We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding night”
Review of The Old Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Old Hall Hotel
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Buxton
Certificate of Excellence
Hyde, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Wedding night”
Reviewed February 14, 2014

We picked the Old Hall after visiting Buxton and the Old Hall many times in the run up to our wedding at the nearby Devonshire Dome. The quaint ambience of olde england runs through much of the hotel.
The reception staff were attentive and helpful when unloading the car. The room itself was spacious and grand. The main mattress of room 29 could have done with replacing, but otherwise a perfectly good room with a lovely view of the park out of the big sash (and operational) windows.
Breakfast was delicious, beef sausage was a welcome addition to the plate.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank KevinRenouprez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SallyPotter287, General Manager at The Old Hall Hotel, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on Trip Advisor. I am very happy to see you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and I hope you had a lovely wedding day. We hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards,

Sally Potter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,055 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    495
    396
    100
    40
    24
See reviews for
122
612
23
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (267)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Budleigh Salterton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2014

We loved this lovely old Hotel. Being a healthy large loving couple we had to refuse the offer of a four-poster bed as previous generations were not as tall as us. Offered Room 31 we met an enourmous bed with all the sleep space any big guy and girl could need.
Lovely room - a great stay - in all but the breakfast.
It is a classic British problem, you hire young girls who have such a nice time chatting they don't even notice you are there. When I went up to them (they were not going to come to us) and said "Good Morning" the girl reading her newspaper did not even look up "Good Morning" she replied - No eye contact at all.
I suspect no training at all. Greeting a guest should be lesson number one.
Everything else wonderful - and Dinner service faultless! Cheers! Jed Falby

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jedfal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SallyPotter287, General Manager at The Old Hall Hotel, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on Trip Advisor. I am very happy to see you enjoyed your visit to our hotel. I would like to apologise for the service that you were given on breakfast. I have since spoken to the restaurant manager who will speak to the staff and provide more training on customer service as we pride ourselves on excellent service. We hope this does not stop you from choosing our hotel in the near future.

Kindest Regards,

Sally Potter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 11, 2014

For those liking a historical ambiance Old Hall has links with Mary Queen of Scots who stayed in the building during her captivity. The food was excellent (evening meal & breakfast) in terms of quality of ingredients and presentation with reasonable menu choice (evening meal) and excellent choice (breakfast). It is an old building and bedroom (Classic range) was a little quirky with steps to en-suite, so check when booking if you have mobility problems. Some rooms might be in slightly better decorative order but the bedroom was warm and well provided with the essentials etc. Service was attentive. Our only criticism was car parking - essentially when we arrived (early evening, Friday) ... ..there wasn't any and we parked some distance from the hotel. The centre of Buxton can get very busy - even in February! Car parking restrictions in the centre of the town also mean you have to park carefully to avoid zealous parking wardens. However, for pedestrians the central location is excellent and overall we much enjoyed our brief stay and would choose Old Hall again (but keep luggage to a minimum just in case !!)..

Room Tip: Do discuss before booking especially if you prioritise a quiet night's sleep as some bedrooms ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Jim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SallyPotter287, General Manager at The Old Hall Hotel, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on Trip Advisor. Our hotel is full of character and charm as it is one of the oldest hotels in England. We do not have our own private car park but we are very lucky that the council allow us to give our residents permits that last for 24hours and override the restrictions outside. Unfortunately we cannot always guarantee that there will be a space available. We do not tend to have any big problems with this unless there is a big show at the opera house: I apologise that you struggled to find a space on this occasion. We hope to welcome you again soon.

Kind Regards,

Sally Potter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forres, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed February 11, 2014

A charming hotel with real old style elegance. The food is excellent, the staff are helpful, the dining room is from an age now largely lost and the wine bar has a great atmosphere. Just across the street (where there's chep and safe parking) is the pavillion, park and opera house. An idyllkic rest, like stepping back in time. AND they take dogs! What more could you want.

Don't forget to fill up water bottles at the free spa tap around the corner - runs 24 hours!

My friend (canine) loves staying here

Room Tip: If you stay on the front you have a view of the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank JudithH10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SallyPotter287, General Manager at The Old Hall Hotel, responded to this review, February 16, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on Trip Advisor. I am very happy to see you enjoyed your visit to our hotel and found the staff helpful. We are in a great location as we are in the centre of Buxton. We hope to welcome you again very soon.

Kind Regards,

Sally Potter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitehaven, Cumbria, England
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights in early February.

The hotel has lots of character. Bedrooms and bathrooms are generously sized - furniture is traditional, bedding and towels are good quality. Decent quality toiletries are provided.

Some of the hotel is a little tired, but at the price point you can't really complain.

Staff were always friendly, efficient and helpful. Great location next to the Opera House and Crescent.

Breakfast was varied and the cooked option was tasty. Went out in the evenings as there are loads of places to eat in Buxton.

All in all - would definitely return.

Room Tip: Room 5 had a superking (2 singles together) bed - firm and very comfortable. Looked out over the gar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank am36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SallyPotter287, General Manager at The Old Hall Hotel, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on Trip Advisor. I am very happy to see you enjoyed your visit to our hotel which is full of character and charm as it is one of the oldest hotels in England. I would recommend for you to regularly check our website or Facebook page as we have fantastic offers running throughout the year. We hope to welcome you again very soon.

Kind Regards,

Sally Potter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakewell, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2014

I have used the Old Hall on several occasions now for functions, food and events and can only praise the hotel for its efficiency, helpfulness and friendliness. It's not a huge corporate venue with vast and boring rooms, the Old Hall is historic, quirky, full of character and upholds traditional values of good hospitality and quality. Whether I am there for fine dining cuisine or just calling in for a coffee, I know I will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: I'd love to stay in Mary Queen of Scot's Room and try out the four poster. As close to being...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank sallymosleyguide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SallyPotter287, General Manager at The Old Hall Hotel, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on Trip Advisor. We are always so happy to welcome returning guests including those who use of conference facilities. We have 3 different sizes of conference rooms and offer packages to suit your request/requirements. We hope to welcome you again very soon.

Kindest Regards,

Sally Potter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Ayton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed February 4, 2014

A lovely hotel in the heart of Buxton. Traditional and cosy with a friendly staff the hotel was a delight to stay in on a cold winters evening. Food was good and breakfast was excellent. I had room 23 by the lift but not noisy. Lovely big room with modern shower and traditional furniture in the room. Had a really good nights sleep.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank MikeSmith3L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SallyPotter287, General Manager at The Old Hall Hotel, responded to this review, February 9, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on Trip Advisor. I am happy to see you enjoyed your visit to our hotel. We are in a perfect location in the centre of Buxton. We hope to welcome you again soon.

Kind Regards,

Sally Potter
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buxton
0.3 mi away
Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#6 of 9 in Buxton
2,666 reviews
10.3 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
384 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.1 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
17.7 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
268 reviews
10.4 mi away
Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Hall Hotel

Property: The Old Hall Hotel
Address: The Square, Buxton SK17 6BD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Buxton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Buxton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Old Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Hall Hotel Buxton
Old Hall Buxton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing