We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Old Hall Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Navigation Inn(Buxworth)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hollin Hall Hotel(Macclesfield)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,362)
Filter reviews
1,362 results
Traveler rating
676
501
115
44
26
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
676
501
115
44
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswine barmary queen of scotsopera housesloping floorssteeped in historyoldest hotel in englandparking ticketpre theatre dinnerwinter warmerlots of historymain restaurantfour posterpavilion gardenshistoric hotellovely hotelexecutive roomwedding breakfast
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
842 - 847 of 1,362 reviews
Reviewed February 11, 2014

For those liking a historical ambiance Old Hall has links with Mary Queen of Scots who stayed in the building during her captivity. The food was excellent (evening meal & breakfast) in terms of quality of ingredients and presentation with reasonable menu choice (evening meal) and excellent choice (breakfast). It is an old building and bedroom (Classic range) was a little quirky with steps to en-suite, so check when booking if you have mobility problems. Some rooms might be in slightly better decorative order but the bedroom was warm and well provided with the essentials etc. Service was attentive. Our only criticism was car parking - essentially when we arrived (early evening, Friday) ... ..there wasn't any and we parked some distance from the hotel. The centre of Buxton can get very busy - even in February! Car parking restrictions in the centre of the town also mean you have to park carefully to avoid zealous parking wardens. However, for pedestrians the central location is excellent and overall we much enjoyed our brief stay and would choose Old Hall again (but keep luggage to a minimum just in case !!)..

Room Tip: Do discuss before booking especially if you prioritise a quiet night's sleep as some bedrooms are above kitchen / adjacent to lift etc.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jim W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SallyPotter287, General Manager at The Old Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on Trip Advisor. Our hotel is full of character and charm as it is one of the oldest hotels in England. We do not have our own private car park but we are very lucky that the council allow us to give our residents permits that last for 24hours and override the restrictions outside. Unfortunately we cannot always guarantee that there will be a space available. We do not tend to have any big problems with this unless there is a big show at the opera house: I apologise that you struggled to find a space on this occasion. We hope to welcome you again soon.

Kind Regards,

Sally Potter
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 11, 2014

A charming hotel with real old style elegance. The food is excellent, the staff are helpful, the dining room is from an age now largely lost and the wine bar has a great atmosphere. Just across the street (where there's chep and safe parking) is the pavillion, park and opera house. An idyllkic rest, like stepping back in time. AND they take dogs! What more could you want.

Don't forget to fill up water bottles at the free spa tap around the corner - runs 24 hours!

My friend (canine) loves staying here

Room Tip: If you stay on the front you have a view of the park.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank JudithH10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SallyPotter287, General Manager at The Old Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 16, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on Trip Advisor. I am very happy to see you enjoyed your visit to our hotel and found the staff helpful. We are in a great location as we are in the centre of Buxton. We hope to welcome you again very soon.

Kind Regards,

Sally Potter
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights in early February.

The hotel has lots of character. Bedrooms and bathrooms are generously sized - furniture is traditional, bedding and towels are good quality. Decent quality toiletries are provided.

Some of the hotel is a little tired, but at the price point you can't really complain.

Staff were always friendly, efficient and helpful. Great location next to the Opera House and Crescent.

Breakfast was varied and the cooked option was tasty. Went out in the evenings as there are loads of places to eat in Buxton.

All in all - would definitely return.

Room Tip: Room 5 had a superking (2 singles together) bed - firm and very comfortable. Looked out over the gardens opposite.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank am36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SallyPotter287, General Manager at The Old Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on Trip Advisor. I am very happy to see you enjoyed your visit to our hotel which is full of character and charm as it is one of the oldest hotels in England. I would recommend for you to regularly check our website or Facebook page as we have fantastic offers running throughout the year. We hope to welcome you again very soon.

Kind Regards,

Sally Potter
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2014

I have used the Old Hall on several occasions now for functions, food and events and can only praise the hotel for its efficiency, helpfulness and friendliness. It's not a huge corporate venue with vast and boring rooms, the Old Hall is historic, quirky, full of character and upholds traditional values of good hospitality and quality. Whether I am there for fine dining cuisine or just calling in for a coffee, I know I will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: I'd love to stay in Mary Queen of Scot's Room and try out the four poster. As close to being a Royal as most of us are likely to get!!
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank sallymosleyguide
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SallyPotter287, General Manager at The Old Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on Trip Advisor. We are always so happy to welcome returning guests including those who use of conference facilities. We have 3 different sizes of conference rooms and offer packages to suit your request/requirements. We hope to welcome you again very soon.

Kindest Regards,

Sally Potter
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 4, 2014

A lovely hotel in the heart of Buxton. Traditional and cosy with a friendly staff the hotel was a delight to stay in on a cold winters evening. Food was good and breakfast was excellent. I had room 23 by the lift but not noisy. Lovely big room with modern shower and traditional furniture in the room. Had a really good nights sleep.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank MikeSmith3L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SallyPotter287, General Manager at The Old Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review on Trip Advisor. I am happy to see you enjoyed your visit to our hotel. We are in a perfect location in the centre of Buxton. We hope to welcome you again soon.

Kind Regards,

Sally Potter
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews