We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charmingly unique hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Old Hall

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Old Hall
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Buxton
Certificate of Excellence
Kent
1 review
“Charmingly unique hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2009

We have just returned from a wonderful weekend at the Old Hall. A charming cosy hotel dispite there being a wedding reception on the Saturday night the hotel had a great atmosphere and the staff were friendly and very helpful. The rooms - executive doubles were spacious but cosy with wonderfully comfortable beds which were just what were needed after a long day walking in the peaks. Food was excellent.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KarenL11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

995 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    461
    376
    99
    36
    23
See reviews for
109
582
22
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (256)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2009

My wife & I stayed in the hotel as rare escape from the kids & to combine with a bit of Christmas shopping & a play at the Opera House (which we absolutely love). It's the second time we've stayed at the Old Hall & chose to stay there again mainly for the great location - central in Buxton & over the road from the Opera House. We went for a "standard" room & were actually pleasantly surprised - from what we remembered of our previous visit the room was rather nicer & certainly had none of the "getting a bit tired" vibes that you sometimes get from this age of hotel. We loved the fact that the floors sloped & the room had all the charm you would expect of this type of hotel. The price seemed OK given the location, not cheap but maybe not over the odds either. Really must say that the staff at the hotel were without exception very friendly & polite - made a welcome change from the usual standard in English hotels. I don't think you can go far wrong with this place, especially if you're looking for somewhere to stay next to the Opera House & where you can get something to eat after the performance.

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Hannibal44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berwick upon Tweed, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2009

Another late review on my part but here goes anyway...

We stayed here in September as friends of ours were having their wedding reception and evening do so we decided to make the most of it and stay two nights.

Nice friendly reception staff and nothing was too much trouble for them. Our room was most impressive (room 15), it was huge with plenty of space to hang wedding clothes, suits etc and a lovely dressing table. Bathroom was also very nicely done out with ample toiletries. We discovered that all rooms had been given new beds and I have to say this bed is one of the comfiest I have slept in at a hotel/B&B. It was tastefully decorated as well - in fact this room was nicer than the Mary Bower room our friends had for their wedding night!

Breakfast was definately above average - good choice and plenty of tea with DECENT tea bags/leaves! We didn't actually have an evening meal in the hotel as we ate out the night before but the wedding breakfast was very good and also the buffet later in which had generous portions and good selection.

My only criticism of this hotel was the price and some of the public rooms could do with attention (except the main restaurant) as with the corridors up to the room. Even though our room was lovely, the hotel is not in the 4 star bracket and I do feel £100 is rather alot to pay (and this was with a discount as we were part of the wedding party). In fact I would have been happy to stay at the hotel for three nights but I wasn't prepared to pay another £100 so we `transferred' to the Grosvenor B&B up the street.

  • Liked — Comfy bed, lovely breakfast and ideal spot to tour Buxton
  • Disliked — Price and could do with tidying up in places
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank POH71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2008

Over on business with over associates and stayed in Room 6 and hated it.
Positives
The Hotel itself has history attached to it
Located in some beautiful country side and for nostalgia
Breakfast which was a typical home style experience well enjoyed each morning
Bathroom newly refurnished
Negatives
Staff very rude and not helpful what's so ever
Room 6 slanted, even the furniture needed to be cut to make it level
Room well to narrow and cannot hold a normal length bed
2 single beds (under length more suited to small kids)
Hallways damp musky smells
Lunch / Dinners plain and average considering price charged
Summary
Never ever again, will try elsewhere if I ever visit town again

  • Liked — nostalgia and breakfast
  • Disliked — Room 6 sub standard
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Krannyonline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
2 reviews
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2008

Single room (no 15). Small but adequate, clean, and well priced.
Let down by two things - the extreme slope on the floorboards meant that one side of the single bed was about 3" lower than the other - may sound trivial but believe me it isn't , and could easily be fixed by levelling the bed- & the compressor type noise mentioned by other guests which goes on 24 hours and makes it impossible to sleep without ear plugs.

Breakfast was excellent and is served until 10:00am

  • Liked — great location, good price
  • Disliked — the noise (machine not people or traffic generated)
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LondonSt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2007

Our room was well presented and very clean although a bit on the small side. The shower was excellent. The decor throughout the hotel has seen better days. Breakfast was good and the service fine. Overall a nice place to stay but I would only pay £70-80 for a room, not the £120 we paid.

  • Liked — The shower
  • Disliked — The price
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank emmarachel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2007

This hotel could be absolutely fantastic: old, atmospheric, historic and floorboard-creaky, with friendly staff. But unfortunately it's slipped behind other hotels of similar age, atmosphere and price bracket, which is a real shame.

We've stayed in two different rooms (Mary's Bower and a four poster over the corridor). Both were grubby, with stained upholstery, tired furnishings, scummy bath-rings and other people's pubic hair in the bath (yes, really). Furnishings are lavish but old fashioned, bathroom decor is reasonably modern but cheap, amenities are lacking for the price charged (no Internet access, ironing board or bath robe) and as for the bed...words fail us. Awful mattress and - the Old Hall must surely be the only hotel left in the UK still to have this - horrid old blankets instead of a nuce fluffy duvet. The latter is just unconscionable in 2007. On the plus side, the room is very big. Oh, and the lemon biscuits are nice. That's about it, really.

This wouldn't matter so much if the room rate was more reasonable. We paid £130 per night, but we feel that around £90 per night would be more appropriate. For £130 you can stay in fabulous hotels like the Lowry in Manchester or Osborne House in Llandudno.

This hotel is crying out for investment and modernisation. Think what other hoteliers have done with old buildings, such as the wonderful Great John Street Hotel in Manchester. Osborne House is a perfect example: stuffed with antiques, fabulously comfy and as opulent as you could wish, and where we paid only £5 per night more than the Old Hall.

On the plus side, the wine bar is lovely for dinner. Breakfast is included in the room rate but is pretty average.

Such a shame, because this hotel could be among the best.

  • Stayed October 2007
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buxton
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#6 of 9 in Buxton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,429 reviews
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Buxton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 7 in Bakewell
4.0 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
15.1 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
17.9 mi away
Peak Edge Hotel
Peak Edge Hotel
#1 of 1 in Stonedge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Hall

Property: Old Hall
Address: The Square, Buxton SK17 6BD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Buxton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Buxton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Hall 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Old Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Hall Hotel Buxton
Old Hall Buxton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing