We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Exactly what we needed”
other travelers have booked this property
The ideal location in the heart of the Peak District for friends and family to get  together.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The ideal location in the heart of the Peak District for friends and family to get  together.
The master bedroom with its imposing oak beams,romantically decorated for that special get away. Watch the sun setting  as it disappears over the stunning  Derbyshire countryside .
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
21 reviews
The ideal location in the heart of the Peak District for friends and family to get  together.
The master bedroom with its imposing oak beams,romantically decorated for that special get away.
Watch the sun setting  as it disappears over the stunning  Derbyshire countryside .
Relax in our inviting hot tub 'Go on you know you want too' Stay...Play...Enjoy..!
Relax on the decking with a glass of wine overlooking the ponds.
Stunning oak beams and exposed limestone walls.
Our second superb double bedroom.
Our third bedroom  has two twin beds which can be a king size on request
Relax on our luxurious leather sofas in front of a real fire
One of the Stunning views over Buxton and the surrounding countryside
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Buxton, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Lorasmum
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Exactly what we needed”
Reviewed October 3, 2016 for a stay in September 2016

As a group of girlfriends getting away from it all, we could not have done better than Bailey Flatt Barn. The barn has been converted into a beautiful home with great care and attention to detail. It was as warm as toast - we didn't need to light the fire - with a good selection of games and DVDs in case of bad weather and a huge selection of maps and leaflets in case of good. The location - just minutes from Buxton by car and only about half an hour on foot - was perfect. Thank you so much Steve and Sue - we loved staying in your beautiful home.

Traveling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
achilles1...
Midlander (UK)
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Excellent well cared for property”
Reviewed July 4, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

We were visiting for business- Hillhead Show- so it was important for us to have somewhere close to the show and "easy to use" as we had multiple people changes for the time we stayed. For a holiday let, it was immaculate- it was the added touches that made it spectacular- fresh flowers, cakes, wine, an extensive library of local information leaflets and lots of towels. Even enjoyed looking after the fish.

For a business base, it was great-near enough to Buxton to get to and from our destination but quiet enough to be restful after a day's hard selling. Information about local amenities prior to staying was great although I did get a tad jittery about the joining details- I would have liked the details at least two weeks before but they came in time, so no harm done.

Would be good to have details of where to get wood from in the barn- we also spent time looking for suitable wood-just a shame we had to light a fire in June but that certainly didn't detract from the house as it was very warm and cosy once the fire got going.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Sharp knives
Liked least: going in by the side door
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Judi H
Merton, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Perfect Family Get Together”
Reviewed June 6, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

An excellent barn conversion and very well equipped, even down to providing kitchen towel paper and cling film .Everything we needed in the kitchen for family meals. Particularly appreciated the children's toys, the inset trampoline, the glass viewing panels into the pond - perfect for little people - and the hot tub. Our hosts left us a wonderful welcome pack and were very friendly. The house was cosy and comfortable, just perfect for our family and grandchildren to get together. Situated down a very quiet lane, with lovely views, but also close to Buxton for amenities. We had a really lovely time and wouldn't hesitate in recommending.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarah B
Ashtead, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A beautiful house for a family weekend”
Reviewed June 24, 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Just got back from a lovely five day break at this beautiful house. Sue very friendly and we appreciated the flowers, wine, tea and cakes on arrival. Lots to visit in the area. We loved Dovedale and a great day out at Alton Towers. Enjoyed barbecuing and sitting by chiminea and warming up and relaxing in the hot tub . Would highly recommend.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stanton92...
Mistley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“brilliant”
Reviewed May 17, 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

this property was just what we wanted,after reading the last view ,i dont know where they were from,mars perhaps,this was we were looking for,every thing that was needed,cannot thank sue enough,welcome pack.heating on ,open country side,lovely walks,,what more can you ask for,

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: kitchen
Liked least: nothing
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrighty0
York, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
Reviewed November 4, 2014 for a stay in November 2014

Enjoyed a 3 night break with old friends and we couldn't have asked for much more!

This is a beautifully renovated barn to an extremely high standard. We found the barn very child friendly and the location great - peaceful yet close to both Buxton & Bakewell.

The barn has everything you need bedding, towels, tea/coffee, eggs, TV, Radio, Hot Tub, Garden, Trampoline! On arrival we also recieved milk, cakes, wine & halloween sweets for the children!
Great touch, Thank You

Our only small thing would be that we booked through holiday Lettings & apart from payment receipts we didn't recieve any confirmation, directions, check in/out times, information etc. I contacted the owners the week prior and we did get a bit lost finding it as the sat nav didn't recognise the easiest route to the barn. All in all though we would definitely recommend this property to all.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jemStockp...
Sunrise Beach, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Didn't want to leave! EVER!”
Reviewed April 11, 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

EVERYTHING about this property has the guest's comfort in mind. Sue was waiting for us when we arrived and showed us everything we needed to know, without lingering, leaving us a wonderful welcome basket too. The house is absolutely beautifully renovated, modern conveniences in a country atmosphere. Its perfect for families, groups, friends and even feels right for just one couple. The location is great - central to Buxton and the A6 but far away from ANY traffic noise.

The hot tub is fabulous -private, sheltered, lit by fairy lights, even has hooks for your towels and shelves for your drinks! The kitchen is equipped with everything you could wish for - we catered for a group of 6 friends and our family of 12 on another occasion - never struggled for anything!

Plenty of towels in all the bedrooms, and special ones for the hot tub. Washing machine in the garage meant we could keep up with the towels throughout our stay. However, you might bring extra towels if you are staying with a large group.

The heating is good and you can add to it with the cosy log burners but you do need to find your own firewood, which was surprisingly difficult in Buxton town centre. Be prepared to search!

The pet policy is very fair and VERY easy to adhere to - they have a gate in place so that dogs don't go upstairs. Can't argue with that!

Overall, leaving the cottage at the end of our week's stay was not easy - it is rare to stay away from home and feel like you have every creature comfort you could wish for...but Sue and Steve has accomplished this with flair. You are certain to feel at home at Bailey Flatt Barn and WHEN we return I think it will feel like coming home!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Hot tub/ country kitchen/ log burners
Liked least: Searching for firewood - would pay to have this provided in advance!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 13, 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments regarding Bailey Flatt Barn, it was a pleasure to have you stay with us and look forward to your return, your review is very much appreciated.
Regards Sue & Steve
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing