We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent place to stay in heart of Buxton”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Farriers - Buxton

In walking distance of the town centre
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
In walking distance of the town centre
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
In walking distance of the town centre
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Buxton, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
AMD54
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent place to stay in heart of Buxton”
Reviewed July 23, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Well located and fully equipped house in quiet road but very close to the centre
- excellent base for a weeks holiday stay . We recommend it

Date of stay: July 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 24, 2017
Thank you for your review, we hope you will come and stay again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dervishm
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“A lovely place”
Reviewed June 13, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

My wife and I stayed here for four nights with our two under-five children at the very end of May. It is a super cottage located in a great spot for seeing Buxton on foot and driving out to enjoy the Peak District National Park. The inside is spotless and of a high spec - we had a comfortable stay.

Buxton Pavilion Gardens are exquisite, so we spent quite a bit of time there. We also drove to the Heights of Abraham Country Park in Matlock, Chatsworth House in Bakewell and travelled on the Peak Rail steam train. All of it was good, but Chatsworth House is pricey and you can't take prams inside the House.

If I come to Buxton again I would definitely stay here.

Date of stay: May 2017
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 13, 2017
Thank you for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay. There are so many places to visit and see in the Peak District. We would love for you to come and stay with us again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
almondeli...
London
1 review
“Everything you could need for a holiday home exploring Buxton and the High Peak!”
Reviewed April 22, 2017 for a stay in April 2017

We recently stayed here for a long weekend with our two young daughters (3 and 4).

The house has been beautifully renovated with real attention to detail, perhaps reflecting that the owners are architects/conservation specialists.

There's a great little twin bedroom for children (or a second couple) and comfortable double room just across the landing - all with blackout blinds to shut out the light. The downstairs bathroom has an excellent in-bath shower - not a given in our experience of holiday rentals! The living space is an open plan sitting room and kitchen with a good sized dining table. The kitchen is well equipped with lots of good quality crockery, glasses and lots of utensils should you wish to cook at home.

There are lots of restaurants and takeaways within easy reach of the property, which is at the centre of Buxton close to the market place. It's a five to ten minute walk to the park, Pavilion Gardens and Opera House and the main shopping street. We had a great day out in Buxton enjoying the market, the little train and play park in Pavilion Gardens (with ice cream as well because it was so sunny), and the Victorian Tram tour on a converted milk float. We ventured further afield to Chatsworth as well, which was well worth the visit.

It's a great property and we'd highly recommend it to friends and family wanting to stay in the area.

Date of stay: April 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 23, 2017
Many thanks for your review and we look forward to you staying again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SteveWCam...
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Previous reviews are right!”
Reviewed April 20, 2017 for a stay in March 2017

I would totally endorse the positive things other reviewers have said about the cottage itself and its location! I have nothing new to add other than to say it worked really well for us as a family of four (two adults, two children).

Date of stay: March 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 20, 2017
Thank you for your review and we look forward to you coming to stay again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
helenw196...
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great cottage”
Reviewed March 18, 2017 for a stay in December 2016

Great location in Buxton, and lovely little cottage - it is beautifully renovated & has everything you need.

Date of stay: December 2016
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 22, 2017
Thank you for your review. We hope you will stay again in the future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Linda S
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent holiday home in a great location”
Reviewed December 14, 2016 for a stay in December 2016

Great location in Higher Buxton surrounded by pubs and restaurants and "everyday" shopping. Just a short walk to the Pavillion Gardens, Opera House and station with regular trains to Manchester.
The cottage has been beautifully updated and is warm, clean and very comfortable.

Date of stay: December 2016
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
saabman00
Venice
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A delightful cottage in the centre of Buxton”
Reviewed December 5, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

Loved this cottage, tucked away in a side street near the town centre. It was warm, clean, well equipped and the owners have obviously made a real effort to make renters feel at home with lots of clear instructions on the cottage, the town and surroundings. Yes, the parking is a bit tight but I managed easily enough with a large estate car (although I'm not sure about the owners' suggestion to reverse into the space - I found it much easier to go in forwards....).
My wife and I love Buxton, it has a lovely feel about it and Farriers Cottage is well placed to take full advantage of everything it has to offer. We generally tend not to revisit holiday cottages but Farriers is one that I'm sure we will return to.

Date of stay: November 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Its position, the warmth, the high standard of the interior and the cleanliness
Liked least: I guess the parking is a bit tight, especially for a big 4x4
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing