We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb venue for a Christmas Wedding!”
Review of Cressbrook Hall

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Buxton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Cressbrook Hall
Ranked #11 of 39 Buxton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Superb venue for a Christmas Wedding!”
Reviewed February 20, 2014

For anyone wanting to have their wedding ceremony here – there is no finer place!

We had an overnight stay at Cressbrook Hall back in 2007 and commented at the time on how wonderful it would be to have our wedding there. Almost 8 years later – we did just that and knew the minute we started to make enquiries in the summer that this was going to be our dream venue.

Bobby was welcoming and friendly and agreed to our wedding ceremony and reception being held there just 6 days before Christmas 2013! Veronica was excellent at communicating with us via telephone and email and responded to all our concerns, queries and requests very quickly - we certainly couldn't have asked for better communication at all.

The venue is superb for the wedding photographs – especially the wooden staircase and the hallway which were beautifully decorated with a huge Christmas tree which provided exceptional wedding photographs for us. As our wedding was at Christmas time, we didn’t use the garden for the photographs but having seen the flowers there in summer – this would also be a superb wedding photo opportunity. The meal was gorgeous and commented on favourably by all members of our wedding party which wasn’t huge – there were just 16 people in total, so it felt very relaxed, informal and like a lovely family get together. The cottages also allowed our families to stay the night which was a wonderful way to start our married life with the people closest to us.

The exceptional planning of the whole event was down to Bobby and her team who we really can’t thank enough for making our special day truly memorable. We even had Bobby’s talented granddaughter play piano music for us throughout the whole event which was wonderful as we managed to chat without shouting over loud music.

If you’re considering holding your wedding ceremony here, or even just your reception – I’m confident you won’t be disappointed. Thank you very much to Bobby, Veronica, Emily and the rest of the team!

Lynne & Dave.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Blondefordy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    160
    22
    7
    6
    8
See reviews for
64
70
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
St Ives, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2014

We booked last minute to go to Cressbrook for Valentine's weekend. They were incredibly swift in their response and sent a letter out the same day to confirm our booking. When asked if they wanted payment they merely said that they would take it when they saw us. Lovely service and very personal.
We arrived on the Friday night after a long day at work and the weather was windy and dreadfully rainy - like something from a film! We were welcomed into Cressbrook Hall and shown our huge, beautiful room which was nippy but Bobby had popped an electric heater in for us in case we were cold.
We had not eaten and Bobby recommended a lovely pub in Ashford on the water which we found easily and very much enjoyed.
We slept like babies after returning from the pub in our cosy, comfortable bed. We were woken in the middle of the night by howling wind but for us, this only added to he character of Cressbrook.
The bathroom was very large and had a huge bath with a brilliant hot shower. Hot water was everlasting! There were plenty of towels and toiletries.
Breakfast was brilliant and we were sat at a beautiful window table. There were a range of cereals and fruit and followed by a hot breakfast - faultless.
At breakfast on Sunday we were told to take our time in checking out and come to settle up when we were ready - if we wanted to go for a walk and check out later that was fine. Two hours later at around 12pm we met Bobby again and checked out. She was lovely and chatted to us about the weather and surrounding areas.
We went and explored the beautiful house further and fully intend on returning - maybe for our wedding if my boyfriend ever asks me!
Thank you to all at Cressbrook for such a relaxed weekend, it made such a difference having your personal touch to our stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TiffanyMo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dronfield, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed January 26, 2014

We have just returned from a fantastic weekend stay at Cressbrook in the High Spy cottage. Well away from the bustle of our hectic schedule it was the ideal place to relax and unwind. The cottage was large and spacious and equipped with everything we needed. Our dog Bramble did plenty of relaxing too after our guided tour of the estate with Percy one of the resident dogs. He also joined us for bacon sandwiches after the tour which was the least we could do for him, after his hospitality. We only booked in for Friday and Saturday night but were having such a wonderful time that we didn't want to go home so decided to stay an extra night. We had some amazing food in the local area, Monsal Head Bar (The Stables) and the Red Lion at Litton did the most amazing Sunday lunch. Percy decided to join us for a farewell biscuit on our last night by grabbing our attention by barking at the french doors, which Bramble and our ourselves were delighted with. This is an ideal place for anyone wanting peace and tranquility where you can bring your beloved dogs, its amazing! We can't wait to come back for another wonderful break soon. Thank you!

Room Tip: We would recommend High Spy or Top Spot, as they are large and spacious with amazing views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sally Ann B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
99 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014

I loved my stay at the Cressbrook Hall in November. It was a little more difficult to find than I thought it would be, but the room was large and it was very peaceful there. The hostess was perfect in every way and made accommodations though it was difficult d/t family illness. I would highly recommend this for anyone who just wants to get away.

Room Tip: Cannot comment on this
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Coppergate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 16, 2013

Booked a night at Cressbrook Hall as part of a birthday weekend with friends. When booking, staff suggested we take one of their holiday cottages Hidesaway so we could all be together. This proved to be a great suggestion as the cottage was lovely and spacious, spotless and well equipped (I especially appreciated the fruit and herbal teas available in the kitchen). Although it was the end of November the cottage was lovely and warm, with plenty of radiators and we even had electric blankets. What a treat!

From booking to departure staff were genuinely friendly. We're definitely looking at making a return visit in the spring as Cressbrook Hall is perfectly located for a weekend walking in the Peak District.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank penj2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Cressbrook hall came very well recommended from Mick Earle from Wildtrack outdoor pursuits for our regional team build on the 23/24th Sep.The feedback from all of our general managers has been overwhelming. The location, self catering accommodation cottages and the wonderful orangery which we used for our evenings entertainment "murder mystery " we're perfect in everyway. The manager Bobby and her team were very accommodating and flexible with our special requests !! Thanks to Mick for a great choice of venue and to all the team at Cressbrook for a fabulous stay .

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We originally booked 2 nights in early June for a quiet time together but Cressbrook Hall surpassed all our expectations. Unfortunately we could only extend 1 more night or we would have stayed even longer! The location was perfect for us, the weather was stunning. It's a family run home which makes such a difference. All the advice given about eating spots, visiting spots and walks was spot on. They are lovely people in a gorgeous part of the world. We will definately go back and next time I will take friends/family to share the experience.

Room Tip: Call the owners as they will place you in the most suitable room to meet your expectations. They are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank newtrekker99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buxton
7.4 mi away
Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
7.2 mi away
The Old Hall Hotel
The Old Hall Hotel
#3 of 9 in Buxton
1,054 reviews
7.0 mi away
Premier Inn Buxton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#6 of 9 in Buxton
2,662 reviews
3.7 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
383 reviews
3.8 mi away
Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cressbrook Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cressbrook Hall

Property: Cressbrook Hall
Address: Cressbrook Hall Nr. Buxton, Buxton SK17 8SY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Buxton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Buxton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Cressbrook Hall Hotel Buxton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing