We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real surviving village pub with great hospitality”
Review of the church inn

the church inn
Ranked #43 of 112 Restaurants in Buxton
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Royal Wootton Bassett, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
177 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“A real surviving village pub with great hospitality”
Reviewed July 15, 2014

We were recommended here and hoped that the advice would hold up.No worries ,we visited 3 out of 4 days during our stay in this unspoilt part of the Peaks.
We mainly used the specials board, and enjoyed some interesting meals including a mushroom stroganoff ,salmon and prawn fish cakes,black pudding fritters and both of us had some fab lamb steaks on the last night . All about a fiver cheaper than down South !
Well kept local real ales were enjoyed and nice to be offered a taste before needing to ask !
Basically ,no surprise the landlord and lady have been here for a number of years, they just know how to run a pub ,mixing locals and visitors.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Happychap103
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin S, Owner at the church inn, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Wow, thank you for your lovely comments.
We have a great team behind us to help maintain our standards. We do try to alter the daily specials as much as we can to ensure our customers are offered a wide variety of choices. It was brilliant to see that you kept coming back so many times during your stay and would love to be able to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    15
    3
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Lovely little pub in the Peaks”
Reviewed July 6, 2014

We recently visited this pub whilst staying at the nearby Beech croft farm caravan site. Situated in a quiet village location ideal for walkers/cyclists etc. Very warm welcome, with a good selection of traditional beers and a great menu including specials board. Dogs are allowed in the bar area and in the beer garden. We liked it so much we went twice during our stay!
Highly recomended.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank skilord
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin S, Owner at the church inn, responded to this review, July 10, 2014
Thank you for your lovely comments, we're glad you enjoyed it that much you returned and would love to welcome you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Super staff, great locals, lovely food”
Reviewed June 28, 2014

This pub has everything!

Good staff, friendly and happy.
Nice banter from locals
Excellent food

Great location for walking and cycling too!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Matthew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin S, Owner at the church inn, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
We do have a very good team here at the Church Inn and always try our hardest to make our guests feel welcome and at home.
We can always count on the locals for good banter and they're always up for a laugh with new people.. as much as we are!
We'd be glad to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connah's Quay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
85 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Family Meal”
Reviewed June 23, 2014 via mobile

Excellent food and service. Five of us ate here no complaints from any of us. Super friendly and fabulous atmosphere. Highly recommend x

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anna-Maria O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin S, Owner at the church inn, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Thank you for such lovely comments, as a family business we do try to create a happy, friendly environment in which everybody feels welcome. We offer a wide selection of food to ensure we cater for everybody's needs and are happy to accommodate any additional requirements people may have.
We hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunstable, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Friendly, welcoming and even Adnams Beer!”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

Superb food - very welcoming and friendly.
Recommend the specials board.
They even have Adnams on tap!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank ADonny1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Justin S, Owner at the church inn, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
Glad you enjoyed your trip to the church inn. We try to alter the specials board as much as we can to give a wide variety of choice. And the Adnams beer is a popular one with the locals too!
Hope to see you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed the church inn also viewed

 
Buxton, Derbyshire
Buxton, Derbyshire
 

Been to the church inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing