We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely home in a lovely location”
other travelers have booked this property
The Servants Quarters, Buxton
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Servants Quarters, Buxton
Space to sit and relax outside - comfy cushions provided! Cosy lounge with comfy sofas
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
135 reviews
The Servants Quarters, Buxton
Space to sit and relax outside - comfy cushions provided!
Cosy lounge with comfy sofas
Lounge with views into the courtyard garden
Looking from the lounge into the kitchen
Well equipped kitchen - gas hob with an electric fan oven
Kitchen - Welcome Pack included in the price
Kitchen looking out onto the courtyard garden
Hallway, complete with an OS Map of the area, lots of space for your coats and a full length mirror
Study area with desk, comfy seat and free secure WiFi
Second floor double room with en-suite shower
Second floor double room with en-suite shower
En-suite shower to the double bedroom on the second floor
First floor bedroom - can be made up as either a super kingsize bed or twin beds
First floor bedroom - can be made up as either a super kingsize bed or twin beds
First floor bathroom with separate shower
Ground floor layout - lounge and kitchen with door onto the courtyard garden
First floor layout - bedroom 1 (double or twin) and bathroom with separate shower
Second floor layout - study / reading area and bedroom 2 with en-suite shower
Buxton's Opera House - a 10 minute walk across the park from The Servants' Quarters
Buxton Crescent - a 10 minute walk from The Servants Quarters
The Pavilion Gardens lake - 5 minutes walk away
The stunning Buxton Pavilion Gardens - 5 minutes walk away
The Pavilion Gardens
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Buxton, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 135 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Susan R
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Lovely home in a lovely location”
Reviewed September 18, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Eight weeks spent here in total comfort. The property lacked nothing. Peter and Catherine went above and beyond to accommodate us. The welcome basket was a truly lovely experience. I've never had such tasty cookies, and the delicious aroma of the freshly baked loaf of bread greeted our initial entry through the front door. Then a few weeks later we were given another one! Very comfy beds, bedding was of very good quality, so extremely warm and cosy. Bathrooms, with power showers and plenty of hot water, were spotless. The kitchen is very well equipped. Nice little courtyard garden, where you could hear the ducks and the geese from the very near by Pavilion Gardens. Extremely quiet location, on a pleasant little road. Shops just a few minutes walk. Buses, trains all close by. If you're looking for somewhere to stay in Buxton, you've found it.

Date of stay: July 2016
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jon s
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent property”
Reviewed July 4, 2016 for a stay in June 2016

This is the second time that we have rented this property. Every two years we attend the Hillhead Quarry show and after a long day it is great to return to a nice apartment to relax and recover. The apartment has everything you could want, clean, lots of hot water and a good heating system - we needed it this year. I would happily recommend this property to anyone

Date of stay: June 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
alice b
los angeles
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful place, very comfortable and completely updated, easy walk to shops, etc.”
Reviewed June 19, 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

I had booked this property based on location and the very updated facilities. What a delightful surprise to see how interesting Buxton was itself. In many, many trips to the UK we had kept just passing through Derbyshire, and what a delightful surprise to see what all was actually there! I could hear Jane Austen walking behind me in this quaint town. Many restaurants in town of every kind, we particularly liked Columbine, a bit pricey but absolutely great. We were there over Bank Holiday weekend, so it was a bit crazy, so we got stuck with pizza a couple of nights, so I would recommend booking a table in advance if you are going to be there over a holiday. But plenty of choice otherwise. Great location for touring many National Trust properties, we highly recommend Little Moreton Hall, and many of the others, plus of course Chatsworth (not NT).. The drive over the moor through Congleton was beautiful. The cottage itself was so comfortable, with easy 10-minute walk to the Sainsburys Local for the things you forgot to bring, and a bit further down to the opera house and Crescent area for restrauants. The gardens with the pond are also beautiful, down the hill on the way to the Crescent. The owners checked in on us when we arrived and a couple days later, and answered any email questions promptly, so much better than having the owner living 50 miles away! All in all, probably the best rental we have had in the UK.

Date of stay: May 2016
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cctours
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great holiday cottage to tour the Peak District”
Reviewed May 22, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

From the first contact via email to meeting our hosts everything was spot on. The welcome pack is lovely, we appreciated the bread, home made cookies and red wine. A great way to start our week in Buxton. It is one of the best equipped holiday homes we have stayed at, we particularly made use of the O/S Maps and leaflets about the numerous tourist attractions. The location is ideal, the centre of Buxton is within walking distance and the Peak District is easily accessible. We would definitely stay here again and would recommend this lovely holiday cottage to anyone.

Date of stay: May 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anthony L
1 review
“Comfortable cottage in a lovely location”
Reviewed May 18, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We enjoyed a wonderful break in this well equipped cottage which was spotlessly clean and well maintained by the owners. We appreciated the provision of milk, tea and coffee on arrival and especially enjoyed the fresh bread and cookies (and the wine). We were warmly welcomed by Pete on our first evening and he was able to give us some good advice on places to visit during our stay.
The cottage is very tastefully decorated throughout. The beds are very comfortable and the bedrooms are spacious. The kitchen diner is well equipped and looks out onto a delightful courtyard garden. The owners have made every effort to be as environmentally friendly as possible and also provided eco-friendly products in the kitchen and bathrooms.
We were lucky to have fine sunny weather during our stay. This enabled us to enjoy a stroll around the Pavilion Gardens and the town centre which are both within easy walking distance from the cottage. We would definitely stay at the Servants Quarters again if we visit the Peak District in the future.

Date of stay: May 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: A warm welcome and attention to detail
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FoodieAnn...
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage and ideal for a walking weekend”
Reviewed May 7, 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We stayed in the cottage over the bank holiday weekend and found it to be very comfortable, clean and warm (which was good as the weather was not kind). It is located within easy walking distance of the town centre, with the gardens and restaurants nearby.
Pete and Catherine do a great job to welcome you with fresh bread and other provisions - the biscuits were a particular favourite. It is very easy to collect the key and settle in.
We were only two of us but there are two generous bedrooms and bathrooms so ideal for two couples, although the living room may feel a little tight for four. Having said that, the kitchen is large and you should be out exploring the lovely countryside, not watching tv! Very nice to have a bath.
On arrival we found parking a bit tricky but it is possible to stop on the yellow lined area to unload and then we did find a space along the road BUT it was very full and each time we went out we wondered if we would find a space on our return. In fact we did. That was probably the only downside.
Only other thing to note is that the stairs are quite steep and you go down from the front door to the living room. Not a problem at all for us but older or infirm guests may find that a little difficult.

Date of stay: May 2016
Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MAW1612
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
“Ideal”
Reviewed April 29, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We really enjoyed our stay at The Servants Quarters. The accommodation was warm and cosy and the welcome received was uplifting. The location was perfect for both town and countryside - we did not use the car once parked. I am sure we will be making a return visit.

Date of stay: April 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Home from hope - everything we needed.
Liked least: No dedicated parking space
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing