We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing place to visit”

Poole's Cavern & Buxton Country Park
Ranked #2 of 33 things to do in Buxton
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Poole’s Cavern is the most spectacular natural cavern in the Peak District. Wonder at the amazing crystal formations which adorn the vast illuminated chambers on a one hour guided tour. Discover the home of the cave dwellers and learn about their lives in our new exhibition centre. Enjoy a tasty meal in the Cavern Café and explore the fossil and gemstone shop. Stroll through Buxton country park woodlands to the panoramic viewpoint of Solomon’s Temple.
Useful Information: Food available for purchase
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Amazing place to visit”
Reviewed May 18, 2013

Expert tour guide, friendly and funny, we were a mixed group with a family but tailored it just right for all. Reasonably priced and only the weather stopped us exploring the park.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kayleigh P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,063 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    650
    347
    52
    11
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lancashire
Level Contributor
62 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Great visit.”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

We visited Poole's Cavern on 7th May. The staff at the facility were excellent, welcoming and friendly. We booked on a tour and only had to wait 5 minutes (think they are every 20 minutes) for it to start. Ashley was our guide and he was both interesting and easy to listen to. Really enjoyed our visit and got some great photos.
Some of the other reviews are correct in saying its not a long walk down to the caves nor is it a long tour but that shouldn't detract from the experience. The website gives al the information you need to read before deciding whether to visit. All I can say is that we thoroughly enjoyed our tour and felt it was worth the money (£8.80 each).

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Wandering2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sittingbourne, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
142 reviews
75 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Wonderful cave experience”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

This is a deep long cavern, with fantastic stalagmites and stalagtites. The guide had just the right touch- interesting stories and history/geology woven together. Great- especially on a wet day.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ronni L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“very reasonable park”
Reviewed May 12, 2013

loved walk to solomans temple and the café was very reasonable and dog friendly. The walk around the park was lovely.

Visited May 2013
Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Helpful?
Thank theberridges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Brilliant”
Reviewed May 10, 2013

Our time at Pooles Cavern was brilliant. Our tour guy Reg was full of soo much information and he made the experience so enjoyable! He knew the answers to every question we all asked. The cavern itself was beautiful, the detail was fascinating. My partner and me throughly enjoyed it and for £8 each it was well worth it! Our tour lasted about 1hr and a half and it was brilliant.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank vickyalane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Poole's Cavern & Buxton Country Park also viewed

Ashbourne, Derbyshire
 
 

Been to Poole's Cavern & Buxton Country Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing