We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great B & B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Griff House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 40 Buxton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great B & B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

Stayed for 1 night 28/9/13. The accommodation was excellent and the attention to detail made all the difference. The toiletries smelt divine. Will stay again when next in the area. Only a minutes walk into Buxton which is lovely town with lots to do.

Room Tip: Room 8 top floor great room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin G, Owner at Griff House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Hello Stephen,

Thank you for your review, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay and found Griff House to your liking. You were in Room 8. We are glad you liked the toiletries, which are the Beekind range from Gilchrist & Soames

We hope to see you again soon!
Martin and Kathryn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    320
    22
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
52
187
16
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

My husband and I stayed here so that he could compete in the High Peak 40 event. This meant that we would be leaving before breakfast. Martin was very accommodating, he provides us with milk and utensils so that we could have cereal in our room before we left.
Great location with just a short walk to the shops and resturants! Very clean with lovely bedrooms!
Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Missyleonarduk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin G, Owner at Griff House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thank you for your review, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay and found Griff House to be comfortable. You had to leave around 6.30, a little before our usual breakfast time so we were happy for you to have a simple breakfast in your room.

We hope to see you again in the future.
Martin and Kathryn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biggleswade, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2013

Excellent B&B in a good location in Buxton. Would definately stay again and encourage friends and family to do the same. B&B's how they should be! lounge has a good range of books and we borrowed an OS map and went to a walk arounf two local reservoirs being Fernilee and Errwood. This is a moderate days exercise being about 6 hours from start to finish and well worth it. Picture attched

Room Tip: Room 7 with the two Singles put together made for one massive bed. Great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RGV250ads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin G, Owner at Griff House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thank you for your review, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay at Griff House.

Griff House, and Buxton in general, makes an excellent base for exploring the beautiful Peak District, we are glad you liked the reservoir walk. The Goyt valley is truly stunning!

We hope to see you again before long.
Martin and Kathryn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2013

we stayed for 3 nights in September, room 5. This b&b is very nice and really clean. The room was spacious and the shower was fantastic. The bed was a little too soft for us but that's just a personal thing. There is a small parking place at the back of the b&b, but we had no problem parking on the road directly outside the b&b. However, the roads become really busy at 3.30 when school is finishing so just be aware of this. The property is just a few minutes walk from the centre of town so great location. All in all, a great place and a great break would highly recommend this place.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HampshireJellybelly1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin G, Owner at Griff House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Thank you for your review, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay at Griff House.

We hope to see you again soon.
Martin and Kathryn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caernarfon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2013

Stayed here end of september,catherine is a lovely helpful lady and the rooms were very clean.it is only a short walk to a very interesting centre in buxton.The breakfast was ideal and my friend a vegetarian was well catered for

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 123john2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin G, Owner at Griff House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Hello John,

Thank you for your review, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay at Griff House. We are glad you and Lesley liked the Griff breakfast, we find adding a Derbyshire oatcake really makes for a filling and tasty vegetarian breakfast.

We hope to see you again in the future.
Martin and Kathryn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

If you wish to stay in a first class B&B then look no further. The Victorian guest house has been beautifully restored with a modern touch whilst retaining the character of the building. Room 4 was very spacious with a very comfortable bed and with a bath. Breakfast is of a high standard. The position is a short walk from the centre. I would thoroughly recommend this guest house as offering excellent service and value for money.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin G, Owner at Griff House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Hello Sue,

Thank you for leaving your review, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay at Griff House, and found it to be comfortable and to your liking.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Martin and Kathryn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2013

If you are staying in Buxton this is the place to stay.
The rooms are clean and well decorated with large white fluffy towels and lovely toiletries in the bathrooms. Free Wifi throughout is a bonus.
Martin was very welcoming and attentive on arrival and throughout our stay (two nights) which made us feel right at home.
The breakfast is perfect with lots of choice. We had the cooked breakfast on both days which is cooked to order, locally sourced and just the right amount to set you up for the day.
I cannot recommend Griff House enough, it is a gem of place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BernieCorbey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin G, Owner at Griff House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, October 29, 2013
Hello Bernie,

Thank you for leaving your review, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay at Griff House, it's lovely to receive such kind words as feedback.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Martin and Kathryn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buxton hotels
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Buxton Hotel
0.4 mi away
Old Hall
Old Hall
#3 of 9 in Buxton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#6 of 9 in Buxton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,503 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Queen's Head Hotel
The Queen's Head Hotel
#5 of 40 in Buxton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
0.4 mi away
Alpine Lodge Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Griff House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Griff House Bed & Breakfast

Property: Griff House Bed & Breakfast
Address: 2 Compton Road, Buxton SK17 9DN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Buxton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Buxton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Griff House Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing