We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent in every way” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Buxton's Victorian Guest House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Buxton
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Buxton's Victorian Guest House
Ranked #22 of 40 Buxton B&B and Inns
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent in every way”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

This is a really outstanding guest house, we stayed here for three nights during the Festival and it is an ideal location for the Opera House and all the other venues. The house is charming, listed grade II and it and the surrounding area is quite unspoilt as it was infact 150 years ago.
The owners have taken enormous care to get everything just right.
Quite exceptional 5/5 across the board.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rjsb07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
55
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2013

The position of this property is excellent, right beside the gardens and all restaurants etc within a short walk. The accommodation are very comfortable with sherry and chocolates in the rooms. Breakfasts are of a very high quality, served in a lovely dining room.
You will understand they have received so many awards for quality and friendliness.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank neilandjulia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuscany, Italy
Level Contributor
148 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2013

This guesthouse is a real gem, which made our stay in Buxton really enjoyable, for many reasons. First, it is in a beautiful location, in front of nice gardens and at walking distance from the centre. They also have free parking. The building itself is really beautiful. The interiors are just great, especially the dining room, which is accurately furnished. The room where we stayed (Haddon Room) is great, with a nice view on gardens and it is really confortable. Breakfast is gorgeus (ask for the full English Breakfast!). Such a beautiful atmosphere is due to the work of Alan and Barbara: they are so kind and really helpful.
Thank you very much Alan and Barbara for everything, you made our stay really wonderful. We sincerely hope to come back soon.

Room Tip: Haddon Room (1st floor) is really confortable and with a nice view on the Pavillion Gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank montinaviganti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

Our third visit to the Victorian Guest House and we enjoyed our stay as much as ever. On a cold April day we were greeted with a warm fire and a pot of tea in the lounge. The little extras add so much - mints in a dish in the hall, a small cache of sweeties in the bedroom not to mention the decanter of shery and, of course, the breakfasts for quantity, standard and presentation could not be bettered. Barbara and Alan take a keen interest in their guests and we feel as though we are at home. The house is also very convemioently situated for those who are attending the theatre.
We would have no hesitation in recommending it to any visitor.

Room Tip: The bedrooms at the front afford great views over the park
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 4, 2013

Buxton Victorian Guest house was a gen of a find. Barbara and Alan are so attentive and it is very apparent how much they care about their guests and this fabulous house. We were in the Chatsworth four poster room which was decorated with period furniture and little pieces that added to the authenticity of this lovely room. The bathroom was complete with proper fluffy towels and a power shower which was very refreshing. We travelled at Easter when the snow was still falling on Buxton, but our room was always lovely and warm. We overlooked the park and it was a real bonus having this view and being able to watch the wildlife go by. The Victorian is right on the edge of town so during our stay we were able to amble into town in the evening and we can recommend the following restaurants, Simply Thai, Lone Star and Pizza Express for good quality food and value. Our breakfasts at the Victorian were superb - the bacon, sausages and eggs from the local family butchers Mycocks the quality of which were exceptional and sourced from local farms. We had a fantastic stay and thank Barbara and Alan for their hospitality. We very much hope to be back.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west bromwich
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

After ringing several other guest houses who required a three night minimum stay over easter finally droped on the Victorian after looking on tripadvisor and after a quick phone call Barbra had taken the booking for our two night stay and confirmed booking by e.mail.This proved the effeciency that followed during our stay,on arrival coffee in the lounge was offered and when we enquired about restuarants that we wished to eat at Barbara said she would ring for us and make the reservations as being Easter if we left it later we may not get in within minutes we where sorted and shown to our room The Haddon.The room was spotlessly clean on suite and although facing onto the Broad walk and Pavilion Gardens was peacefully quiet so good night sleep on both nights.At breakfast we opted for full english which was beautifully cooked by Alan and served with the same effeciency by Barbara.We will be going back again in the summer but thanks Alan for clearing all the snow off the car park and front doorway and for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jonjud
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

Did not intend to stay here but the bad weather meant we could go no further and on the recommendation of a policeman we found a little gem. Tea on arrival, spotless large room and a warm welcome. A first class guest house with wonderful host and a breakfast that lasts you all day.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buxton hotels
0.2 mi away
The Westminster Hotel
0.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
0.1 mi away
Old Hall
Old Hall
#3 of 9 in Buxton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Buxton Hotel
0.2 mi away
Alpine Lodge Guest House
0.3 mi away
The Old Manse Guesthouse
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buxton's Victorian Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buxton's Victorian Guest House

Property: Buxton's Victorian Guest House
Address: 3A Broad Walk, Buxton SK17 6JE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Buxton
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Buxton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing