We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Value.......Consistently good.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Wye Bridge House

The Wye Bridge House
Ranked #31 of 110 Restaurants in Buxton
Price range: $3 - $22
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Kids, Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: The Wye Bridge House is a JD Wetherspoon Free house, set in the idealistic setting on the edge of Ashwood park in the peak district town of Buxton. The Pub sits within walking distance of the towns central shopping area with some parking in front. The large beer garden which offers sunshine all day long (weather permitting!) opens onto the park area which has playground facilities ideal for those summer days Children welcome up to 9pm. Food is served from 8am until 10pm.Highlights of the food menu include;• Lunch time deals from £4.09• Tuesday steak club from £6.75• Thursday curry club from £6.25• Sunday lunches from £6.75The pub offers up to 10 real ales from only £2.09 a pint, hence the place in the “2013 Camra Good Beer Guide”. Free Wi-Fi.*20% off all main meals with valid theatre tickets, (ideal for the summer Buxton festival).
matlock
Level Contributor
160 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Great Value.......Consistently good.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2012

Nearly always head for a Wetherspoons for a decent lunch at an affordable price,the Wye is no exception.....great choice of beers.......outside seating.....and well staffed.
Only bad point....rather a small car park,,,,so be prepared to park your car elsewhere.
Loads of room inside.......but gets very busy during the holiday season,so you might have to wait.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank john s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    64
    14
    6
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Consistant Weatherspoons in a beautiful location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2012

Weatherspoons is a known quantity so it is handy when you are travelling around the UK. This pub is in a beautiful location with a lovely beer garden. Be warned through there is only a small car park and it may be advisable to park along the bottom road. My husband and I visited on a Thursday (Curry Night). Just what we wanted after we had cycled the Monsal pass. Friendly welcome and efficient service too. Great value for money.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CAHIOM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Georgia
Level Contributor
80 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Coolest Surprise in creekside garden park setting beside beautiful huge aquaduct”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2012

Love road trip surprise discoveries. This is the ONE. Rolling through the beauty of the beginnings of the PEAK National Park, Buxton almost went unnoticed UNTIL down the hill set beneath the shadow of the beautifully huge aquaduct, wr found the Wye Bridge Pub.

Superb garden park surrounds this stately
Building. Brick, neat, squeaky clean with a patio front looking down the green park hill to the bustling large brook. Inside, excellent comfortable decor- so nicely done. Hidden diamond! We sat beside a fireplace with a large window view out to the lush green, quiet park rolling down to the paths and bridges back and fro over the rolling waters.

Food and beverages excellent. Surprisingly great value.


If you are near, THIS IS A MUST STOP!

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dukeusa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
80 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“It's a Weatherspoons...Standard”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2012

Weatherspoons to me are a standard eating place where you get what you pay for and usually fast!

Whilst I don't normally go for cheap food, this place was handy for meeting up with a friend.

As with most weatherspoons it could do with a good refurb and a little TLC, but when I visited it was clean and tables were being regularly cleared when vacated.

Food was quick, hot and tasted good, what more could you want really?

Visited July 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank Kitmonkey96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West midlands
Level Contributor
166 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Cosy and warm”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2012

good quick food at reasonable rates. We had a jacket potato with tuna each and two beers. We only had to wait 10 minutes for it to arrive. service very good

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ohdearmeWestmidlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AdamWyeBridgeManager, Manager at The Wye Bridge House, responded to this review, March 30, 2012
I'm glad you enjoyed your visit and the service was to your satisfaction, hopefully we'll see you again,Thanks for the nice review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Wye Bridge House also viewed

 

Been to The Wye Bridge House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing