We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient and comfortable”
Review of The Old Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Old Hall Hotel
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Buxton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 19, 2011

We stopped off in Buxton on our way from Scotland to London. The Old Hall proved a good choice as is is in the centre of Buxton and easy to find. The room was clean and comfortable which provided us with an excellent night's sleep. Breakfast was lovely with a great choice of hot and cold food. Overall this hotel is excellent value for money.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kennydmac54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,155)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,044 - 1,050 of 1,155 reviews

Reviewed July 19, 2011

We stayed at this hotel for the 2nd time in two months. This time (July) we felt the hotel had gone downhill. Evening meals (a la carte) were overpriced. For example, on the first night my husband had lamb. A miniscule piece of lamb, no taste and surrounded by a great mound of fat. Meals very ordinary. Eggs underdone at breakfast.

This hotel thinks it is better than it is. Our room was clean, apart from being dusty. The milk in our room was sour.

The hotel was full of old people who are a relict from the old Empire Days.

Room Tip: Room was satisfactory, overall clean, but dusty
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hattiesgranny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2011

In Buxton for the festival,we chanced on this wonderful hotel,while looking for somewhere to lunch with friends. We all felt at home as soon as we stept through the door and found the hallway a reasure trove of interesting maps, portraits and old photographs of the hotel, reflecting its past & links with Buxton & Derbyshire. To be offered four different vegetarian dishes on the Wine Bar Menu is very unusual, as we veggies rarely have such appetising and delicious choices.The Wine Bar also has a delightful inner courtyard garden lit by sunshine where you can dine al fresco. The hotel is probably the oldest in England and has strong associations with Mary Queen of Scots who spent summers here as a prisoner of her cousin Queen Elizabeth I. We did have a spooky experience in the Wine Bar where my friend's drink slid across the table ,as the waitress put it down. We,including the waitress, were all astonished, but once we knew about the hotel's history, felt all was explained! We didn't feel at all alarmed & returned later for a delicious afternoon tea which was served at %pm with the special veggie sandwiches we requested = nothing was too much trouble for the pleasant staff. We would have loved to stay the night but had to leave.. We shall certainly be back to stay at this delightful hotel and is our preferred choice of eaterie in Buxton for all occasions.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank avabolton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2011

We stayed one night here and wished we had booked in longer. The hotel is reputed to be the oldest in England - Mary Queen of Scots stayed here on several occasions. The hotel facilities are modern but the place has the feel of a family run business, the staff being friendly and helpful.

The hotel is centrally situated in Buxton a few steps from the Opera House and overlooking the Pavilion Gardens, a large park like area in central Buxton. We were there whilst the Buxton festival was in full swing which gave a buzz to the town.

Our room was very comfortable with an excellent modern bathroom. There is a good restaurant and a very full bar menu for those who want less formal and cheaper meals.

There is no dedicated car park but adjacent to the hotel there is public parking and the hotel provides free parking tickets for this.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hampshirevoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2011

We got married at the Old Hall a week ago, and had a wonderful experience. We picked the hotel a year and a half earlier after falling in love with its history, charming rooms and interesting spaces - and I'm so glad we did. The staff, especially Jade, did everything they could to give us an amazing day.

Our families arrived at the hotel the day before and were made to feel really welcome. I checked into Mary's Bower – a fabulous room that's themed around one of the hotel's former residents, Mary Queen of Scots. It's a large space with a seating area, massive wardrobe and a huge four poster bed. I was delighted with it and felt quite regal for the couple of days I stayed there!

We spent the first evening in the George Potter bar, which has some really great real ale. It doesn’t feel like your typical stuffy hotel bar in there at all; there’s a fantastic atmosphere and a good mixture of locals and residents.

In the run up to the wedding, Jade sent me reassuring emails. She also called me the day before we were due to arrive and came to see me as soon as she started her shift on the Friday, so I knew she’d do a great job on the day itself. However, she and her colleagues really excelled themselves. They took care of almost everything, from decorating the venue to popping to the shops to fetch a pair of emergency tights for my mum!

The restaurant looked beautiful when it was all set up for our wedding breakfast. It was set up exactly as we asked! The food was gorgeous too. The evening reception took place in the Orchestra Pit – the hotel’s old wine cellar that’s been transformed into a function room. It’s a really quirky venue with low ceilings, exposed brickwork and an old fashioned bar, so it looked stunning when it was full of candles, flowers and bunting. The night passed in a happy haze of lovely beer, dancing and more food!

All in all, I’d happily recommend the Old Hall as a restaurant, hotel, bar or venue. The place oozes a wonky charm and there is a wonderful atmosphere. Better still, the people and food are absolutely wonderful. I know we’ll be heading back to mark anniversaries and even day trips for many, many years to come.

Thank you to everyone at the Old Hall for making our wedding day so special!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KillingFantasy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2011

we attended out nieces wedding reception at the old hall on sat 2nd july and from the minute we walked in the staff could not do enough for all of the guests, the meal was lovely cooked and the service was so calm and relaxed it helped to make the day go well,
the evening do was very relaxed and the staff behind the bar worked very hard on serving the guests and clearing tables of enpty glasses, the pork muffins and chips were a lovely end to the day,
we would like to thank you all so very much in making our nieces and her husbands wedding such a special day!

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank babyjane_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 4, 2011

Hi , On Suday 3rd July I was taken for Suday Lunch in the Hotel, I want to pass on my appreciation for the way in which myself and my familly were treated during our visit.
The Service was excellent, the Staff were very friendly and the food was extremely good !
Please pass on my comments to ther Staff.
Many Thanks , Gary Mitchell.
email. gary@wonbyone.co.uk

Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
Thank WonByOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Buxton
0.3 mi away
Best Western Buxton Lee Wood Hotel
0.2 mi away
The Palace Hotel
The Palace Hotel
#6 of 9 in Buxton
2,868 reviews
10.3 mi away
Bagshaw Hall
Bagshaw Hall
#3 of 6 in Bakewell
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.7 mi away
New Bath Hotel and Spa
New Bath Hotel and Spa
#2 of 3 in Matlock Bath
329 reviews
10.4 mi away
Rutland Arms Hotel Bakewell
15.1 mi away
The Izaak Walton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Hall Hotel

Address: The Square, Buxton SK17 6BD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Derbyshire > Buxton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Hotels in Buxton
Price Range: $98 - $216 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Old Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Hotwire and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Old Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Hall Hotel Buxton
Old Hall Buxton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing