We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely”

Le Brasserie de la Cour
Ranked #8 of 111 Restaurants in Buxton
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar scene, Special occasions, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
West Midlands, England
Level Contributor
91 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Lovely”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

The food here is beautiful and there is always something out of the ordinary. Although they have the expected french dishes (snails and frogs legs) they have also served squirrel stew and bison the past couple of times I have been. The mashed potato is to die for! OK service although a little slow at times. The room is a litte strange as it is used a throughfair to the bar.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank becky_bourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

506 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    296
    147
    31
    20
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Middleton Cheney, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Good place for a drink too”
Reviewed March 15, 2013

Behind the restaurant is a really nice bar, set in the old vaults which creates a nice, cosy atmosphere. Good European beers available, creating that 'European experience'.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Atmosphere
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Almost like being in France”
Reviewed March 11, 2013

Although the exterior of the building does not look particularly attractive as there is quite a lot of building work going on around it, the interior is really nice. We were advised to book our evening meal as it was Saturday. We ate at 6 p.m. and the restaurant was full. The food and service were excellent (my only problem being the onions in the lyonnaise potatoes were too well done). We were also impressed by the quality of the house wine served in 460cl bottles which meant my husband could have the red and me the white. There was a really good atmosphere so much so that several tables (us included) went to the bar area after our meal to prolong the evening a little longer. The toilets were nice too.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“They even have live accordion music”
Reviewed March 5, 2013

I have known many French establishments, and this is the most thriving and popular that I have eaten in! The food is great, and the staff are very hard-working and charming. They do their very best to accommodate people who haven't reserved. The accordionist (moi, since you ask) is playing on Mar 16, Ap 13, and May 17, approx 7-10pm. French and other romantic music.
Possibly this review will be disbarred on the grounds that I have some sort of business relationship, but what I have written is objectively true, and based on many years experience of French style restaurants in the UK.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hugh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Overpriced and overated”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

Came here for lunch so I'm not sure if they improve drastically on a night or not.

We gave them the simple task of a couple of sandwiches with fries and two cups of tea. The service was poor, the food was poor, the tea was fine, the price was expensive.

I don't know how best to describe why it was poor apart from to say neither mine nor my partners tasted very good. Whether it was the ingredients or the combinations I couldn't tell you. It's hard to get a sandwich wrong but they managed to do it and then charged us a premium for it.

I recommend going elsewhere if you're after a spot of lunch.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jmilli2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacques L, Manager at Le Brasserie de la Cour, responded to this review, March 7, 2013
Hi there,

I'm sorry about your unpleasant experience with us, as a manager im not aware of what has happened I am quite shocked to see your review on here, if you had of explained to a member of our staff that you wanted to see the management because you were unhappy with something I would of been more than happy to compensate by removing it from the bill, I can assure you that all of our sandwiches are made with the highest quality ingredients and we try as a company to make sure everybody enjoys there experience with us.
we hope this will not put you off coming back.

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Brasserie de la Cour also viewed

 
Buxton, Derbyshire
 

Been to Le Brasserie de la Cour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing