We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect, cosy, Cottage”
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Toll Barn Cottage

Spacious barn for two (one well behaved dog also permitted).
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Spacious barn for two (one well behaved dog also permitted).
Enjoy picturesque scenery and walks from the doorstep. Off road parking. Well equipped kitchen.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Very good
16 reviews
Spacious barn for two (one well behaved dog also permitted).
Enjoy picturesque scenery and walks from the doorstep. Off road parking.
Well equipped kitchen.
Comfortable dining area.
Shower room, with heated towel rail.
Living room, with roomy sofas to relax and stretch out.
Living room, with one basket of logs provided for log burner.
Super king size bed, plenty of storage room.
Light and airy in Summer, snug and warm in Winter.
Cosy throughout the year - Christmas and New Year breaks catered for.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Buxton, Derbyshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 16 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
GMS15659
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Perfect, cosy, Cottage”
Reviewed March 20, 2018 for a stay in March 2018

We stayed at Toll Barn Cottage for 3 nights in March, and what a little gem it is.
Clean, tidy, cosy and equipped to a very good standard, and in a fabulous location. Wi-Fi, central heating, dog friendly and a log burner as well. Plenty of beautiful walks within easy reach (eg Fernilee reservoir). The owners are friendly and most helpful. Loved the free bottle of wine & nibbles !. Some people have found the nearby road an issue, but we had no problem with it & didn't hear the traffic. We had a great, chilled short break & would highly recommend it. Can't wait to return.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Mar 21, 2018
We are really pleased that you enjoyed your stay, and thank you very much for taking the time to review Toll Barn. It was lovely to meet you and we look forward to seeing you again sometime. Hope your dog has recovered now after that long walk around the reservoir!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LoveTrave...
2 reviews
“Lovely accommodation and location”
Reviewed June 7, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Toll Barn Cottage is in a lovely location for walks and close to Buxton and Whaley Bridge for local amenities. We had lovely stay with our Golden Retriever dog and would return without hesitation.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 8, 2017
Thank you for leaving a review, we are glad that you enjoyed your holiday. Lovely to meet you both, and your beautiful dog. Regards Sally & Dave
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andysbro
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“My week ”
Reviewed May 6, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

Spent a week at this lovely cottage, and it was home from home. Parking for your car is off road and very secure.
Only met sally and Dave once, but seemed very nice. The cottage is located in a ideal place for walking and cycling .
There's a great pub not far from the cottage and it's called the shady oak, beer fine and so is the food.
Your not that far from Whaley bridge where's there plenty of shops and a large Tesco for your shopping if you are going to do any cooking.
It's not far from Bakewell, and Chatsworth house and definitely worth a visit.

I read other reviews regarding the cottage and yes it's beside a busy road, but the pluses out weigh any negatives and overall thumbs up from us. bonus for my week was weather would love to return when given the chance.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 9, 2017
Thank you for your review, really glad you enjoyed the cottage and that you found plenty to do in the area. Hope to see you again sometime, and hope to keep up the good weather too! Thank you for the taking the time to review us. Regards Sally and Dave
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin S
Rosenheim, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A comfortable accommodation for all seasons”
Reviewed May 1, 2017 for a stay in February 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Set on the edge of the Peak District National Park this lovely cottage does not leave anything to be desired. It is a spacious, comfortable, tastefully furnished and well equipped accommodation.

We first arrived, when it had just opened for business in 2010 and have come back again and again, six times altogether, since then. We enjoyed each of our stays no matter what the weather was like, come sunshine or rain. It was always warm and cosy.

The cottage is also a perfect starting point for walks of any kind being situated close to the Goyt Valley, a number of reservoirs (Errwood, Fernilee, Combe and Toddbrook) and the Peak Forest Canal. There is also off road parking which comes in particularly handy, if you want to start your walks right from your doorstep.

Finally we would like to mention that the hosts have always been very friendly and helpful and made every effort to make us feel welcome and comfortable. Many thanks to them.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
May 8, 2017
Thank you for your review. We are so glad that you enjoy staying at Toll Barn (I think you once managed a 5 week stay!), and we really hope to welcome you back again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
markallen...
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Brilliant and modern”
Reviewed November 5, 2016 for a stay in November 2016

We are currently staying here and this place is fabulous!! Warm, modern and spacious. Everything you could ever need. The hosts are super friendly too. Off road parking is a bonus too!! One to remember and return too.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Nov 12, 2016
Thank you for your review, we hope to see you again.
Regards Sally & Dave
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
angiea195...
Minchinhampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“An ideal location for exploring the Peak District”
Reviewed April 22, 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We found the cottage very comfortable with everything we needed - except no maps (but we had one of our own). It was accessible enough for husband with some mobility issues, though shower was a bit tricky. Also, the shower temperature was quite a challenge to regulate. A great location for walks/runs, both off-road and on-road (up behind the cottage). We were not bothered in the least by the main road - indeed, it means it is easy to get to Buxton, Whaley Bridge and beyond.
Bellringing at Taxal church, Thursday evenings. Spectacular countryside within in a few minutes' drive and lots of cycle routes.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Apr 24, 2016
Thank you for your review. We will look at the shower temperature - no-one has mentioned this to us before, but thank you for your feedback on this and we will investigate! Glad that you enjoyed your stay, and we will also get a few maps too. Regards Sally and Dave
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry E
Eastleigh, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice but with a big but”
Reviewed July 4, 2015 for a stay in June 2015

Very nicely renovated, furnished and equipped with very friendly owners on site BUT just beyond the stone wall in the photo is the main A road between Whaley Bridge and Buxton. Busy for a lot of the day especially peak hours and weekends when the bikers are around. We feel that this should be clearly stated in the advertisements for the cottage.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Very comfortable bed
Liked least: Traffic noise
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 6, 2015
We appreciate the comments about the barn furnishings/interior of the barn, which we spent a lot of effort on. In terms of the road, at the moment the local bypass (which redirects traffic from this road) is having some work done on it, which may have increased the traffic more than usual. Usually there is a traffic peak at work times (morning and evening), and it often quietens down during the day. We have had many people stay in the barn over the last 5 years and be very happy with it, including many repeat bookings. The walls to the barn itself are thick stone, it is fully double glazed throughout, and the bedroom is located to the rear of the cottage, which minimises traffic noise. An advantage of the location for any winter visitors is that you are unlikely to get snowed in, as the road is usually accessible even during any snow. Another advantage of the location during any time of year is the many walks available right from the doorstep, plunging you straight into the countryside without having to use the car - yet all local amenities are within a couple of miles - many consider this to be the best of both worlds. Ample, secure parking (in the grounds of the property, not on the road) is provided to all barn visitors. All prospective visitors are welcome to contact us for any further details or to look up the location on the internet. Of course we regret any that any guests are in any way dissatisfied. Few properties are 100% perfect, and in regards to advertising, it is usual to highlight the positives. We hope that prospective visitors will use this review, and our response, to choose what is right for them. Thank you Sally & Dave
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing