We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FIRST CLASS”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Griff House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 39 Buxton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 28, 2013

If you wish to stay in a first class B&B then look no further. The Victorian guest house has been beautifully restored with a modern touch whilst retaining the character of the building. Room 4 was very spacious with a very comfortable bed and with a bath. Breakfast is of a high standard. The position is a short walk from the centre. I would thoroughly recommend this guest house as offering excellent service and value for money.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sue F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin G, Owner at Griff House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Hello Sue,

Thank you for leaving your review, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay at Griff House, and found it to be comfortable and to your liking.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Martin and Kathryn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (374)
There are newer reviews for Griff House Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

266 - 272 of 374 reviews

Reviewed September 26, 2013

If you are staying in Buxton this is the place to stay.
The rooms are clean and well decorated with large white fluffy towels and lovely toiletries in the bathrooms. Free Wifi throughout is a bonus.
Martin was very welcoming and attentive on arrival and throughout our stay (two nights) which made us feel right at home.
The breakfast is perfect with lots of choice. We had the cooked breakfast on both days which is cooked to order, locally sourced and just the right amount to set you up for the day.
I cannot recommend Griff House enough, it is a gem of place to stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BernieCorbey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin G, Owner at Griff House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Hello Bernie,

Thank you for leaving your review, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay at Griff House, it's lovely to receive such kind words as feedback.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Martin and Kathryn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2013

Never having visited the Derbyshire Dales I checked with Trip Advisor to find somewhere for my wife and I to stay during our mini break. Griff House certainly fitted the bill.Ideally situated, the B and B was just a short walk to the centre of town and close to all restaurants.Our room was perfect with everything we needed,and the bed was really comfortable.The breakfast was excellent and set us up for the rest of the day.Martin was very helpful and attentive.I have no hesitation in recommending Griff House to any of our friends who visit Buxton.Well done to Martin and Kathryn.!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank seniorpartridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin G, Owner at Griff House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Hello John,

Thank you for leaving your review, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay at Griff House, and found it to be comfortable and to your liking. It's lovely to receive such kind words as feedback :-)

We hope to see you again soon.
Martin and Kathryn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

we travelled as 2 couples, the weekend of 13th September, I had been looking on the reviews for weeks. None of the group were disappointed with our stay the breakfast was a good start to the day, the rooms were clean warm and spacious. Martin helped us out with wine and brandy glasses so we could have pre dinner drinks it was a very nice weekend and wouldn't hesitate to recommend it to anybody wanting a special weekend in Buxton.

Room Tip: we had room 4 but I am sure any of the rooms would be of the same standard
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sue p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin G, Owner at Griff House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Hello Sue,

Thank you for leaving your review, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay at Griff House, and found it to be warm, comfortable and to your liking. Guests are always welcome to use the lounge, it's nice as a meeting place when groups stay and we often supply glasses for a civilised sip or two before or after dinner!

We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Martin and Kathryn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013 via mobile

We spent 3 nights at Griff House and what a pleasant stay we had! We were made to feel very welcome by the owners. The rooms are clean, warm and decorated to a high standard. We had everything we needed in the room, access to wifi, kettle, mini fridge, hair dryer, iron and ironing board available on request and loads of little extras like sewing kit, shoe shine and corkscrew. Breakfast was lovely with cereals, fruit, full English and vegetarian option. I enjoyed the homemade granola!

Location
Excellent location! We were given lots of ideas and directions by the owners, so helpful. Griff House is close to restaurants and shops. Also within easy reach of attractions such as the Monsal trail, you can pick this up at Wyedale car park which is near Buxton only a 10-15 minute drive. Only approximately a 20 minute drive from Castleton where you can experience the peak cavern and steepwell cavern. Would highly recommend Griff house. Good value, lovely owners, clean rooms and nice breakfast. Thank you!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank babyg2gr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin G, Owner at Griff House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Thank you for leaving your review, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay at Griff House, and liked all the little extras we provide for the rooms. The Peak District is full of lovely places to explore, we are glad you found Griff House to be a suitable base for your sightseeing.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Martin and Kathryn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We chose Griff House because of its rating on Tripadvisor and we certainly weren’t disappointed. The house has been extensively refurbished to a high standard and even the sash windows had been replaced in a sympathetic style. The house is a large Victorian house and the rooms are very spacious with high ceilings and had very good solid furniture. There were ample tea making facilities and nice wall mounted TV and a lovely comfy bed. We were in room 4 and had no complaints whatsoever.

There were all of the normal tea making facilities, hairdryers and local information. The breakfasts and choice were what you would expect of a high class B&B. I liked the idea of reusing the napkin to be greener.

There is ample street parking and it is lovely and quiet despite being a minute’s walk from the High Street and about 10 minutes walk away from a delightful park that had been restored to its former Victorian splendour.

If you want a good base for the Peak District within easy driving distance of many National Trust properties, you could do much worse than Buxton and Griff House.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IanandCathy42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin G, Owner at Griff House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Hello Ian and Cathy,

Thank you for leaving your review, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay at Griff House, and found it to be comfortable and to your liking.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Martin and Kathryn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 15, 2013

We chose to stay at Griff House for a long weekend over the August Bank holiday while attending a friends wedding. The guest house had excellent ratings on trip advisor and we were not disappointed. It has an excellent location and has recently been totally refurbished. The rooms we stayed in were spacious and very clean. Breakfast was excellent and they were more than happy to accommodate a two month year old baby. Would recommend to anyone staying in the area.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bentfords
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin G, Owner at Griff House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded September 17, 2013

Thank you for leaving your review, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay.

We note you awarded us 4/5 for value. You paid £75 per room per night for two double rooms over the August Bank Holiday weekend which we believe compares favourably with similar quality 4* B&Bs in Buxton and is £5-£10 per night cheaper than some.

We hope to see you again in the future.
Martin and Kathryn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buxton
0.7 mi away
Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
0.6 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#6 of 9 in Buxton
2,803 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Old Hall Hotel
The Old Hall Hotel
#3 of 9 in Buxton
1,132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Queen's Head Hotel
The Queen's Head Hotel
#5 of 39 in Buxton
179 reviews
13.8 mi away
Robin Hood Farm B&B
Robin Hood Farm B&B
#1 of 5 in Baslow
291 reviews
17.4 mi away
Castle Green B&B
Castle Green B&B
#1 of 53 in Matlock
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Griff House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Griff House Bed & Breakfast

Address: 2 Compton Road, Buxton SK17 9DN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Buxton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Buxton
Price Range: $88 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Griff House Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing