We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We couldn't have done better!”
Review of Cramond House

Cramond House
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Buxton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cramond House
Ranked #21 of 39 Buxton B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 4, 2013

We were looking for a reasonably priced bed and breakfast in Buxton, as we really like the Peak District. We found Cramond House and we are so pleased we did! It is a beautifully renovated Victorian house, with large rooms and plenty of atmosphere. It's been recently done up to a very high standard by the owners, Senga and Alan Doig, who have put a huge effort into making the house warm and welcoming. There were so many little touches, too many to mention, that made our stay so enjoyable in spite of some rather wet and blustery weather! We will certainly stay there again next time we go to that area. Thoroughly recommended.

Room Tip: Room two was great, nice and quiet with an owl hooting in the trees!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teacupcake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (39)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

34 - 39 of 39 reviews

Reviewed October 27, 2013

We stayed at Cramond House for two nights whilst in the area to attend a wedding. Senga and Alan made us feel welcome from the moment we arrived. We were impressed with the house from the start. The couple have made a tremendous job of renovating and restoring it. It is finished to such a high quality throughout. We stayed in room 2, the blue room. It is a generous size, equipped with everything you need or could want. We slept well. We liked the folder with useful local information but particularly appreciated the information about the history of the house.There was a wide choice for breakfast. My husband had a "full English" whilst I had scrambled eggs with smoked salmon. Delicious. There was no problem about us popping in and out at odd hours to shower and dress for the wedding and the couple even offered to drive us to the venue.
Senga and Alan have developed an excellent establishment, an absolute gem, and they are a lovely warm, welcoming couple. We hope to go back, stay there and spend a bit more time exploring the area.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Margaret644368
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

I stayed overnight at Cramond House on my way to Manchester Airport. (The airport bus leaves from just around the corner) and realised I had found a real gem. Not only is it walking distance from Buxton town centre including the theatre, pubs and restaurants, the inside on the property has recently been completely refurbished with quality fittings yet the owners have retained the original period feel both inside and outside of the building. The owners are a delightful couple and the breakfast was first class. I understand they don't advertise their B and B, preferring to rely on 'word of mouth' and since there were so many 'nice touches' I feel duty bound to 'spread the word' further. If you choose to stay at Cramond House, you won't be disappointed! Excellent!

Room Tip: There are only two rooms, one with an en-suite bath, and the other with an en-suite shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DavidT T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

Stayed at Cramond House recently as part of a last minute decision to visit Buxton for the G&S Festival. This was one of very few guest houses that had availability at short notice, but wow, what a find! The house has recently undergone a refurbishment and it has been worth every penny. We stayed in room 2 - an extremely spacious and welcoming room; king size bed with luxurious bedding. More than plenty of room, which is so unusual in many guest houses. The bathroom was equally as impressive, with a large walk in shower, and all the toiletries and accessories you could wish for. A welcome tray of sparkling and still water, biscuits, peanuts and chocolates, this was real luxury. Thank you to Senga and Alan, the most hospitable hosts - you have a B&B to be proud of. I would encourage anyone visiting Buxton to consider Cramond House before anywhere else.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Donna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Stayed at Cramond House,Sat.20th July 2013 and couldn't have wished for better.The whole experience from the moment we arrived was exceptional.Senga and Alan couldn't have been more hospitable.The 18 months it has taken to renovate the house has been well worth it and it just oozes character throughout.
We stayed in room 1 as my partner prefers a bath,whilst our friends stayed in room 2,shower only,which suited them,and we all agreed we will be coming back again.Our bathroom was gorgeous,lovely towels and dressing gowns provided if required.
The Sunday morning breakfast was excellent,plenty of choice to suit all dietary needs.
We asked if it would be ok to leave our cars parked on the car park whilst we explored Buxton town-a lovely 10 minute walk through the pavillion gardens- to which the reply was "leave them as long as you want and when you come back,call in for a coffee!"Would you get this service at any of the major hotel groups? I doubt it.
I can't speak highly enough about our stay here,it was simply just first class.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank shadowfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2015
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2015, traveled on business
Thank milly2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buxton hotels
0.1 mi away
The Westminster Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Old Hall Hotel
The Old Hall Hotel
#3 of 9 in Buxton
1,155 reviews
0.1 mi away
Netherdale Guest House
Netherdale Guest House
#10 of 39 in Buxton
99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
9 Green Lane
9 Green Lane
#11 of 39 in Buxton
181 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ash Corner Guest House
Ash Corner Guest House
#17 of 39 in Buxton
106 reviews
0.2 mi away
Braemar Guest House
Braemar Guest House
#16 of 39 in Buxton
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cramond House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cramond House

Address: 57 West Road, Buxton SK17 6HQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Buxton
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Buxton
Price Range: $53 - $60 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cramond House is a recently renovated Victorian townhouse near to the many attractions Buxton offers and a perfect base to explore the Peak District. The warmest welcome awaits you from the owner Senga, whose aim is to ensure your stay at Cramond House meets your expectations in full. Your comfort is assured in the beautifully furnished rooms and an excellent breakfast will help you start the day. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing