We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Comfortable & Friendly B&B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Griff House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 40 Buxton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A Comfortable & Friendly B&B”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I spent the last two nights at Griff House. Our host, Martin, was great; helping with the bags on arrival, advising us as to the most scenic locations in the area - even doing washing for us! Really appreciated his help. Our room was great, and the B&B is in a great location; not far from the sights of Buxton but in a nice quiet area. A good-sized room with a good-sized ensuite bathroom. Didn't opt for the full English breakfast, but enjoyed the home-made granola (courtesy of Martin's wife Kathryn). Would certainly recommend Griff House to visitors to Derbyshire.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Geoff W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    320
    22
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
52
187
16
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Glastonbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

Our family of 5 occupied 2 rooms at the Griff House and we were very impressed. The rooms were exceptionally clean and very comfortable. We had been traveling for a week, and Martin was so helpful in coordinating getting our laundry done. The Griff House is a short walk to the town center of Buxton - which is lovely. The breakfast was delicious. Martin's hospitality is top notch - we will definitely stay at the Griff House when we visit Buxton in the future.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roberta T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

My mum and I stayed at Griff House for two nights and we were both delighted with the place. Our room had everything we needed, breakfast was great and our host, Martin, was very helpful. He even carried our suitcases up the stairs! Thank you again!
We thought it was much better than a hotel, much more personal. Would definetly go back!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Scarfandmittens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hastings, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

We stayed in early July and were delighted with everything. Martin was very welcoming and helpful, providing details for anything and everything we wanted to know - even the ingredients and preparation methods for Kathryn's fabulously delicious granola! (The cooked breakfast was first class too - all local food items).
Very comfortable large room and well placed for the centre of Buxton.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keswick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

In July my husband and I met with some very good friends for a walking weekend in Derbyshire and stayed at Griff House. We had a wonderful stay and can unreservedly recommend Griff House. We were made very welcome by Martin and Kathryn who went out of their way to make sure our stay was enjoyable. The bedroom was lovely, very comfy bed, great en suite. Breakfast was first class, freshly cooked local produce, really set us up for our walks. Extremely good value. Martin and Kathryn had lots of local knowledge regarding restaurants for evening meals, which we found very helpful. We will definitely return to Griff House, thank you very much Martin and Kathryn.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank June D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Douglas, Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2013

I came to buxton by myself and stayed with martin and kathyrn at Griff house. they couldn't have been more helpful. they were genuinely nice people who went out of their way to be nice to me. the room was very spacious and clean. everything was there at hand, shower gel and hand gel for the bathroom, coffee, tea, hot chocolate. mini fridge, biscuits, buxton water! the bed was so comfy, it was hard to get up in the morning! breakfast time was lovely.the food was really tasty especially the granola! I would definitely come back here again. Its a big thumbs up for me and everyone is very warm and friendly in Buxton and perfect for children.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gemma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin G, Owner at Griff House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Hi Gemma,

Thanks for leaving your review. Travelling abroad on your own can be daunting, so we are especially pleased you felt welcome at Griff House and secure in and around Buxton.

It was a pleasure to be your hosts, we hope to see you again next year!
Martin and Kathryn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

We booked 2 rooms at Griff House for the weekend of my nephew's wedding. I did my research (Trip Advisor reviews included) and decided that Griff House looked like a place we would like. From the first email enquiry we found Martin and Kathryn to be friendly and helpful. We had the first floor double room with the bay window with a fabulous view across to the hills. A very spacious and comfortable room. Our adult kids shared a twin room on the floor above, with the same view. Again, a spacious and comfortable room. Both had good sized bathrooms, with windows, so well lit and airy. Plus the gorgeous fluffy bath towels.
We arrived Friday afternoon and were warmly welcomed. Martin offered to bring us wine glasses should we wish to use the sitting room during the evening. We did sit in there for a while, but didn't need glasses as we'd had an excellent meal out - we don't often get all 4 of us together, living in different parts of the country.
Breakfast was excellent. I can add to the comments of other reviewers about the granola - really very good. And the cooked breakfast even got our son out of bed on Saturday morning!
Martin and Kathryn were very kind to us as we got ready for the wedding, offering us an iron and ironing board should we need them, and even extra milk for cups of tea and coffee as we got ready. Incidentally, the fridges in the rooms with fresh milk are an excellent idea. So much better than UHT milk cartons.
This is a top rate B&B, very comfortable, and good value for money. My brother is moving away from Buxton, but if we are there again, we would certainly stay at Griff House.
One thing that I noted in particular was the young lass on Saturday morning cleaning the newel posts on the stairs. Every single one was thoroughly wiped. No doubt a tedious task, but she was smiling and we passed the time of day. Such attention to detail says a lot about this place. Thinking of staying here? I'd say book quickly while rooms are available!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angie47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin G, Owner at Griff House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Hi Angie,

Thank you for leaving your review. Your rooms were 4 and 8, these do have our nicest views of the town and the hills beyond. Our homemade granola is very popular with our guests and certainly 'out-sells' the Kellogg varieties we offer. We have been supplying fresh milk in the room fridges for a few months now, it creates a little more work for us but in our opinion it's worth it - milk in little plastic cartons simply doesn't cut it!

There's plenty to see and do in and around Buxton and the Peak District so even when your brother has moved away we would love to have you stay at Griff House again in the future.
Martin and Kathryn

PS The young lass was delighted to get a mention, thank you :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Buxton hotels
0.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Buxton Hotel
0.4 mi away
Old Hall
Old Hall
#3 of 9 in Buxton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,000 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#6 of 9 in Buxton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,502 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Queen's Head Hotel
The Queen's Head Hotel
#5 of 40 in Buxton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
0.4 mi away
Alpine Lodge Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Griff House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Griff House Bed & Breakfast

Property: Griff House Bed & Breakfast
Address: 2 Compton Road, Buxton SK17 9DN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Buxton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Buxton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Griff House Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing