have done many different routes. We walked into Buxton over the fields - so much nicer than having to get in the car. Bailey Flatt Barn was a great base for our friends get together. and would also families very well.

Date of stay: July 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lucky Us, Perfect Escape.”
Reviewed March 4, 2017 for a stay in February 2017
person found this review helpful

Perfect Escape, gorgeous property, idyllic setting, and friendly owners. Loved our stay here. As the name suggests, the property is a barn conversion and it has been very nicely done. Feels like a lovely retreat out in the country but just a short drive to the centre of Buxton with some great restaurants and bars. We were visiting family but would recommend it to those looking for a great base for walking and visiting some of the other quaint villages and towns in the Peak District. Booking & paying was easy ( unlike the previous reviewer we understood the booking terms and conditions so no probs there). Communication was very good prior to our stay. On arrival we were met by the owner who was very sweet and kind, telling us everything we needed to know. Can't wait to visit again, if we are lucky enough to get in!

Date of stay: February 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lucky escape!”
Reviewed January 23, 2017 for a stay in January 2017
people found this review helpful

Where to start!? I'm still stunned by the behaviour of the woman running this place. We contacted her about staying, everything started off well. She stated price, deposit would be 20% etc. There was a mix up over email address but eventually we got one to them and they sent a confirmation letter and invoice back on the Wednesday afternoon, telling us they'd made a mistake and payment was actually needed in full as it was a last minute booking (we said ok). We thanked her, said payment would come from us and friends separate. Immediately we get a slightly stroppy email saying it would not be secure until payment was made. On Saturday we emailed and asked if payments were showing - yes, ours was (at over half the amount of £300) but not our friends - we said we'd chase them. By Sunday night, 1 day later, we get a stroppy email saying if payment from them was not received within 24 hours the booking wouldn't be cancelled. I asked her to be patient and payment was on the way from them, and 5 minutes later I get an irate call on my mobile (at 8.30pm on a Sunday night having just put my daughter to bed seconds before) from this woman telling me she is "trying to run a business" and again when I asked her to be patient given we had only got the invoice days before, it was a Sunday night and we had already transferred our half, she suddenly announced she'd cancel the booking altogether and return our money !?!? Thank god we hadnt booked our trains which we were about to that same evening. Frankly, we're seeing it as a lucky escape. Others might have had a good time staying there before (we read the reviews and liked the sound of it), but clearly it depends what direction the wind is blowing as to what mood this crazy woman might be in. We've now gone and booked another property we had been considering and given their polite, reasonable emails so far, presume we won't get unprofessional stroppy calls on a Sunday night from them!

Date of stay: January 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jan 24, 2017
Thank you for reviewing our property which you didn't actually stay in !!!!!!
As you can see from previous reviews we've had a lot of very happy clients all of which actually paid in full for their stay well in advance of their arrival . As we patiently waited for full payment and sent numerous email reminders and with only 10 days before your arrival we reluctantly had no option but to cancel your booking due to none payment of the full balance, a full refund of the part payment was issued without any cancellation fee deducted. As most people who are familiar with the holiday/leisure business it is far from a 9 to 5 job and often involves calls to confirm or cancel !! bookings at various times of the day this sometimes includes Sundays.
We hope you enjoy your 2nd choice and hope it is as cosy and comfortable as Bailey Flatt Barn would have be !!!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Christmas break in a lovely Barn”
Reviewed December 30, 2016 for a stay in December 2016

Stayed at this barn just outside Buxton for family Christmas break. The barn was decorated when we arrived with welcome gifts from the owner Sue. The barn is very well equipped particularly with regards to the kitchen. It also has the added bnus of a hot tub. Buxton itself is lovely and only a short drive away with an array of shops and interesting places to visit including an Opera House. There is pub The 19th Hole a nice walk (approx 35 minutes) away which is very welcoming and taxis are ready available. I would definitely recommend a stay here and was very disappointed to learn it is already booked for next Christmas.

Date of stay: December 2016
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A fabulous weeks break for all the family”
Reviewed November 1, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Met by the owner ,Sue who explained everything really well. Her welcome pack was superb & the flowers made it very homely and lasted all week ! Could not fault anything, beds comfortable, barn cosey and well equipped. Even though October no fires needed. Three generations enjoyed & younger adults loved the hot tub. Ideal base for touring Derbyshire and its attractions. National Trust properties in this area are very good and of course Chatsworth.
Excellent pubs and restaurants in the area.

Date of stay: October 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Cosyness, cleanliness and location.
Liked least: Nothing !
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Fantastic barn! Perfect location”
Reviewed October 4, 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We stayed at the barn for a long weekend in October, it's in an ideal location, go out of the gate onto some fantastic walks! Perfect for a little getaway to a beautiful part of the country! Really nice to come back from a days walking and get into the hot tub (nicely tucked away at the side of the barn!) lovely facilities! Couldn't have asked for a nicer weekend! We would definitely return!

Date of stay: October 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Exactly what we needed”
Reviewed October 3, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

As a group of girlfriends getting away from it all, we could not have done better than Bailey Flatt Barn. The barn has been converted into a beautiful home with great care and attention to detail. It was as warm as toast - we didn't need to light the fire - with a good selection of games and DVDs in case of bad weather and a huge selection of maps and leaflets in case of good. The location - just minutes from Buxton by car and only about half an hour on foot - was perfect. Thank you so much Steve and Sue - we loved staying in your beautiful home.

Date of stay: September 2016
Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
United States
© 2020 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in the United States. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.