We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Breakfast out with my daughter. Grand” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Wye Bridge House

The Wye Bridge House
Ranked #32 of 110 Restaurants in Buxton
Price range: $3 - $22
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Wye Bridge House is a JD Wetherspoon Free house, set in the idealistic setting on the edge of Ashwood park in the peak district town of Buxton. The Pub sits within walking distance of the towns central shopping area with some parking in front. The large beer garden which offers sunshine all day long (weather permitting!) opens onto the park area which has playground facilities ideal for those summer days Children welcome up to 9pm. Food is served from 8am until 10pm.Highlights of the food menu include;• Lunch time deals from £4.09• Tuesday steak club from £6.75• Thursday curry club from £6.25• Sunday lunches from £6.75The pub offers up to 10 real ales from only £2.09 a pint, hence the place in the “2013 Camra Good Beer Guide”. Free Wi-Fi.*20% off all main meals with valid theatre tickets, (ideal for the summer Buxton festival).
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Breakfast out with my daughter. Grand”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

Last day before my daughter starts school so we went for breakfast at Wetherspoons as the start of our play date.

She had porridge with honey and banana and a glass of apple juice, I had the Eggs Benedict and a coffee, total cost about £6. Service was pretty quick, the guy who served us was friendly and accommodating and the food was grand. Nothing flashy, but tasty and quickly delivered to us.

For £6 all in we both had a lovely breakfast and my little girl felt that she had been treated.

Wetherspoons is what it is, simple things at low prices. If you are expecting Michelin Stars, this is the wrong place. If you want a good value meal that isn't going to cost you the earth then you'll enjoy it.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Ben_Fentem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    64
    14
    6
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Derby
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Low quality food & cooked badly.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

Ate here June 2013 with a group of people. Food came out in Dribs & drabs, no continuity with the order of food. The food was of low quality & very dry/overcooked. They also messed up our order & my daughters meal did not arrive. They couldn't find her meal on the order so it had to be made while we were all eating. By the time her meal had arrived everyone else had finished so she had to eat on her own, it was so small it looked like a child's portion which had just been cobbled together. Staff were very nonchalant in their attitude with no enthusiasm whatsoever.
So, would I eat here again? NO!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Shelley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Terrible”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

Came here when I had my trip to Buxton. What a mistake! I was already in a bad mood due to my blowout on my way into buxton and coming into here made my mood worse. The staff were terrible, and the food and drink was awful. Furthermore, looking around it was filthy. Lucky for them the job centre is 50 yards away Avoid at all costs

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Panfull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
235 reviews
124 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 278 helpful votes
“Good real ales, food also good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

We ate here on Easter Monday, and I have to say the politeness of staff, and the overall service they gave was excellent.

The quality of the real ale on offer was great, and the food was standard Wetherspoons menu, but of good quality.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SuntanMan10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Made me want to dine elsewhere”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2013 via mobile

the staff walk around with no enthusiasm like they're stuck in a dead end job! No passion no customer service and the selection on the menu is awful. Its all the same nothing stands out and catches your eye. Very very average place at best, wont be returning again

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Oliver R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Wye Bridge House also viewed

 

Been to The Wye Bridge House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing