We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleasant, quiet and clean.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Griff House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 39 Buxton B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 29, 2012

A lovely stay, in very clean rooms. The early morning breakfast was wonderfull with plenty of choice and the service was with a smile making the early morning start a little easier!
I would recommend it to a friend.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charlietourstinga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin G, Owner at Griff House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2012

Thank you for posting your review, guest feedback is always appreciated. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and will recommend us, always nice to have guests leaving happy.

You may like to know that since your visit we have replaced all the furniture in your room (other than the beds) with new solid oak furniture. We have also had our annual assessment by Quality in Tourism (aka the tourist board) and we are delighted to advise that Griff House has been awarded an improved grading of four stars.

We note that you marked us 4/5 for value and 3/5 for location. We feel our pricing is competitive compared with comparable neighbouring B&Bs, especially as we were trading at a "4*" level despite only having a 3* rating at the time. As for location, Griff House is in a quiet residential area only a few minutes stroll from the town centre and about ten minutes from the Opera House, which was the purpose of your visit - 4* B&Bs nearer the Opera House are generally far dearer than the Griff!

We hope to see you again soon so we can show you the new four star Griff House!

Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (374)
There are newer reviews for Griff House Bed & Breakfast
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

346 - 352 of 374 reviews

Reviewed September 24, 2012

We arrived in Buxton just in time for a festival and got the last room! They only had room for us because they had a last minute cancellation. We were leaving to come home to Canada early the next morning and wanted to stay 1 quick night! The owner was so kind to us- she left us milk and yogurt in the small fridge in the room so that we would not go with out breakfast in the morning- and then she got up very early on a Sunday morning to make us breakfast anyway!

The room was very clean, modern with a lovely bathroom. Every little detail was thought of-including a little sewing kit and q-tips and facial sponges!

A great place-we wish we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jo j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Spent one night in the Family room. We found it great, very clean and spacious. Breakfast was first class however if you have kids you might like to ask for plain scrambled eggs as mine were alarmed by the herbs through theirs!
Martin and Kathryn were very understanding regarding a change in our plans and made us feel welcome to stay again.
Great base for exploring Buxton which is a fab village.
Loved the mini fridge in the bedroom, travelling with a baby meant we could keep his bottles in it.
Lots of treats supplied in the room such as biscuits, hot chocolate and bottled water.
Happy to recommend.

Room Tip: The family room was more than spacious enough with 2 adults 2 children and a travel cot.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SpeedyEadie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin G, Owner at Griff House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2012

Thank you for posting your review, guest feedback is always appreciated.

Plans do sometimes change at short notice and cancellation at breakfast of your second night did leave us with an empty room for the Saturday night where we had been turning people away, so we there was a small charge. In your case we understood that the reason was clearly genuine and we offered you the charge back as a discount towards a future stay - we really hope you take us up on this and I promise not to put herbs in the children's eggs next time!!

You may like to know that since your visit we have replaced all the furniture in your room (other than the beds) with new solid oak furniture. We have also had our annual assessment by Quality in Tourism (aka the tourist board) and we are delighted to advise that we have been awarded an improved grading of four stars. We hope to see you again soon so we can show you the "new new" Griff House!

Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Comfortable well equipped room with all a guest needs. Good quality and a flexible choice for breakfast provided a good start to our day. Helpful above and beyond the call of duty, and in a sector with too many also-rans Kathryn & Martyn deserve to succeed.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ildi007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin G, Owner at Griff House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded October 14, 2012

Thank you for posting your review, feedback is always appreciated. You may like to know that since your visit we have replaced all the furniture in your room (other than the bed) with new solid oak furniture. We have also had our annual assessment by Quality in Tourism (aka the tourist board) and we are delighted to advise that we have been awarded an improved grading of four stars. We hope to see you again soon so we can show you the "new new" Griff House!

Martin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

It was a treat to stay in this newly refurbished B&B - every thing has been done to the highest standard and the owners are extremely friendly and helpful. The location is within easy walk of both the town and the beautiful hills around Buxton. Happy to highly recommend to others.

Room Tip: The whole house seemed really quiet and comfortable.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ruth H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin G, Owner at Griff House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2012

Hello Ruth, thank you for taking the time to leave a review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay at Griff House, a friendly ambience is what we aim for and there's certainly lots of good walking to be had in our part of the Peak District. We hope to see you again before too long.

Martin and Kathryn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

I booked into Room 1 with a family of four (2 adults/2 young children) for four nights in August. Originally booked for three but liked the B&B so much we extended a further night. The hotel has been beautifully renovated recently, and is extremely close to town, a 5 minute walk and you are in the Pavillion gardens which is a nice way to go into town. If you have young children (and the time!), the park has excellent playgrounds and a minituare train for kids.
Back to Griff House - if you appreciate period properies sympathetically restored whilst combined with modern amenities you'd expect in a Hotel, then this is the B&B for you. As you enter the height of the ceilings, the width of the hallways, landings and stairs and the sheer size of those internal doors will be appreciated. But then you walk into the Bedroom to a modern en-suite bathroom, flatscreen TV on the wall (no wires to be seen!), an Ipod docking alarm clock and good wi-fi coverage throughout. Due to the recent refurb you also get the recently painted and new carpet smell as you traverse around Griff House.
Other things future guests might like to know that I consider worthy of pointing out - the room had a small fridge, a safe, nice wide shower with good quality fittings. The windows are all replacement wooden sash windows, so whilst we quite luckily arrived in the sunny weather and had them open, I would imagine they stand up well to a winter draught test also. They had restrictors of course to stop children opening them too far also.
The interior decore and furnishings were all failrly new and very comfortable for a good nights sleep. Outside there was always a place to park, either in the car park itself or outside on the road, no issues there. Downstairs we enjoyed the large communal lounge where we watched some Olympic finals.
Breakfasts were well cooked by Martin, sourcing locally produced ingredients, Kathryn’s homemade granola is recommended and there was always a pot of fresh filter coffee on the go. Breakfast set us up nicely for the day in the Peaks, and nothing was ever too much bother.
As you can tell from the review, I would highly recommend this B&B to anyone looking for decent food, excellent hosts, a good night’s sleep and proximity to town.
Thanks for a perfect stay, we’ll be back for another visit.

Room Tip: Room 1 good size for a family of four, one double two singles.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dmh2174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin G, Owner at Griff House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2012

Hello, thank you for posting such a thorough review! We are glad you enjoyed your stay and liked the changes we have made to Griff House. It was quite a project and so it is nice for our efforts to be appreciated. We were keen to retain (and enhance) as many of the original features as we could whilst updating facilities to match the modern traveller's expectations - hopefully we have achieved this. We look forward to seeing you and your family again soon.

Martin and Kathryn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2012

We spent a couple of nights with my wife and children, rooms were brand new, great bedding and a good and silent location. Breakfast was really good and the people were very welcoming and kind. Will definitely recommend it for family, business or couple trip.

Frank

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paola B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martin G, Owner at Griff House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2012

Hello Frank, it was a pleasure to provide a base for you and your family during your recent Peak District visit, we are glad you enjoyed your stay. The bedding was all new for the start of the 2012 season and is 400+ count cotton for extra comfort. We feel this is equally important for a good night's sleep as the quiet location - Griff House is on Green Lane, a peaceful area just a few minutes walk from the town centre and opera house.

We look forward to seeing you all again next time you visit Buxton.

Martin and Kathryn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buxton
0.7 mi away
Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
0.6 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#6 of 9 in Buxton
2,803 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Old Hall Hotel
The Old Hall Hotel
#3 of 9 in Buxton
1,132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Queen's Head Hotel
The Queen's Head Hotel
#5 of 39 in Buxton
179 reviews
13.8 mi away
Robin Hood Farm B&B
Robin Hood Farm B&B
#1 of 5 in Baslow
291 reviews
17.4 mi away
Castle Green B&B
Castle Green B&B
#1 of 53 in Matlock
439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Griff House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Griff House Bed & Breakfast

Address: 2 Compton Road, Buxton SK17 9DN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Buxton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Buxton
Price Range: $88 - $114 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Griff House Bed & Breakfast 4*
Number of rooms: 5

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing