We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent, great value guest house”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Compton Guest House
Ranked #15 of 39 Buxton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
York
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent, great value guest house”
Reviewed September 16, 2013

Very helpful when booking and a friendly welcome on arrival. Rooms were spot on. Bill offered us helpful local advice for dining out in Buxton. Breakfast was very nice and we were asked our preferred time. Excellent customer service & value. Many thanks.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TeamBig5-0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

45 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    32
    10
    1
    2
    0
See reviews for
7
20
3
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Four of us stayed in Compton House for 3 nights. We can highly recommend this B&B to anyone. Bill, Clare and Marianne were really friendly and helpful. The rooms were spacious, comfortable and clean. Breakfast was excellent. Easy parking on the road outside, close to town centre.
Keep up the good work, and thank you again!
The Collins family

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Edith1923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staines
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

This b&b really needs a website!
It's a beautiful building in a quiet setting 5 mins walk from the centre of Buxton.
I had a wonderful warm welcome from Bill and a beautiful double room at the front of the building with a bay window.
The room had beautiful antique furniture which was a real surprise.
The breakfast was fantastic and it was a bargain!
I will definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Susdy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2012

This place needs a decent website to show it off a little more....or perhaps the old world approach is part of the charm. The rooms are very clean and adequate for a family. The hosts are very welcoming. The breakfast is traditional and tasty.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Houseoffondue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wolverhampton ,england
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for 1 night, we were met by the very welcoming Billy, he really is a wonderful host, he even gave us a lift to the function we were attending, which was very nice of him,
The family room was spacious, very clean and warm, lovely comfy bed.
Breakfast was very very nice.
All in all a very homely guest house, would definatley return and can thouroughly reccomend to anybody, its lovely.
Thanks again Bill.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leighs1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buxton hotels
0.7 mi away
Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
0.6 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#6 of 9 in Buxton
2,662 reviews
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Buxton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Old Hall Hotel
The Old Hall Hotel
#3 of 9 in Buxton
1,054 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Westminster Hotel
0.2 mi away
Alison Park Hotel
Alison Park Hotel
#4 of 9 in Buxton
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Compton Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Compton Guest House

Property: Compton Guest House
Address: 4 Compton Road, Buxton SK17 9DN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Buxton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Buxton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Compton house Is an original Victorian Guest house in Buxton Derbyshire the centre of the peak district with all its original features (open fire places in most rooms / high ceilings and retro decor) We are a family run business that is trying to create a warm homely feeling on a warmly low price, with a well-cooked English breakfast and can provide a evening meal or pack up if requested. We are in the heart of Buxton market town with close walking distance to all the main attractions (Opera house / Town centre shops / spa baths / parks / pavilion gardens / market place) and then a short drive or cycle to the following (Goyt valley nation park / Bakewell / Chatsworth / Haddon Hall / Pools Cavern). We have a large south facing patio area where you can sit and relax with tea and biscuits or wine and beer. There is a safe indoor lock up for bicycles or any other equipment and plenty of parking. Buxton has its own train service that runs straight into the heart of Manchester and the station is walking distance from the guest house. We can rent you bikes for a small cost so you can get that bit further than walking and provide free maps. We welcome your visit and will do are best to make you feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Compton Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing